Ratings based on 1,237 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location, very helpful staff ,memorable stay

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was very good. A lot of different food choose, even for gluten free and dairy free. Rooms and decent size, comfy beds and big size bathroom
Location: The airport is very close so the train station. The beach is like 10 meters from hotel so while you have breakfast you see the beach.
The staff were so helpful with anything we needed. Location of the hotel is perfect. Really recommend the hotel Breakfast had big choose of food, soya milk and gluten free rolls. Room is good size and good size bathroom with bath. We had kettle, coffee and tea in the room. Also we receive macaroons cakes beautifully packed and presented with welcome note on the desk. I was really happy with the stay in hotel.Recommended 100%
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel, not so good rooms

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Oldest hotel on promenade des anglaise, very quaint.
Cons: Rooms, breakfast
Location: Very good location, buses from front hotel, old town within 10 minutes, station 20 minutes
When we booked in we were given a dark, small room on second floor. The toilet was so small my husband couldn't use it. On speaking to reception they said they would try to move us in the morning, which they did and we were give a lovely room on the 4th floor . We were very happy with it. Our friends arrived the next day and they were given another dark, dismal room. Why has the hotel been converted to give these horrible rooms. There was another man in reception also complaining about his room. After we moved rooms we were satisfied. Hover the breakfast is chaos, not replenishing food fast enough and not replenishing crockery fast enough. It's in a marquee at side of hotel - why don't they use the restaurant, it's never busy because prices exorbitant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Told me 19 Euros per night to upgrade and charged me 100 per night.. Rude staff. Great location but old and dirty
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle Upon Tyne, England

Beautiful hotel in a great location

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Elegant hotel on the Promenade Des Anglais Our classic room was very comfortable, quiet and had been refurbished The staff were very professional and helpful Excellent restaurant with good service A good base for getting around Nice Would stay again The cost of the breakfast was included but if you do buy it separately it is expensive at 20 euros, but there are plenty of nearby places to eat
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Mids UK

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: rooms need renovating
Location: close to town and beach
The hotel is very well situated right on the front promenade. The only issue I have is with the Classic room I was very disappointed, it was very dated and had no view only a blank wall, not what we expected at all. However, maybe we should have complained, otherwise the staff where very helpful, and the breakfasts were excellent. Having stayed in many 4 star hotels, I would rate this hotel with 3 stars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Nice central location right on the Promenade

Posted Sep 25, 2017
A very enjoyable experience staying at the West End Hotel. Staff was excellent and the rooms overlooking the sea were spectacular. Two little French balconies that you could go out onto and see for miles. Might not suit a light sleeper as it is quite noisy through the night with police cars, ambulances and just traffic and people talking. Some of the slipcovers on furniture were worn but in general rooms were nicely decorated. Breakfast advertised on the hotel's website at 20 euros was available at check in for 13 euros if you ate there each morning of your stay. It was an excellent buffet and well worth it. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gothenburg Sweden

Perfect location

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Great hotel. Jacuzzi tub didnt work but the hotel staff was more than accomodating. I am a gold + member and I received an upgrade to a junior suite and complimentary breakfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from howell, ny

Nice, Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Iron in room for the Misses
Location: Everything and anything. Nothing was to far away
The room was excellent, the views great. Staff awesome. The hotel beautiful, clean and very welcoming. We got a great value through Expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wow!

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Excellent location directly across the Promenade Anglais from the beach. Booked chairs at Blue Beach for the day to relax before afternoon flight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by jms, Hotel Management
Dear guest Thank you very much for your kind review. We do hope to welcome you abck very soon. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Excellent hotel, close to the sea

Posted Aug 29, 2017
We had excellent experience in the hotel. Staff are very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Rooms/suites are suitable for families (children sleep in a separate adjacent room from parents in the same suite). Children's beds are bunker beds which are much better than sofas. Rooms are quiet. The location of the hotel is very convenient - just over the road from the promenade and the sea; the centre of Nice and its attractions are within easy reach from the hotel.