Primary image

Reviews of Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels - All Inclusive

4 out of 5
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels - All Inclusive
Prospect Bay Beach, Prospect, St. James

Overall score and ratings

4.6

Wonderful

Rating 5 - Excellent. 201 out of 281 reviews
5 - Excellent 72%
Rating 4 - Good. 54 out of 281 reviews
4 - Good 19%
Rating 3 - Okay. 15 out of 281 reviews
3 - Okay 5%
Rating 2 - Poor. 9 out of 281 reviews
2 - Poor 3%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 2 out of 281 reviews
1 - Terrible 1%

4.8/5

Cleanliness

4.7/5

Staff & service

4.5/5

Amenities

4.5/5

Property conditions & facilities

4.4/5

Eco-friendliness

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Overall was a good stay. Few pros and cons Cons- small hotel Not much to do in the area Front desk staff wasn’t the most accommodating. I always felt Like I was inconveniencing them asking for change. You would think they would want to give their guest change so staff can be tipped. Service in restaurants were very slow. One of the lunches at the sister hotel took 2 hours. We sat for 40 mins before our order was taken. Also you have to make reservations for all dinners. When I asked about covid test back to Us. I was told it’s 100 each to have the doctor come to room. Thankfully a guest overheard and told me there’s a clinic up the road for 44.00 (it was a 2.00 bus ride). Pros- you can visit any Marriott hotel and eat at them if you booked all inclusive. Activities were fun and always different. Food was really good. They provide a free boat between hotels. They offer an orientation that gives vital information about the hotel. Water activities were fun and included! Riesha worked the activities desk. She was AMAZING. She always checked in with me and made sure I had everything I needed. Waitstaff were very nice, most staff were very nice there was just 2 at the front desk that I found to be stand off ish.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2022
Response from Shanette on May 17, 2022
Dear Mary, Thank you for your feedback as it is very important to us. It is very disappointed to know that you had some unpleasant encounters with some of the members of the team. In addition, you also mentioned experiencing slow service in the restaurants. For each mentioned area, we have flagged them for follow-up with the respective departments and we shall do our utmost to make improvements. Please accept our sincerest apologies as we failed to meet your expectations. Warm Regards, Shanette

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Loved the staff. Didnt like the birds lol
Stayed 3 nights in May 2022
Response from Shanette on May 10, 2022
Dear Sheana, Thank you for your review! Regards, Shanette

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The staff went above and beyond to make us comfortable. It was very clean. The food was delicious and we were able to request a Caribbean dish which was served with love. It is the perfect resort to relax and enjoy the true Bajan calming lifestyle.
Stayed 5 nights in Apr 2022
Response from Shanette on May 10, 2022
Dear Savitri, Thank you so much for your glowing review. We are happy to know that the staff took care of your needs and you enjoyed the food served in the outlets. Warm Regards, Shanette

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Wonderful staff
Stayed 7 nights in Apr 2022
Response from Shanette on Apr 11, 2022
Dear Charles Francis, Thank you for your review! Regards, Shanette

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We enjoyed staying here. Lovely room, although supposed to be a 'Junior Suite' - it wasn't - but great view and very clean. Mini bar re-stocking left something to be desired. Staff very helpful. Shiso (Thai / fusion) restaurant somewhat disappointing - other food generally good, although not exceptional. Overall though, a nice-sized & very good hotel.
Stayed 9 nights in Feb 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This was a perfect stay to re-start holidays post-pandemic. The hotel is in a good location, and our Oceanview room was excellent - sunsets from your own room! The team are great - especially Crystal -running Frontdesk, and barman Mark - the King of the Negroni! Food was good throughout, and especially Shiso for Asian fusion.
Stayed 7 nights in Feb 2022
Response from Shanette on Mar 6, 2022
Dear Mark, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards, Shanette

