Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Jaw Dropping

Posted Nov 6, 2017
This is the most beautiful hotel I've had the pleasure of experiencing for a vacation. The amazing sites of the island of Kaua'i obviously gives it a unique advantage. It's simply a lovely accommodation for a romantic getaway. My wife and I stayed for a week in late September for our 6 year wedding anniversary and honestly this was my favorite trip I've ever taken with her!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by The St. Regis Princeville Resort , Hotel Management
Aloha, We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your special getaway to our Resort. Being able to create memorable experiences is something we take great pride in. We hope to welcome you back for another Anniversary soon! With warmest aloha,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto

Spring for the ocean view

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Service
Cons: Needs repainting, deep clean, recarpeting
Location: Hanalei Bay is where it's at!
We were upgraded from garden to ocean view and were thrilled, the room had sliding windows that opened up completely to the ocean and mountains, complete with waterfalls. Spectacular. This hotel is filled with couples on romantic getaways, so might not be the best location for traveling alone! We even felt weird among all the babymooners. (There were A LOT of them) The staff kept asking what we were celebrating and we just kept making up new reasons! That said, the property is beautiful (although a bit old school luxury resort, not super modern) and has a small beach, huge pool/hot tub area, 3+ restaurants (with really good food! expensive prices, but food exceeded expectations) and of course the golf course if you care about golf. We rented a car so we could hang out in nearby Hanalei Bay (~12 min drive) and were glad we did. Bar Acuda is a must, as is Wishing Well Shave Ice and Pat's Taqueria. The hotel offers valet which made everything super easy. Expect overnight parking and resort fees in addition to your Expedia reservation fee. Enjoy Kauai!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by The St. Regis Princeville Resort, Hotel Management
Aloha, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon! With warmest aloha,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida

Perfect for honeymooners

Posted Oct 27, 2017
We initially stayed at the Marriot Resort Kaui in Lihue. We were really disappointed with the cleanliness and quality of the hotel. We switched to the St. Regis for our honeymoon which was a great decision. Terrific hotel. Lovely beach and pool. Professional and friendly staff. We had a leis welcome which was appreciated. Our room was spacious and clean. Although we did not have a balcony, our room had a window we could open so we could enjoy the ocean breeze and a screen to keep out the bugs. The hotel restaurants are expensive but they are high quality. Great meals and cocktails. There is also a small shopping center in Princeville nearby if you would like other dining options as well. This hotel is also a fairly short distance to the entrance to the Kalulau trail. Five star hotel. Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york city

incredible view but beach is rocky

Posted Oct 21, 2017
The resort is situated in a gorgeous location, uphill on the mountain and tired down right into the ocean front. However, the beach is very rocky, water is shallow, not good for swimming in the ocean. But the pool is great! Lobby seems heavy with brown tone, not tropical light feel. Breakfast is fantastic. Warm reception is beyond expectation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by The St. Regis Princeville Resort, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to hear your stay was beyond expectations. It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back soon. With warmest aloha,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Tired elegance with service from another era

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location. Service at the pool and beach
Cons: Lighter fare in the poolside cafe and some snacks in the rooms
Location: Why go anywhere? Best view on the island and a beach, too!
The St Regis Princeville has the best location and views in Hanalei, Kauai.. visitors come from all over the island for sunset and drinks on the terrace. It's worth it! One night the sunset was brilliant orange and the next deep pink due to rain clouds. Incredible. The hotel is suffering from a need to refresh and update the decor. The tropics are hard on surfaces - mold grows verociously. Everything is scrupulously clean but the outside needs a new coat of paint and the hall carpets are showing wear. Bathrooms in deep green marble are elegant but the totally neutral room decor is dated. The hotel seems to be all about service - butler service included. There is no minibar because one just needs to call for whatever is desired. Service is quick and very accommodating (I called to eggs Benedict at 5:15 in the morning and it was there in 20 min.) but modern travelers don't even know how to ask. The spa is outstanding by any standards. Every treatment was wonderful. I went for three days of pampering after radiation therapy and it worked! I left feeling human again. And the smaller restaurant - the Kauai Grill is exceptional. People at all the tables near me were celebrating special occasions and were not disappointed. Exceptional Jean George cuisine with Bali Hai in the background - what could be better? How about a poached egg coated in a crispy crust floating in sabayon and topped with caviar?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better off burning your money

