Ratings based on 1,036 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ca

Grand Hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2017
The hotel is beautiful, and in the perfect location. The staff are very helpful, and our room was so comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Just THE hotel to stay in

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Stunning hotel, great location amazing staff - the photo's don't do it justice. Things to like: decor, location, atmosphere and fantastic staff Downsides Aircon isn't great, but literally that's it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: Everything, quirky, luxurious.
One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Absolutely perfect in every way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel, great view, great location.

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: Impeccable service, extremely friendly staff. Quirky classic feel but really beautiful.
Cons: Our room was extremely clean and we had no issues but we heard that other rooms could use some updating for a hotel of it's level.
We splurged for an Sea View room and had an incredible time. The view itself was beautiful and we ended up spending a lot of time just relaxing in the room and looking out the window (in a city!). The most impressive thing, however, was the staff who were exceptionally friendly and generally amazing. We've stayed at many hotels but this was probably the best service we've ever received. We loved the classic beauty of the hotel and lots of quirky details that make it stand out from others. We were a little worried about stories of rooms being old and sometimes a little shabby (part of why we decided to go with a room upgrade) but had no problems whatsoever - our room was definitely quirky but absolutely clean and wonderful. We'd strongly recommend the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Excellent location, great Breakfast , beautiful ocean views!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous art filled hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2017
A lovely spot next to the beach, galleries of modern art on every floor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Location, staff and the building itself.... all amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London & Yorkshire

Fabulously quirky hotel with such character!

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Uniqueness, quirkiness, architecture, antiques and art everywhere, great staff, and the best cosmopolitan in their bar I have ever had!
Cons: Arguably perhaps some might say a swimming pool would be a fabulous addition, albeit it didnt trouble us that there wasn't one.
Location: Fabulous location across the road from a pebble beach and bars and restaurants all along the front, and in the nearby squares of Nice
The photographs of this hotel don't do it justice to be fair. It is a wonderfully characterful hotel with a buzzing personality indicative of old school Nice. It is a testament to the lady who owns and runs it, with a series of beautiful art works and pieces from a variance of eras. The hotel is a museum in itself filled with treasures and wonders from artists and designers that make it a real unique gem. Architecturally unusual this is a stand out property and whilst it does miss a swimming pool (I think this is less important though where it is not the type of hotel that sells itself on this type of facility) it is directly opposite the beach where a great Plage open 8 months of the year, awaits visitors who want to swim. We had a fabulous room with double juliet windows opening out to a side view of the sea, and again such wonderful antique furniture that adds to the quintessential ambience of Nice. Of course, a blue sky and fabulous sunshine all helps to make it a great time and we got that in bucket loads. Nice isn't cheap. However that does serve to protect it perhaps from a certain brand of visitor that might seek to ruin it with bad behaviour. We will definitely be going again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

Gorgeous, but beware the extra charges...

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Beautiful and unique hotel, truly a landmark on the promenade. Spacious rooms with vibrant design. Great bathrooms. Just beware that food and drink prices are 3x what they are outside, room service menu states they will charge an additional Euro for extra cutlery, no iron in the room and their pressing fees are about 10 Euro per item. Staff wonderful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

A striking hotel in perfect location

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: beautiful outside and eclectic interior with lots of art. Location.
Cons: Service. Also, they decided to save on toiletries in the bathroom and just hang big containers with liquid soap, etc.,had to call for solid soap!
Location: In the middle of a beautiful Promenade, across the beach
The service is nowhere near the category and price level. The check in and check out takes forever. There are one, or two at best, desk clerks at the reception who are capable of checking you in (there are always a few people hanging behind them, but they are not authorized to do anything because they are trainees or "sorry, it is my first day"). Being so understaffed, they have a weird custom of a desk clerk accompanying you to the room (while the porter brings your bag separately). So for check in I waited for at least 20 minutes, and there were more frustrated guests waiting behind me. When the desk clerk checked me in, he left the desk to accompany me to my room. I did ask him to stay and serve the crowd behind me, arguing that I will easily find my room, but no, he just went with me. At the room I tipped him, when the porter showed up with my bag and an inquiring expression, so I had to tip him too. Check out was even worse. I asked earlier the desk clerk if I could check out 30 minutes later. No, Madame, we are sold out. Fine, I understand. Then I come down at noon, and... wait to check out for exactly 30 minutes! So, staying in the room for 30 extra minutes was not OK, but holding the room while waiting in line to check out for the same 30 minutes worked better for them.