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Hit and miss - but mainly miss - not value
We stayed all over Barbados and had 5 nights at Waves. This is a great looking refurbished property - as you come down the stairs to reception you can see the blue sea. The hotel also has its own small beach with great service on the beach. But is this really a true 5 star and worth paying over £500 a day for? No. The hotel has rooms in the main hotel and around the pool across the busy main road. Take care - the yellow public buses do 60mph and will not stop for you at the zebra crossing! The beds and rooms are comfortable. These are our gripes. Firstly, we chose and paid specifically for a room with pool view. They put us in room 520 - the only room with zero view. We complain then sit around for 40 minutes before this is resolved (moved to room 525). Next gripe is that we like a glass of red wine in our room pre-dinner. They would only give us wine in a plastic glass. When I asked for a bottle (keep in mind paying £500 plus a night for this place) the bar man told me “you can buy a bottle!”. Not really all-inclusive now - is it? Having enjoyed great food in Barbados at Sugar Bay (4 stars) , O2 and Cobblers Cove (5 stars), the food here was the greatest disappoint of all. Bland and tasteless. Lack of any flavour. All very ‘samey’. Never 5 stars. Service was very much hit and miss. Sabrina was a ‘hit’ but breakfast service was often chaotic. On a public holiday, the plates were just left piled up on the tables. The birds were happy! Overall, very average.
Stayed 5 nights in Jan 2022
Response from Shanette on Feb 15, 2022
Dear Iian, Thank you for taking the time to review your past stay with us. It is disappointing to know that you encountered a few challenges. We have therefore flagged each mentioned area for follow-up with the respective departments and we shall do our utmost to make improvements. We saw that you mentioned the hotel being five star. We will check to confirm this information on Expedia as Waves is classified as a Four Star hotel. Nonetheless, the product/service you received was below standard. We thank you once again for your feedback. Warm Regards, Shanette

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The staff was absolutely wonderful!!! The hotel was beautiful!!! I can't say enough great things about Waves!! If you are staying in Barbados this is the place to stay!!!
Stayed 6 nights in Feb 2022
Response from Shanette on Feb 15, 2022
Dear Corey T, Thank you for your glowing review on your past stay at Waves Hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Regards, Shanette

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Nice hotel food ok entertainment was very good all in all it was a nice stay.
Stayed 5 nights in Jan 2022
Response from Shanette on Jan 13, 2022
Dear Raymond, Thank you for your review! Regards, Shanette

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2022

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Great social atmosphere with most people in the same mindset. Great drinks. Comfortable beds to sleep on. Some very friendly staff.
Stayed 10 nights in Dec 2021
Response from Shanette on Jan 4, 2022
Dear Roma Lydia, Thank you for choosing Waves Hotel & Spa for your holiday enjoyment. It is great to know that your stay was an enjoyable one. We thank you for your feedback. Warm Regards, Shanette

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The property was stunning and kept impeccably clean.
Stayed 10 nights in Dec 2021
Response from Shanette on Dec 22, 2021
Dear Jeffrey, Thank you for your review! Regards, Shanette

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great spot
Stayed 8 nights in Dec 2021
Response from Shanette on Dec 20, 2021
Dear Navid, Thank you for your review! Regards, Shanette

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 12 nights in Oct 2021
Response from Shanette on Nov 19, 2021
Dear J, Thank you for your review! It is greatly appreciated. Regards, Shanette

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Absolutely fantastic amenities and services provided by the Waves staff from the moment we walked through the door to the time we left. This was an amazing holiday experience and I cannot recommend this hotel enough for anyone looking to book a holiday stay in Barbados.
Stayed 5 nights in Oct 2021
Response from Shanette on Nov 19, 2021
Dear Imran, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that your stay was enjoyed from the beginning to the very end. Continue to be safe! Regards, Shanette

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Very nice property.. it’s not your turn up spot. Very laid back. Everything shutdown at 11pm. The pool closed at 6pm. They remove the beach chairs when the sun goes down. Room was clean. Anything we quested they were quick to handle. The food was good. Must make a reservation for dinner. Nice place but if I visit Barbados again I’ll try a different place. This Covid situation is the worst. In Barbados you have to pay $100 for testing
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2021
Response from Shanette on Oct 17, 2021
Dear Lesli, We appreciate your feedback. Regards, Shanette

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
I liked the attention,the beach & the view.The food was good. The Hotel could use more decor.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2021
Response from Shanette on Oct 19, 2021
Dear Lissette, Thank you for your feedback. It is greatly appreciated. Warm Regards, Shanette

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We enjoyed our stay and I would stay at Waves hotel again, but there were too many problems so I'm giving 4 stars (instead of 5.) These were minor problems for me, but I'll share them here so you (the reader) can decide if they are deal-breakers for you: - if your room is on the adult-only area (other side of the road), you have to cross a busy street all the time. Cars drive pretty fast and not always respect pedestrians. - we reserved a "pool view room", which was more expensive, but all we could see from our window was a roof. - the shower drain was partially clogged and water would build up over our feet during shower (I complained about this and after a week it wasn't fixed) - for the price you pay, food and drinks could have better quality especially during breakfast (juices are from concentrate and sugary, only sliced bread and jams are poor quality.) - turtle trip sold by hotel is a tourist trap. They feed the turtles, so they come close to the boat. I don't understand how that's even legal (turtles are endangered and protected by conservation laws). I've seen turtles before in the ocean, but always by chance. And people should always respect a certain distance, never touch them and we are absolutely not supposed to feed them. It was pretty disturbing. - the roped swim area at the beach is tiny and if you wonder outside that area, there are boats and jet skis flying by pretty close to you. I don't understand how they allow boats to be so close to the beach.
Stayed 7 nights in Oct 2021
Response from Shanette on Oct 19, 2021
Dear Mr Mesquita, Thank you for taking the time to review your past stay with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Warm Regards, Shanette

