Ratings based on 606 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc

No heat

Posted Sep 27, 2016
The heat wasn't working in my room. The woman who checked me in put me in a noisy room next to the elevator even though the hotel wasn't at capacity and there were plenty of available rooms. When I requested to be assigned to a more quiet room the representative refused. I never received such poor customer service. Furthermore, the heat wasn't working in the room even though it was in the 50s. I slept wearing a scarf and sweater since it was freezing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Too pricey and a bit outdated

Posted Sep 18, 2016
The hotel is ok, mostly it has a convenient location. The rooms are huge but seemed a bit outdated for the prize. The elevators are very slow. The staff is great and were very helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Character hotel in the heart of downtown

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Although the location and staff were great and the hotel is beautiful in its character, my room was tiny, the shower had no water pressure, and the paint was peeling off the ceilings. My friend had a much nicer room so they do exist, but you might not get to stay in one.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Frustrating-

Posted Aug 30, 2016
We arrived around 10 pm. Valets standing around and didn't even approach our car. We self parked and went to our room which was handicapped equipped and a clog toilet. We ask for a different room and stating we did not want a handicapped room as I was afraid I would skip in the bathroom. They gave us another handicapped room. We were too tired to change it. Yes I skipped in the shower.. We will not stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Excellent hotel, right in the middle of the city

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Hotel was very clean and updated. Rooms were very spacious and the beds were amazing! Access to the Spa is a plus
Cons: Offer another dining option other than McCormick's.
Location: Right on Dorrance Street so easy access to restaurants, the mall, and the river.
Great hotel experience! Because the Spa is inside the hotel, great for weddings and girls weekends. This is a very historic hotel and I feel like that is undermined.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Historic hotel in the heart of Providence

Posted Aug 8, 2016
I stayed here for just one night, but very much enjoyed it. Beautiful lobby, kind staff, comfortable rooms. Would definitely stay here again in the future!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Great hotel and service . Have to pay for parking. I would stay there again. Rooms are clean and beds very comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Block Island, RI

Great location

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Location: Walk around down town and for a longer walk up the hill to RISD and Brown.
We stayed for one night with our 13 year old grandson. The suite work well for us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

You don't get what you pay for

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: The staff was nice and pleasant. The rooms were a very nice size. The sitting area on the opposite side of the room with its own TV was nice as well.
Cons: The entire hotel in regards to plumbing & accommodations (pool, microwave in the room, full staff 24 hours a day-you never know). Rooms need a remake
Location: Everything is nearby. The location is great. The mall, convention center, shopping, eating, bus depot, 711, & other hotels are within walking distance
Way too much per night to stay in an old smelly hotel room. They were clean but I think the moldy smell is from the carpets. Chipping paint, no pool, fridge but no microwave in the rooms. Go figure that. The walls look old, the decor is old, the overall feel is just out of date. Our toilet got stopped up & I called at about 6am for someone to come handle it & was told maintenance wasn't in yet but they would send someone from security. 2 1/2 hours later no one came to fix the toilet so I called again. They sent security up with a plunger wrapped in plastic & he handed me the plunger like I was supposed to handle it. I asked him to do it & he did but with no avail. Instead of just moving us to another room, they propped open a room down the hall for us to use. Meanwhile we are sitting in the current room smelling the moldy carpet & now the clogged toilet. I had to ask them to move us. I shouldn't have had to. When they did, the room's sink had the slowest drain. This hotel is just old & needs updating. We had to pay way too much a day just to park in the hotel we were staying at, which is ridiculous. If I'm paying to stay at your hotel, I shouldn't have to pay to park, especially if every other hotel that's better than them offers free parking for their guest. They didn't even offer to validate my parking for the room issues. Then we walked around the corner & saw the Marriott, Hotel Providence, Renaissance, the huge Omni & felt so cheated I left a day early. Sorry I stayed.
4 out of 5
by lisa from New York

2 nights in Providence

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed here for 2 nights as it was a great location to stay in. I brought my daughter to the area to check out local colleges. Tons of great restaurants nearby and the neighborhood had a great, fun vibe. The hotel is a little dated but that is part of its charm. The beds are super comfy. Starbucks on premises but no restaurant for breakfast. Room service only. Amazing café/bakery around the corner is a perfect spot for a yummy snack. I would stay here again.