Ratings based on 405 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful panoramic view

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Gorgeous accommodations, island style. Quiet and relaxing. Best vacation ever!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Relax in a beautiful setting

Posted Jul 18, 2017
We had a room on the second floor, with a beautiful view to the beach in front and the mountains behind. Lovely spacious room, had well equipped kitchen, nice decor, slightly older bathroom but all clean and in good condition.Great location, lovely walk along the beach - you need to walk for a few hundred metres to get to a spot that's nice to swim. The trade winds blew most of the time, which is good as it would be too hot otherwise. Bit of a drive back and forward in to the town of Hanalei for lunch and dinner, but we didn't mind, it 's so picturesque.The hotel had a free shuttle bus service if you didn't want to drive to town for dinner. All up a lovely relaxing place to stay, a bit on the $$ side but worth it for the gorgeous location and the feeling of being in a small, slightly out of the way resort rather than a huge crowded hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Amazing location, right on the beach.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Location, pleasant staff.
Cons: An updated restaurant and swimming pool. The swimming pool area is very hot and uncomfortable at present.
Location: Snorkelling, swimming, shops, restaurants.
This resort has possibly the best location in Hanalei. Right on a beautiful, uncrowded beach. Not great swimming, but good walking along it and so peaceful. The unit it we stayed in -c3 - was good and spacious, nice furniture and bed. Clean, with nice touches like biscuits and bathroom supplies. The bathroom and kitchen could both do with an update, however. Just a bit old and tired and the kitchen utensils and fittings the same.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on the beach with pool.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
We've been here three times, and it's our favorite place to stay on the far end of Hanalei. Best location of all hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Petaluma, Ca

Old Hawaii Feel

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Strong community feel with a mix of condo owners, workers, and guests.
Cons: Restaurant for breakfast on site
Location: Tunnels Beach for snorkeling Ke'e Beach for the hike to Hanakapiei Falls Saturday morning Farmer's Market in Hanalei Hanalei Dolphin Fish Market
Like they advertise, unspoiled, unplugged and unforgettable. Nice and spacious accommodations, but not fancy. Right on the beach on the windy and rugged north shore. Secluded feel past the town of Hanalei - quiet and private. Free shuttle takes you into town or out to the westside beaches. Free but simple breakfast on Friday mornings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Lovely spacious rooms, right on the beach

Posted Jun 25, 2017
This is a really nice place to stay. No air conditioning but that didn't pose a problem while we were there 15th June until 24th June. The sea breezes kept us cool the whole time. The staff are extremely nice and helpful. My only down side to the place was staying in the bottom floor (2 levels) was the timber floors were noisy from above.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Lovely condo right ON the beach.

Posted May 20, 2017
Nice roomy condo! Nice furniture; plenty of kitchen stuff; nice lanai!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable place to relax

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Beautiful décor, comfortable bed, view of the ocean, cool breezes, nice pool and hot tub.
Cons: Nothing about the resort itself, but the bar and restaurant were dark and stuffy. A shame for such a wonderful location.
Location: Close to Kalalau trail head, with shuttle to Ke'e and other nearby beaches, as well as shopping.
My husband and I spend the first part of our trip hiking the Kalalau trail and camping at Kalalau beach. When we were done, we wanted a comfortable place to relax and rejuvenate. This was it! Beautiful, comfortable place with a great bed. We loved sitting on the lanai, enjoying the breeze and view of the oceans. We only spent two nights before moving to the south of Kauai. We wished we had spent more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thousand Oaks

Beautiful remote location near beach.

Posted May 16, 2017
Excellent quietc location although lacking in amenities of many hotels such as only once every third day maid service and no 24h desk or concierge.
4 out of 5
by Duncan

A peaceful place to take a break

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed at HCR for a few days at the end of our honeymoon and had a really great time. The location is pretty stunning, with backdrops of the mountains and a wild coastline just steps from your door. The rooms are big and comfortable and while the accommodation is pretty dated, it has been well taken care of and the decor seemed reasonably new in our apartment. After making the booking I was a bit worried about the lack some services you'd expect from a bigger resort (air con/daily cleaning) but you just don't notice any of that once your there. Our apartment had a stunning view of the ocean and was really cool and breezy. I'd advise paying more for one of the beachfront units as you really wouldn't have the same experience staying in one closer to the road. We didn't use any of the amenities, so can’t really comment on them, but the pool area seemed nice. Location wise, the nearest town is Hanalei (which is lovely), but its a good 15 minute drive. Didn't find it a problem, but worth knowing before you book. There isn’t much nearby the hotel, but a couple of nights we got takeaway from a great little sushi place 5 minutes down the road (www.sushigirlkauai.fish) which I'd highly recommend. HCR is also a great spot if you're heading up the Kalalau Trail as you can get a head start on pretty much everyone else on the island in the morning. If you're looking for a genuinely low key, peaceful place to get away from it all, you'll have great time at HCR.