Posted Oct 5, 2017
By all means the hotel is nice and has spectacular views it's just not worth the price!! First of all the hotel doesn't allow any changes for the reservation so read carefully the deadline for cancellations. There are hidden fees that amount to $100 per day valet + resort fee!!! Anything that you ask for your room takes at least 30 min to get there. Concierge almost never answer the calls Check in and check out is slow. Hotel is understaffed. Also it is never sunny in the North so people who are looking to tan and go to beaches please choose the South shore. There was a huge cockroach in the room which I killed and housekeeping didnt remove for three days. I mean that should tell us about the cleanliness of the hotel. DO NOT GO THERE
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by The St. Regis Princeville Resort, Hotel Management
Aloha, We apologize that your stay was anything less then exceptional. Our staff takes great pride in the level of service and detail we provide and we have shared your review with our Management team. We hope you were able to speak with a Manager prior to your departure and hope that you will allow us another opportunity in the near future to change your mind about our beautiful Resort and the North Shore of Kauai. With warmest aloha,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Could have been 5 stars easily. But I gave 3 stars

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly staff, easy access to the beach, great pool area.
Cons: Food food food. The hotel is 5 stars the food is worse than an average food truck. (pls read the above)
we've been to this hotel many times before and the quality is consistent. From valet service to guest services, everyone is very friendly and professional. There is nothing bad to say about this place but food. The food is beyond believed bad (considering what it costs.) Kauai grill is a different story though. It's in the hotel, part of the hotel but managed separately. Different chef etc. The food, Room service, Nalu Kai grill & bar, St Regis bar, comes from the same kitchen (This is my understanding.) But very low quality and the pricing is more than I have ever paid in fine dining restaurants. - The first night we ordered room service. 6oz Steak, Chicken club sandwich, and two Cokes. it was about $130 dollars. Fine, no problem, we are about to eat some amazing quality food right? not really. - The steak was bland and (probably) previously frozen. - You could easily flip the fries as if they were gummy worms :) - The bread for club sandwich was toasted but I don't know when because it was not crispy it was soggy. - The chicken was very chewy. Was it edible? yes. Was it worth $130 dollars, no way (They were kind to remove it from our bill) - Another night we were at the St Regis Bar area. We had some drinks. A martini is $22.00, a glass of wine can go up to $24-$25 dollars. We ordered spring rolls. IF they were made from scratch, in the kitchen, I accept I know nothing about my food. It tasted like frozen, store-bought crap. The minus 2 stars are for the food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sonoma County

Luxurious

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Spectacular room views, classic design, gracious interior furnishings, beautiful floral arrangements, great pool & cocktails - fabulous breakfast buffet. Staff were beyond courteous but non intrusive - thoroughly enjoyed my stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nothing less expected!

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, comfortable beds, great location
Location: The hike to the waterfall is wonderful, but take 3-4 bottles per person of water with you. Canyon is definitely worth seeing.
Great service, friendly staff and beautiful location. We stayed there for a family vacation but it is a wonderful hotel for all kinds of travelers. Staff all over the hotel were friendly and helpful and we recommend St. Regis as an excellent hotel to anyone who is traveling to Kauai.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa monica

Beautiful location and amazing service

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Can't beat the location / views and service. The rooms are getting a little dated but just being there and with such friendly and accommodating service it's easy to overlook it. I wish we could have stayed longer but it's pricey and there are additional overnight parking fees as well. Overall a 4 out of 5.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the friendly and accommodating service. We hope you will have another opportunity to visit us once again! With best regards,