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Wonderful hotel, staff and food at Waves
We had a wonderful 2 weeks stay at Waves Hotel in Sept 21. Every element was fantastic. Firstly the wonderfully friendly staff and helpful management. The food quality, choice and variety was amazing. The lovely terrace overlooking the beach and the beautiful Carribean. The beach was more than large enough for a full hotel, helped by comfortable loungers, more attentive staff and some amazing free water sports including water skiing. The water taxi to the other group hotels up the coast was a fun way to get around. The cafe was a great alternative to the restaurant for lunch. Finally wonderful bar staff and as many delicious cocktails as you want. Already booked for next year!
Stayed 14 nights in Sep 2021
Response from Shanette on Oct 9, 2021
Dear P, Thank you for your glowing review on your past stay at Waves Hotel & Spa. We are always happy to know when our guests have memorable experiences and your feedback certainly tells of such. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Warm Regards, Shanette

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 5 nights in Sep 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The staff was amazing. They could not do enough for you. If you engage with them they will help, amuse, befriend, enlighten banter and guide you in the best places and sites to see. We have visited many islands and this by far was the friendliest. They could not do enough for you and went out of their way to do so. The combination of the 3 resorts gave great variety of sites and things to do and see.
Stayed 11 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Shanette on Oct 8, 2021
Dear Daniel, Thank you for your review. It is good to know that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and the staff went above and beyond to ensure you were well looked after. It is great that you also took the opportunity to venture out and see what the island has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Warm Regards, Shanette

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Fantastic
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Shanette on Oct 8, 2021
Dear Jason, Thank you for your review! Regards, Shanette

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
The staff were very good. t The food was very poor
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Shanette on Oct 8, 2021
Dear Anita, Thank you for your review. It is good to know that you considered the staff to be very good however, it is disappointing to know that you thought the food to be very poor. We have flagged this internally and we shall make improvements. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon. Warm Regards, Shanette

4/5 Good

Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The staff friendliness and hospitality exceeded expectations We were personally greeted everyday by name and asked how everything was going Anything that needed attention was immediately remediated Food was really good
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Shanette on Oct 8, 2021
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review. We are so happy to know that your expectations were exceeded. This is thrilling! It is great that you were personally greeted by name and the staff inquired about how your holiday was going. We thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Warm Regards, Shanette

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed at the Waves Resort and Spa for a pre-bday trip with my friend and we had an amazing time. The service was great and we truly felt like we we're getting VIP treatment. We will definitely be back.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Shanette on Oct 8, 2021
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for choosing Waves Hotel & Spa to celebrate such a special occasion. We are happy to know that your holiday was an enjoyable one and you felt special. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Warm Regards, Shanette

4/5 Good

Stayed 7 nights in Nov 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great West Coast Hotel
Great value all inclusive hotel on West Coast. A credit to the Marriott Brand. Team couldn't do enough to make my stay pleasant and pampered. Ahkeem is a great asset. Lively, mischievous but a joy to talk to each day. When I had an issue, it was resolved and then followed up by Kim, the perfect General Manager. Thanks for taking care of me.
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Outstanding Service and Food
Outstanding service and quality of food clean comfortable hotel plenty of great food and cocktails best all inclusive experienced... staff very attentive all led by great hotel manager Kim I
Stayed 9 nights in Oct 2020

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Beautiful hotel but not worth the price tag. We were not able to use most of the amenities due to COVID-19 making the price tag not worth it. Food was not memorable compared to Champers or Kitchen Cuisine.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
ighly recommended and COVID safe!
The hotel team have made a concerted effort to continue to be their regular welcoming friendly selves, while adhering to COVID regulations. The premises were regularly cleaned and sanitised to make all guest feel confident. As always, the stay was super relaxing, aided by the lovely team and friendly environment. Would highly recommend to anyone!
Stayed 10 nights in Sep 2020

