Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brampton, Ont. Canada

this hotel was lovely with a great staff service

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Everything, the uniqueness and location was great.
Cons: the shower curtains
Location: we were within walking distance of the train station, aquarium, the harbour, shopping, Christopher Columbus's home and statue, hop on hop off buses
The hotel was very quaint, very clean and had an ambiance of old gracefulness, well cared for. The proprietor suggested a restaurant for our first meal in Italy and it was the best food we ate all week. We also received a 15% discount for staying at the Hotel. The closeness to the Transit hub was useful and also the location of the harbour for catching the cruise ship was ideal. Although we could have walked to the ship we opted to take a cab, which the hotel secured for us very quickly. The hotel was a little hard to locate as the enterance was set back from the sidewalk. The breakfast was continental but had everything you asked for and it was filling. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family although it did not have all the bells and whistles of a large chain hotel it was very restful and accommodating. I hope to someday return to this hotel and Genoa itself.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Very convenient to the train station.

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: location and staff
Cons: access to lobby was confusing especially on first approach.
Location: convenient to the the UN's World Heritage designated buildings
Staff very helpful with a minor illness, allergies.
5 out of 5
by Carol

Nice little gem

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is close to the Genova Principe rail station. There is an elevator to get to the hotel lobby from the street and then there are a few stairs from the lobby to the room elevator but the desk clerk was very helpful and brought our bags up and down. Breakfast that was included was adaquate. Bathroom was small but functional. Room wasn't very large, but had a roomy feeling to it based on placement of furniture. Good value. There is an excellent restaurant across the street from the hotel for dinner, nice choices and variety, reasonable prices,,plus a discount if you mention you are staying at the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming and very friendly!

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
My wife and I stayed in August and it was wonderful, the staff were so friendly and helpful and we really felt like we were in Italy thats for sure! The breakfast was great, plenty of options and terrific coffee. The rooms are from another era but that absolutely adds to the charm, wonderful! Can't speak highly enough about the hotel for value, friendliness, cleanliness and location it cannot be beaten, we will be back. Thank you for the wonderful stay :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great service

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
This is our 1 night return stay after a cruise. The gentleman on duty at the reception desk was Friendly and helped brought our luggage to our room, which service was not usually provided in 3-star hotels. Big thanks to the staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
The gentleman on duty at the reception desk spoke very good English, was courteous and helpful. The hotel was within walking distance of the cruise terminal and ideal for cruise passengers who wish to spend a day or two in Genoa before or after the cruise.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location without blowing your budget

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was located right by Genoa Piazza Principe station, which was nice as I didn't need to walk much carrying my luggage. The staff was friendly & helpful. The room had a large comfortable bed & equipped with everything you'd need for your stay. It was an easy, nice walk from the hotel to the historical center of Genoa such as Via Garibaldi. I think it is a nice option for someone who's looking for a moderately priced hotel, yet conveniently located.
4 out of 5
by Vincent from Tullamore

Nice hotel for a nice price.

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
Sadly our stay was only for one night, so we did not get to see much of the city. We arrived by train from Milan and were delighted at how close the hotel was to the railway station. The immediate area was old and atmospheric and our walk in and around the many small streets/alleyways near the port was a treat. We were in Genoa during the Euro football and watched the 1st game of the tournament in the " HB Café 1969" whose owner is a mad Sampadoria fan. We had a good night with him and a few of his regular customers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alberta

Close to the train station and main attractions

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: People, clean room, location.
Location: little jewelry shop on Balbi street on the left side when you exiting the hotel I think there is Dance school. Nice choice for a good price.
The room is super clean. The bathroom and shower tad small but this is common in Italy. The staff is very helpful and pleasant to deal with. They might look a bit grumpy at first but it's an external thing , you pass that and they are nicest people to deal with. Good breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Janette from Melbourne, Australia

Central Hotel is a Hidden Gem.

Posted Jan 27, 2016 on Hotels
This is an old hotel, so do not be alarmed when you see the room at first. However, I can only be positive about our stay at the Vittoria. The air conditioning unit within the room meant that we could control the temperature, the bed was comfortable and the shower was the best one we encountered in Italy. Additionally, the included breakfast was adequate. The reception and breakfast staff were excellent - friendly and really very helpful, especially with the luggage. We really enjoyed our night in Genoa at the Vittoria and we would stay here again.