Ratings based on 291 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful views overlooking Hana Lei Bay.

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Clean rooms. Beautiful resort. Perfect accommodations. Princeville is breathtaking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Short walk to cute beach shared with St. Regis

Posted Aug 2, 2017
The property is a time share, so you won't get housekeeping services every day like at a regular hotel. The pool is big, free-form, landscaped with lots of greenery, waterfalls, hot tub (and I mean hot) and swim-up bar. Room 5104 in Hala was lower level but had a good view of the mountains and bay, also the lanai felt nice and private. Room was spacious and there's a mini-fridge in room. Split system AC was quiet and efficient. Bathroom had no exhaust fan so bath towels never really dried out. Shower had very low water pressure. You can get a ride down to the beach and back on a golf-cart shuttle but it's a short walk down a paved path. It is a hill so if you're loaded up with gear coming back up you might want the ride. You can rent beach equipment (snorkel stuff, chair, umbrella, etc.) at poolside gear hut. Bar/lounge had good live music and friendly bar service, food wasn't bad either. Make a reservation early if you want a table.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Hanalei Bay Resort, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and sharing your insights for others. We hope you enjoyed your time on Kauai!
2 out of 5
by Robert

If you have another option, stay elsewhere

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
If you go, you need to stay at least five nights to get housekeeping in the hotel. If you ask for fresh towels in the morning, they may not come the same day. There is a bar on the property (under different ownership) that opens at 3pm and serves light meals. No breakfast on the property, so you'll need to drive to breakfast or keep snacks in your room. A single modular air conditioner works OK, but there is no vent fan in the bathroom. I appreciate the friendly, laid back attitude of the staff is what the tourists expect, but it shouldn't get in the way of good service. I think there are much better options in the area than this timeshare - hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice resort and friendly staff

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and the pool
Location: Kayaking, beaches, hiking
Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Good resort within a reasonable price range. Lovely pool and easy stroll to a semi-private beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara

Great Views

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: pool and tennis courts.
Cons: needs a restaurant.
Location: 10 to 15 minutes to town (shops, etc.), golf course is a mile away (maybe less). Queens Bath is 5 minutes from the hotel.
This hotel has amazing views, and a great pool with a walk/swim up bar plus eight tennis courts (kept very well, with a combo of grass courts and hard courts). The courts do not have lights. The hotel room was nice, but the air conditioner kept breaking (it takes the hotel about 3 hours to come and fix it, not terrible). My only real complaint about this hotel is that they do not have a proper restautant, anbd since the shops are 10 minutes away, you have no option but to drive to town for breakfast, lunch and dinner (they have a bar in the main reception area which has live music of a night, and the bar does serve a basic menu (fries, salads, etc.), but it is not suitable for dinner. The hotel rooms do not have kitchens. They provide a very small fridge, but no microwave, etc. The hotel really should add microwaves to eqach room, at least until the hotel has a proper restaurant (which has been in contruction for over a year from what I hear). The Beach is a 15 minute walk, or a one minute golf buggy ride from the hotel. Most of the rooms seem to have views of the ocean. It reeally does have a great view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi B. Hotel rooms don't have kitchens but our condos do! Pots, pans, coffee maker, blender, microwave, full size refrigerator, dishwasher, toaster, oven, and other amenities. We hope you'll try it out on your next visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable and clean for a family of 4. Will consider returning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Found a Cockroach in my bathroom and the room was super dusty. There was not proper bedding for the couch as promised. However the beds were comfortable. Staff were not happy to help you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We will certainly review this information with our resort management team. Your comments are appreciated and we sincerely hope that you will visit us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

BEST view on Kauai

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Wonderful weekend at Hanalei Bay Resort....after our week at Poipu, we finished our stay here. Beautiful quiet beach shared by the St. Regis...LOTS of tennis courts.....Beautiful grounds... Large roomy units, that were quiet at night. Beds were AMAZING! Kitchens perfectly outfitted. Nice large roomy deck with a view that's one of the most beautiful on this earth!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Deanne. Wow! We're loving your kind compliments! Glad to hear you enjoyed our beds! Thank you for allowing us to host you during your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you in the future!
2 out of 5
by Don

Too expensive for the kind of service we received

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
Unfortunately, not a great stay. We booked a room with king bed. When we arrived, checkin went fine and front desk was very nice. When we got to our room we found that there was no coffee maker, cups, anything. The room to the adjoining apt was open and all of that was in there, so we assumed it was included. After taking some much needed showers (we’d been camping), a maint person tried to enter the adjoining room (we had the door locks on both doors thankfully, we weren’t dressed). He was upset that we had used that side and called the front desk. After speaking to the desk, they admitted a mistake in leaving the units open/avail and offered to let us use it for an additional cost. I said no, because we didn't need it. We just wanted a coffee maker, coffee, cups, etc. A few minutes later the same maint person could be heard entering the apt next to us, getting the coffee maker and bringing it to our side. I told him thank you, but what about coffee? Cups? He seemed put out and went back to the other side and brought over two packs of coffee. As I went off to find ice on the other side of the resort (the one near us was broken) my wife had enough (it's now after 8pm), called the front desk and told them that we were going out to dinner and to please just fix this before we get back. Finally, we had everything when we returned Decent hotel, good people, overpriced, poor experience