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Waves is extremely safe re: Covid. Staff wear masks all the time as do guests in the public area (unless eating/drinking of course!). We felt so much safer here than in the UK! We got given an upgrade so we had a wonderful sea view from our balcony. The beds are so comfortable too. The two pools are lovely & relaxing, but the beach is amazing. Just a few steps from the hotel, the sea is so nice you just want to stay in it for hours! There was an issue with sun loungers being reserved by guests putting their towels on them at 7am, but someone complained & the hotel sent a polite note around to guests rectifying the problem immediately, which was great. Pamela the waitress takes your drinks orders on the beach so it was great to enjoy a cocktail while we sunbathed. With our room booking we had a free spa treatment each & it was the best massage I’d ever had. The free water sports are brilliant too. snorkelling, waterskiing, kayaking etc all included. If you like fish & sushi, you’ll love the menu. The lunch buffet (where the staff serve you) is great too with pasta, rice, & fish etc) We weren’t so keen on the “comfort” options on the menu but there are plenty of other varied dishes. One negative point was the $100 per day deposit you have to pay on arrival in case you order room service. It felt like they didn’t trust us, & it was annoying waiting several days for $1000 to go back onto our card when we got home. Overall, I definitely recommend staying here!
Stayed 10 nights in Aug 2020
Response from Waves Hotel and Spa on Aug 31, 2020
Thank you for your feedback!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Tremendous management and staff
Stayed 6 nights in Aug 2020
Response from Waves Hotel and Spa on Aug 17, 2020
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback! Look forward to seeing you back again.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 5 nights in Mar 2020
Response from Stephanie on Apr 1, 2020
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 7 nights in Mar 2020
Response from Stephanie on Apr 1, 2020
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The staff are excellent. The food in Seascape restaurant is very good particularly the buffets.
Stayed 10 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Stephanie on Apr 1, 2020
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 7 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Stephanie on Apr 1, 2020
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 7 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Stephanie on Apr 1, 2020
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great spot for a get-away
The property is split into two parts divided by the road. The family area is part of the main hotel on the beach while there is an adult-only area with a spa across the road. Friendly and helpful staff, good food. The beach is a small stretch with calm waters. The meal programme with sister hotels is not planned properly, and we couldn’t use it. Supermarket Is a short distance away but would be good for hotel to stock some basic items. Entertainment in the evenings! Must try their grapeFruit cooler!
Stayed 6 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Stephanie on Apr 1, 2020
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
What an amazing place. Superb location, lovely facilities and simply wonderful staff.
Stayed 7 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Stephanie on Apr 1, 2020
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
From arrival to departure the staff are welcoming and friendly. The view from the hotel is stunning. Great food. Great room. Great spa service. Only negative is the communal pool (in family area) was easterly and cold, but when you have the Caribbean sea you don’t need a pool!
Stayed 7 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Stephanie on Apr 1, 2020
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 11 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Stephanie on Apr 1, 2020
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
The staff were friendly and eager to make our stay comfortable. Its a great location by the sea.
Stayed 7 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Stephanie on Apr 1, 2020
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

4/5 Good

Stayed 5 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Stephanie on Apr 1, 2020
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Like - staff and friendliness / Ryan was excellent / food and drinks very good Dislike - Wi-Fi quality and space on the beach
Stayed 10 nights in Jan 2020
Response from Stephanie on Apr 1, 2020
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
High quality hotel; small, friendly and perfectly positioned. Love that it’s not pretentious. Sunsets are amazing. Look out for Christine, Jacqueline, Cheryl, Paul, Chadderton and Sabrina to name just a few of the team. Beach walks, spa and tours all a must. Will keep going back. Love it so much.
Stayed 7 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Stephanie on Apr 1, 2020
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
too many smokers, especially near restaurants and beach area. Also no pool bar, limited on vodka selection (no Titos),
Stayed 7 nights in Jan 2020
Response from Stephanie on Apr 1, 2020
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Nice location, good food and service. Nothing exceptional to note, but enjoyed our accommodations and stay. Barbados is not the best place for all-inclusive due to the ease and access of services available otherwise. But our stay was a good couple of lazy days.
Stayed 4 nights in Jan 2020
Response from Stephanie on Apr 1, 2020
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We just returned from our trip to Waves and we are already trying to figure out when we can go back! The staff were all very friendly and went out of their way to meet all of our wants and needs. The property was the perfect size, not too big, and not too small. The hotel was very clean; the decor was perfect, a Carribean beach vibe. We arrived Christmas Day and stayed through New Years and they had different activities planned for each day, both day and night events. The food was wonderful and each day offered different menus so we never got tired of the food. My family and I had a wonderful trip and were all very sad to leave, but as they told us “we have to leave so we can come back.” And we definitely will
Stayed 7 nights in Dec 2019