Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Good location

Posted Oct 20, 2017
This is our second stay at The Ambassador. On check-in I requested a room with a balcony as we’d been upgraded last time but sadly this time we weren’t. The room was quiet and the beds clean, although quite hard but could do with some updating although I think the bathrooms may have been updated since our last visit. There is a tv in the room but no English Channel although the room menu stated that there was BBC. This wasn’t a problem for us although it’s quite nice to be able to catch up with the news. There’s also a large tv in the foyer with local news channels on. The security has been made stricter with extra locks on the bedroom doors and a system to hand room keys in on every departure. The reception staff are pleasant although I think the call to our room at precisely 1200 to remind us to check out was slightly unnecessary. As other reviews state, we found Norbert to be the most friendly, helping with a telephone booking to a nearby restaurant for a birthday meal. Breakfast is available at the hotel although we did not eat there as there are many choices locally. We are frequent visitors to Nice and the location is very good, close to all shops, restaurants and set back just one block from the Promenade with only a very short walk to the old town with its flower market, winding streets full of charm and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Excellent location

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Location and staff friendly and helpful.
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Location fantastic - just off the promenade and everything within walking distance.
Lovely stay at this hotel. Room clean and comfortable. Toilet and shower room separate and very clean and modern. Great location just off the promenade and public transport, beach, shops, bars and restaurants all close by. Hotel staff really helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Hotels
Our original accommodation wasn't satisfactory so we booked here on the afternoon of. Great location, comfortable and clean room. Only down side was one particular concierge clerk who was always rude and a bit of a pain, all other staff were friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by james

Convenient and Pleasant

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
Make reservations early in the summer. A very comfortable, modestly priced, and well located Nice hotel. Few minutes walk to old Nice, flower market, shopping -- in the middle of everything really. Very professional and accommodating staff. Two minutes walk to the beach...if you want to save a little money take a bus to the hotel from the airport -- numbers 98 or 99. Its faster than taxis. But be sure you know where to get off--tell them the Meridien Hotel--same corner as McDonald's...6euros; cab 25euros or so. Depending on where you get off the bus, it may be a 7-8 minute walk. If you have a group, take a cab or uber. Not worth the saving if its more than two people for sure--or if you have lots of luggage.
3 out of 5
by Ricardo

Top location but eve

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
One of the best location in Nice but the hotel is very basic.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient but noisey and not cycle friendly

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
Location is convenient for the beach, restaurants and the old town but constant traffic noise and refusal of staff to allow valuable triathlon bike to be kept in room spoiled our stay.
4 out of 5
by Nizar

good location. Room was small

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel location is good.It is near the sea and near shops and restaurants. The room is not big and the bed quality is just normal.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by La Direction, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, We would like to thank you for taking your time to leave this pleasant comment and 4 stars. We are happy to know that you have appreciated the quality of our Hotel, we are always trying to do our best to provide our clients with the excellent service and to make them feel like at home "Our hôtels are yours". So we would be very happy to see you again in our hotel. Best regards La Direction of Hotel Ambassador*** Nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

Great location close to the beach and restaurants

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Location
Reasonably priced alternative to the higher priced hotels in the area. 1 block form the beach, 15 minute walk form the train station. Clean and secure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2017 by Hotel Ambassador, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, We would like to thank you for taking your time to leave this pleasant comment and 4 stars. We are happy to know that you have appreciated the quality of our Hotel, we are always trying to do our best to provide our clients with the excellent service and to make them feel like at home "Our hôtels are yours". So we would be very happy to see you again in our hotel. Best regards La Direction of Hotel Ambassador*** Nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean Hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
It was average stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, We would like to thank you for taking your time to leave this pleasant comment and 3 stars. We are happy to know that you have appreciated the quality of our Hotel, we are always trying to do our best to provide our clients with the excellent service and to make them feel like at home "Our hôtels are yours". So we would be very happy to see you again in our hotel. Best regards La Direction of Hotel Ambassador*** Nice
3 out of 5
by simone

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
We didn't receive the booked room which was supposed to be a sea view room