Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very disappointing

Posted Oct 24, 2016
We have stayed at the Providence Biltmore several times and have found it to be a pleasant stay. However, on this recent stay it was very unpleasant. Our room was extremely hot and we were told at the front desk that the air conditioning for the hotel was turned off for the season. The solution was to open our window (which opens about 6 inches) to cool the room. The open window did little to cool the room and the noisy Saturday night in Providence didn't help matters. It was a miserable night and we left first thing in the morning.This is a Hilton hotel and not inexpensive so I feel a bit taken advantage of. On a brighter note, Manny the shuttle driver is great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

No renovations in 30 years

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The rooms, the service, the food quality. It's way overpriced for what you get.
I stayed at the Biltomre during a recent college reunion in Providence. The hotel has not been renovated in 30 years. The rooms were awful for the price. They haven't been renovated in in years. The bathrooms are old. The furnnishings are worn out and disgusting. Plus the food and room service is awful. It took 40 minutes to get a pot of coffee. And the food was cold and undercooked. At check in there was a huge line and there was only one person assisting all the guests. Knowing this was a reunion weekend for both RISD and Brown they should have been prepared. They also did not honor the reunion weekend discount that was offered. I would not stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel - wonderful beds

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: The beds were wonderful!
Location: Hemenway's restaurant was fantastic!
We prefer historic hotels. This one has been beautifully restored but it still shows the signs of being almost 100 years old. That said, the beds are heavenly (2 king sized ones!) and the rooms are spacious, clean and have excellent lighting. The staff was professional and gracious; were very comfortable and happy. Found the location to be central to everything and a lovely, 12 minute walk to Brown University. Sadly, Expedia never sent our reservation to the hotel but luckily the front desk was very kind and accommodating, in spite of Expedia's mistake. Would definitely return when next in Providence.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc

No heat

Posted Sep 27, 2016
The heat wasn't working in my room. The woman who checked me in put me in a noisy room next to the elevator even though the hotel wasn't at capacity and there were plenty of available rooms. When I requested to be assigned to a more quiet room the representative refused. I never received such poor customer service. Furthermore, the heat wasn't working in the room even though it was in the 50s. I slept wearing a scarf and sweater since it was freezing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Too pricey and a bit outdated

Posted Sep 18, 2016
The hotel is ok, mostly it has a convenient location. The rooms are huge but seemed a bit outdated for the prize. The elevators are very slow. The staff is great and were very helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Character hotel in the heart of downtown

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Although the location and staff were great and the hotel is beautiful in its character, my room was tiny, the shower had no water pressure, and the paint was peeling off the ceilings. My friend had a much nicer room so they do exist, but you might not get to stay in one.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Frustrating-

Posted Aug 30, 2016
We arrived around 10 pm. Valets standing around and didn't even approach our car. We self parked and went to our room which was handicapped equipped and a clog toilet. We ask for a different room and stating we did not want a handicapped room as I was afraid I would skip in the bathroom. They gave us another handicapped room. We were too tired to change it. Yes I skipped in the shower.. We will not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Excellent hotel, right in the middle of the city

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Hotel was very clean and updated. Rooms were very spacious and the beds were amazing! Access to the Spa is a plus
Cons: Offer another dining option other than McCormick's.
Location: Right on Dorrance Street so easy access to restaurants, the mall, and the river.
Great hotel experience! Because the Spa is inside the hotel, great for weddings and girls weekends. This is a very historic hotel and I feel like that is undermined.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Historic hotel in the heart of Providence

Posted Aug 8, 2016
I stayed here for just one night, but very much enjoyed it. Beautiful lobby, kind staff, comfortable rooms. Would definitely stay here again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Great hotel and service . Have to pay for parking. I would stay there again. Rooms are clean and beds very comfortable.