Ratings based on 299 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from England

Nice room wonderful views

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Pros: Very good location, very pretty. rooms are a good size all with fantastic views. Lovely staff
Cons: A daily shuttle bus to the nearby shops /restaurants would be useful for those without cars or those not wanting to drive everyday.
Location: A very quiet area. Two very good courses nearby. Good beaches within a short drive, also you can visit the lighthouse but not on a Sunday or Monday.
Went to the hotel area for a wedding, which was a marvellous day. A god location with a small beach many tennis courts. and plenty of bird life around (especially chickens)!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2017 by manager, Hotel Management
Hi Jennifer! Thanks for reviewing us - we're happy to hear you had an enjoyable time at the wedding.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from utah

Must have been beautiful back in the day.

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: The reception area and pool were very nice. The staff was very kind and helpful.
Cons: I think a facelift to the rooms is past due.
Location: It is close to everything on that side of the island. It is in a very nice area and feels very safe.
The landscaping and pool are beautiful. The scenery is spectacular. The rooms were a bit dated and dark. It had an older motel feel to it. You could tell that it was “the Place to stay” several years back. The bed was very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback, Randy. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the locale and will take note of your comments on the rooms. Appreciate your insights.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Beautiful pool, average room

Posted Nov 21, 2017
The grounds and pool are very nice and clean. The pool is particularly impressive. The bar/restaurant onsite is excellent. Our room was dated and noisey and a bit disappointing. There are chickens and roosters all over the resort, which is really fun, except they crow all through the night. For hotel guests, they only service your room every three days. Many folks staying there are timeshare owners and the rooms with the best views go to them. Beach access is a five minute walk downhill down a really pretty path. The beach is nice but not big and does not have lounge chairs for Hanalei Bay resort guests. We went in November and it rained a lot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Posted Nov 11, 2017
My stay at Hanalei Bay Resort was amazing. My room had a view of the surrounding mountains and ocean and I could see the sunset, which helped make my overall experience incredible. Not every room has this type of view so be warned. The beach is very easy to get to, just make sure you bring a beach chair if you stay for long (you can check out a beach chair here). If you can't make it back up the hill, there is a shuttle service that can come pick you up if you call from the telephone stationed at the bottom of the hill. And if your room doesn't have a view of the sunset, you can either walk down the beach or hang out near the tennis courts to get a great view. My one complaint is that I saw one cockroach on my last day come out of the dish washer...at one time during my stay there were even a few Pest Control guys who came to the room while I was there to spray. It didn't really bother me though, and I'd definitely stay here again IF I could make sure to get a beach view room. I didn't really use the pool or bar or anything. If you don't like the food option here, there are plenty of places to go in Hanalei Bay itself, but I recommend going to the Kilauea Fish Market.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful views overlooking Hana Lei Bay.

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Clean rooms. Beautiful resort. Perfect accommodations. Princeville is breathtaking.
4 out of 5
by cheryl

Hikers paradise! Views are the best!

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
LOCATION LOCATION, this hotel has one of the best locations for Kauai. The views from our hotel room were spectacular. Since we were on a multi island trip "beach" was not a focal point, hiking and views were. Very lush property, with greenery and views for your camera to enjoy! The hotel itself is in desperate need of updating. Not terrible just it needs it, showing signs of good use! We hiked to some spectacular beaches as the one for this property was not to our liking. Pool area was fine, clean and great pool bar!
5 out of 5
by Annie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do yourself favor and SKIP this place

Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels
Terrible service. Ran out of shampoo and conditioner and told us they were "out". Had an envelope in the room to tip the housekeep who didn't come once in three days. Pool bar took 35 minutes to acknowledge us and then served a warm beer that was half foam for $8. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else, it will be worth whatever it costs you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017
We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us here at Hanalei Bay. We pride ourselves on our service and are dismayed to see that we missed the mark in your book. Feel free to call us if you'd like to discuss with our general manager. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Short walk to cute beach shared with St. Regis

Posted Aug 2, 2017
The property is a time share, so you won't get housekeeping services every day like at a regular hotel. The pool is big, free-form, landscaped with lots of greenery, waterfalls, hot tub (and I mean hot) and swim-up bar. Room 5104 in Hala was lower level but had a good view of the mountains and bay, also the lanai felt nice and private. Room was spacious and there's a mini-fridge in room. Split system AC was quiet and efficient. Bathroom had no exhaust fan so bath towels never really dried out. Shower had very low water pressure. You can get a ride down to the beach and back on a golf-cart shuttle but it's a short walk down a paved path. It is a hill so if you're loaded up with gear coming back up you might want the ride. You can rent beach equipment (snorkel stuff, chair, umbrella, etc.) at poolside gear hut. Bar/lounge had good live music and friendly bar service, food wasn't bad either. Make a reservation early if you want a table.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Hanalei Bay Resort, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and sharing your insights for others. We hope you enjoyed your time on Kauai!
2 out of 5
by Robert

If you have another option, stay elsewhere

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
If you go, you need to stay at least five nights to get housekeeping in the hotel. If you ask for fresh towels in the morning, they may not come the same day. There is a bar on the property (under different ownership) that opens at 3pm and serves light meals. No breakfast on the property, so you'll need to drive to breakfast or keep snacks in your room. A single modular air conditioner works OK, but there is no vent fan in the bathroom. I appreciate the friendly, laid back attitude of the staff is what the tourists expect, but it shouldn't get in the way of good service. I think there are much better options in the area than this timeshare - hotel.