Ratings based on 417 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Pretty location, but room smelled very musty.

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: The view is beautiful.
Cons: Mildew/mold removal. That can be a serious health problem.
We checked in and right away could smell a strong musty/mildew smell. We asked to be moved and they were unable to accommodate us. We felt ill most of the time from the smell. I felt that for the price we paid we shouldn't have to experience this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great out of the way place on the north shore.

Posted Jan 16, 2018
A very peaceful, beautiful and quiet resort on the north shore away from all the tourists on the southern end of the island. Haneli bay is beautiful along with the little town there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, CO

Offers great views of the beach/ocean.

Posted Dec 13, 2017
The staff was very friendly as well as responsive to our needs/requests.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No A/C in the rooms. Not a place for honeymooners.

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Cons: Air conditioning in all rooms, and TV.
We were disappointed to learn this hotel does not have air conditioning - in none of the rooms. It was hot and humid the night we arrived, and because they gave us a room in the first floor we could not open the doors and the windows because we felt exposed. The rooms do not have a TV either. Since we were on our honeymoon, and not on a timeshare type of vacation, we went to the office to ask for a refund. We believe it is deceitful for a hotel not to tell their customers, especially to honeymooners, that none of their rooms have Air Conditioning and TV. They told us their policy is that you have to stay there at least for TWO nights without being penalized. They denied returning our money. They knew about our honeymoon, and they had no consideration for us. And as newly weds, that was very hard on our budget. Nearly $800 went down the drain. If we are paying over $320/night, we expect having at least A/C. I called Expedia to explain the situation, and the customer service representative tried to plead with the same manager who denied issuing a refund to us, and he told us she was rude to him. Next day we went St. Regis and we had an amazing experience there. Although St. Regis is a couple hundred dollars more expensive, it was totally worth it. Hanalei Colony Resort looks like a timeshare place, and not a place for honeymooners. Except that a lot of timeshare places at least DO have A/C, and TV. We do not recommend this place to anyone. Extremely disappointing.
5 out of 5
by Mike

Nice resort

Posted Oct 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great resort off the beaten path, nice pool and nice property. Was nice to have a restraunt onsite for when we did not want to cook in
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rancho cucamonga, ca

the best place to stay

Posted Oct 2, 2017
This is our second trip to HCR. We love it! The staff here is friendly and very helpful. HCR is right on the beach and makes for beautiful sunrises. Having the restaurant next door is great for dinner or lunch. The food there is wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

Quiet and relaxing, but too hot

Posted Sep 27, 2017
This was an amazing place to stay. Its quiet, the beach is close (but no where to swim or snorkel there), bbq/ pool area is beautiful. I would have given the resort 5 stars but there is no AC. For those who are from the main land where it's warm it makes it difficult to sleep. We soaked in the pool every night to try to sleep.
5 out of 5
by Emily

Beautiful breathtaking spot, relaxing and magical

Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
Gorgeous spot on the Pacific at Hanalei, well kept, friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Perfect place to stay

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Great location on the North Shore, free shuttle to get to local beaches so you don't have to deal with parking, on-site coffee shop and restaurant, beautiful saline pool, comfortable room. We loved our time there and can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
by anthony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels