Ratings based on 411 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Lovely spacious rooms, right on the beach

Posted Jun 25, 2017
This is a really nice place to stay. No air conditioning but that didn't pose a problem while we were there 15th June until 24th June. The sea breezes kept us cool the whole time. The staff are extremely nice and helpful. My only down side to the place was staying in the bottom floor (2 levels) was the timber floors were noisy from above.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Lovely condo right ON the beach.

Posted May 20, 2017
Nice roomy condo! Nice furniture; plenty of kitchen stuff; nice lanai!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable place to relax

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Beautiful décor, comfortable bed, view of the ocean, cool breezes, nice pool and hot tub.
Cons: Nothing about the resort itself, but the bar and restaurant were dark and stuffy. A shame for such a wonderful location.
Location: Close to Kalalau trail head, with shuttle to Ke'e and other nearby beaches, as well as shopping.
My husband and I spend the first part of our trip hiking the Kalalau trail and camping at Kalalau beach. When we were done, we wanted a comfortable place to relax and rejuvenate. This was it! Beautiful, comfortable place with a great bed. We loved sitting on the lanai, enjoying the breeze and view of the oceans. We only spent two nights before moving to the south of Kauai. We wished we had spent more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thousand Oaks

Beautiful remote location near beach.

Posted May 16, 2017
Excellent quietc location although lacking in amenities of many hotels such as only once every third day maid service and no 24h desk or concierge.
4 out of 5
by Duncan

A peaceful place to take a break

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed at HCR for a few days at the end of our honeymoon and had a really great time. The location is pretty stunning, with backdrops of the mountains and a wild coastline just steps from your door. The rooms are big and comfortable and while the accommodation is pretty dated, it has been well taken care of and the decor seemed reasonably new in our apartment. After making the booking I was a bit worried about the lack some services you'd expect from a bigger resort (air con/daily cleaning) but you just don't notice any of that once your there. Our apartment had a stunning view of the ocean and was really cool and breezy. I'd advise paying more for one of the beachfront units as you really wouldn't have the same experience staying in one closer to the road. We didn't use any of the amenities, so can’t really comment on them, but the pool area seemed nice. Location wise, the nearest town is Hanalei (which is lovely), but its a good 15 minute drive. Didn't find it a problem, but worth knowing before you book. There isn’t much nearby the hotel, but a couple of nights we got takeaway from a great little sushi place 5 minutes down the road (www.sushigirlkauai.fish) which I'd highly recommend. HCR is also a great spot if you're heading up the Kalalau Trail as you can get a head start on pretty much everyone else on the island in the morning. If you're looking for a genuinely low key, peaceful place to get away from it all, you'll have great time at HCR.
5 out of 5
by Philip

Beautiful, deeply relaxing condo getaway

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed in an ocean view unit for 8 nights in May. Staff were uniformly welcoming, courteous, and responsive to our needs. The location is spectacular: steps from a mixed sandy and rocky curved beach, beautifully landscaped grounds, lovely pool and jacuzzi, barbecuing facilities, very quiet, with a near-continuous balmy ocean breeze and the sound of the waves lulling us to sleep each night. The location is off the beaten track on purpose and allows for a quiet, restorative vacation. No TVs or phones in room, but there is a TV/computer room available. Good WiFi signal available in all condos. Very good (but expensive) Mediterranean restaurant and very good full service spa on the grounds. Free on-demand shuttle service was available to nearby towns and beaches (nearest town with restaurants, bars, groceries, shopping, etc: Hanalei is about 10-15 min drive; Princeville is about 15-20 min; drive to Lihue airport takes about 1 hour). The road from Hanalei to the Hanalei Colony Resort is, very narrow, windy, and it takes time to become accustomed to the local protocol re: crossing 7 one-lane bridges, but this can be mastered with a little care and attention. Condo was clean, fully-appointed, spacious. This is a very special place and we recommend it highly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston

Lots of room and very comfortable

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Watching the sunrise on the lanai.
Cons: need beach chairs and umbrella. Also, a real breakfast shop.
Location: as long as you have a car you can drive the entire island and see it all. Not necessary to stay on North Shore. its somewhat secluded.
We enjoyed our stay at this property mostly because of the lanai and grounds. Its not quite a resort, not too many amenities to speak of, but the sites are beautiful, the property is very clean and the office staff is extremely friendly. Keep in mind that sound in between the suites carry so having a crying baby on the second floor above us was annoying. Also, there is no place to have breakfast on the property unless you count the cold muffins in fridge at the coffee shop. Of course you can drive 5-6 miles and eat in Hanalei every day but that can be very pricey! Best to get groceries from the village and stock the fridge. And dont forget to buy coffee. Also, if you don't buy your own beach chairs, you'll only have the towels to use at the beaches. the property beaches are beautiful to look at but don't go into the water, strong current and large waves. Best to drive to Hanalei or other beaches nearby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Construction and more construction

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Came here expecting paradise. Got an amazong view but also countless construction workers roofing and randomly crossing over my "private" balcony. We received a warning of the construction...one day prior
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would stay here every time!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Loved this place. It was quaint, clean, perfectly situated and everyone was very friendly. I really felt like an islander staying here and less of a tourist.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely disappointed, over-priced and very noisy

Posted Apr 16, 2017
We just returned from 9 days at the Hanalei Colony Resort; the photos of the rooms were misleading, the rooms were dirty, and the complex was very noisy. Approximately $380/night provided rooms with a partial ocean view and the septic field in the centre grounds, which to say the least was extremely disappointing. This is a summary of what we noted during our stay: *The room had clearly been used before our arrival, i.e. toilet not flushed; used shampoo/conditioner in the shower. *The room had not been properly cleaned, i.e. utensils, dishes, cups, glasses, etc…were improperly washed – we washed these before using. *Dirty ceiling vent in shower; *Unflushed toilet/used shampoo/conditioner as noted above; *The spaces between the stove and the refrigerator and the refrigerator and the wall were filthy – black grime, dust-bunnies and other assorted accumulated dirt; *Tile floor had not been cleaned; *Carpets were dirty, smelly and had spot-stains on them. *Metal fittings, i.e. bath-room light fixtures, door knobs/lock/chain were extremely corroded; *Due to defective flaps, both toilets leaked incessantly; *Toilets (bowls) were dirty. *Unclear cleaning policy – every 3 days was our understanding, but over a nine-day period, the towels were changed twice, the garbage removed once, and the bed linen change once; we were not asked if anything else was required or needed, nor did the house-keeping staff clean anything else in our rooms; *One blind did not close properly – the cord ha