Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Clean but Old and pricey

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: good location. Nice reception and staff
Cons: upgrade interior furnishings
The interior accommodations are clean but old, ie. 30+ years old decor, fixtures, refrigerator. But real problem is the location of the unit at the end of the project that is the closest to the entrance road and the unit itself is below the grade of the road and parking lot so that traffic in both looks right in your second floor bedroom balcony. The unit with the fees and taxes was too expensive Not worth it. More like a 3 star accommodation with a total price significantly less than what was charged. Otherwise the exterior facility and grounds are nicely maintained. The pool was not heated and the spa was low termperature and too heavily chlorinated. Perhaps the experience is better in a unit that is far from the entrance roads.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Oceanfront Realty International, Hotel Management
Aloha Jeff, and mahalo for your comments. We're sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. The furnishings at your unit are not old, but rattan furniture does naturally fade. You received a discount for your stay, which was very competitive with similar sized units on Kauai.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake County, Ca

Posted Aug 31, 2017
The views were beautiful from our lanai. I loved the kitchen with the floor to ceiling window. The bathrooms could have been updated, but the furnishings and decor were lovely. We would most certainly come back
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Oceanfront Realty International, Hotel Management
Aloha Mary, and mahalo nui loa for your comments! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you'll visit our beautiful island again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Henderson NV

Great location, beautiful complex, no privacy

Posted Aug 9, 2017
We stayed in the Cliffs Condo #7201. Location was great. Parking was horrible, condo privacy was completely lacking. There are bamboo type shades that cover the windows. When they are in the close position, you can see out through them. At night time with lights on in the condo, the entire complex can see into the condo and see everything you are doing including being in the bathroom, laying in bed, etc. there were no blinds in the kitchen window. You had to get completely dressed just to walk around the condo. The place was mostly clean in appearance but the vacuuming was poor. Their was tiny shards of broken glass all over the floor in the master bedroom that we had to vacuume or pick up by hand. In the upper kitchen cabinets, there was rat poop. There were occasional roaches getting in through poor door seals and gaps in the doors. On arrival, the back sliding door would not lock. We had to waste our time to get a maintenance person at the main office to come to the condo and fix the lock. There is no way to rest or sleep in as the rooms is very bright when the sun comes up. There are also roosters that make noise starting at 5:30am every morning and so not stop crowing until after 7:30. They are literally right outside the windows. Chickens everywhere. We stayed in the condo 10 days. On 5 of the days starting promptly at 7am, landscapers and maintenance vehicles made beeping noises immediately outside. Loud talking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2017 by Oceanfront Realty International, Hotel Management
Aloha Craig, and mahalo for your review. We’re sorry you were disappointed with the home you rented. The Cliffs complex has extensive open parking, so we are not sure what difficulty you experienced. Had you viewed the condo from outside you would have seen that the bedroom shades do afford privacy, even with the lights on. The living room does have a sheer covering, though. You did not report any housekeeping problems while you were here, but our housekeepers guarantee their work and we would have sent someone to clean anything that was not to your satisfaction. There was no “rat poop” in the unit; it’s gecko poop. As everywhere else in the tropics, geckos are welcome guests since they devour the insects, which are also ubiquitous in this climate. You didn’t contact the Cliffs maintenance to fix the sliding door, we did. The door was fixed the day it was reported. As any guidebook will tell you, Kauai is famous for its rooster population. Maintenance work at the Cliffs does not start before 8 AM.
5 out of 5
by steven

A gem in paradise

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Well presented property, good location, fantastic views , very comfortable home
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017 by Jonathan at Oceanfront, Hotel Management
Aloha Steven, and mahalo nui loa for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll return to our beautiful island!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting.

Posted May 3, 2017
The master shower didn't work well, the place needed some deep cleaning and maintenance. But it was well equipped.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Oceanfront Realty Management, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your comments. We will send our housekeeper to do a deep-cleaning of the unit and our maintenance worker to fix the shower. Had we been notified while you were here we would have fixed the shower then. We hope you'll visit our beautiful island again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seekonk, MA

Nice ocean view from the cliffs. Kauai is amazing.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Nice facilities, pool, hot tub and fitness room. Condo was very nice, great location to everything
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Oceanfront Sotheby's International Realty, Hotel Management
Aloha Diane, and mahalo for your comments! Weʻre glad you enjoyed your stay at the condo and the resort. Please visit again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eastern WA

Great view and location

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Owner rental. No access to amenities, i.e. Pools, hot tubs. No interaction with resort personnel or activities. Love the area!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Oceanfront Sotheby's International Realty, Hotel Management
Aloha Lynda, and mahalo for your comments. We're not sure why you had no access to the resort's amenities since you were fully entitled to them during your stay. We're sorry that you did not let us know that you were having any difficulty accessing them. We are glad you enjoyed the area, though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Not so clean

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Orbitz
We didn't know that we rented a rent-by-owner unit until checking in. The unit is very spacious and has good supplies for cooking. However, it definitely needs a deep cleaning. It is an old worn unit without AC (we were there in Nov and AC is not necessary). The hotel is located on the cliff with beautiful view of ocean and has good pools including jacuzzi. It doesn't have direct access to beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Oceanfront Sotheby's International Realty, Hotel Management
Aloha Yanyu, and mahalo for your review. We're sorry that you didn't understand that you were staying at a vacation rental but we're glad that you enjoyed the space and amenities. We have scheduled a deep cleaning of the unit. Please note that very few homes on Kauai have air conditioning since the trade winds keep the weather here generally mild; if you need AC, always specify this when you reserve. Princeville is located on a bluff so beach access is limited, but the views are magnificent and beautiful Hanalei Bay is a short drive away. We hope you'll visit again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Aloha

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Condo unit was privately owned, just managed by realty company. Overall condition was ok - somewhat musty smelling, leak from bathroom ceiling light fixture was annoying and not repaired promptly. Light switch for lanai was broken...would request a different unit next time even though view from patios were lovely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, and mahalo for your review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay. We're sorry that you felt that the repair work took too long, but we did send someone to fix the problem the same day you reported it. We are not aware of a problem with the lanai light switch; it appears to be functioning properly. We hope you'll visit our beautiful island again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent value and beautiful location

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: The northern part of Kauai is my favorite place to stay, and I prefer to stay in Princeville and drive the 5 minutes to Hanalai for activities.
The Cliffs is a lovely property in Princeville with a gorgeous view of the north ocean. Buildings 6, 8, 9 all have unobstructed views of the water. The pool is small but pretty with a lava rock facade. They offer weekly activities like yoga and a free scuba class.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Oceanfront Sotheby's International Realty, Hotel Management
Aloha Christie, and mahalo for your review and lovely photos! We're very glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll visit us again.