Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Richard

A thoughtful and spacious place to stay

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
The pros: Great amount of space, excellent vaulted ceilings Prompt breakfast service - starting early They gave us access to a room even after checkout, as we had little children who needed to nap before our flight -- so generous and it made all the difference. The cons: Spotty internet access in our room No curtain on a decorative window in our room - tough with little ones A bit dated and in need of a "touch up"
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Terrible hotel, disinterested staff

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: 10 minute walk to a metro station
The staff looked bored and were very unhelpful. The facilities were dated and dirty. There was a buffet breakfast but the bread was limited to two slices per person!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value for money

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Great value for money hotel with very friendly staff and super location in center without busy traffic outside.
1 out of 5
by Lamya from La Jolla

Hotel is totally misrepresented

Posted Jan 23, 2016 on Hotels
Shocked that no elevators were available, and we had to carry luggage to third floor. No air conditioning, just fans when we insisted on ventilation. No in-room safe as advertised, no premium bedding, rooms are in terrible condition (rubber bands to close closets), no hair dryers as advertised. Windows didn't close. Breakfast was terrible: bread as hard as rock, milk was off, coffee had been re-heated. Building has a lot of potential but in desperate need of remodeling
1 out of 5
by Lamya from SoCal

Hotel was totally misadvertised

Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Hotels
Total misrepresentation of the hotel. Not as advertised. No elevators and we were on third floor! No in room or office safe as advertised. Closets closed with rubber bands. Breakfast was inedible: stale bread, milk was off, etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not coming back to this hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2015
Pros: Location
I first booked 2 nights in this hotel with Expedia and about 5 days before changed to only 1 night because of changes in my traveling plans. Expedia sent me an email confirming my changes with the reservation but my credit card still got charged 2 nights and the hotel staff told my I have to deal with Expedia about the refund and Expedia told me the hotel is responsible for the refund and I have to call them. I don't really care about the money at this point but I'm very disappointed with both Expedia and the Hotel. The hotel's location is great next to metro Baquedano and that's probably the only good thing about it. If you stay in the first floor is very loud and you can also hear everything from the floor above you. Not enough towels and the bathroom light wasn't working properly. I stayed two times before in this place but I don't know what happened to it.
2 out of 5
by MT from chicago

Filthy carpets, very worn out room

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Gut rehab the entire place. Burn the 100 year old stained carpet!
Location: Walking distance to all the cafes and bars near Cerro Cristobal.
The carpets were so stained and old and disgusting that I kept flip flops on except when in the gross shower. Worn out room, stuffy, mediocre bed. No air conditioning, just a broken fan. Wifi did not work (none of the 3 passwords worked) and the staffer just said, "Oh, Sorry." Pretty sure she just needed to reset a button or find the correct passwords, as their very slooooow free computer's internet was just fine. Breakfast was cookies, toast, cheese, coffee- basic. Good location near the metro, but I would suggest finding somewhere else at this price point. We had stayed in a fantastic apart-hotel our first time through and it was fantastic, but unfortunately those places do not store your luggage during the day if you have a late flight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2014 by HOTEL BALEARES, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. We deeply regret that your stay in Hotel Baleares was not satisfactory. I tell him that we have place to store luggage, should only apply. Breakfast is fairly complete, including tea, coffee grain, free juice consumption, bread (3) Seasonings, salami and cheese, crackers if desired, milk, cereal, yogurt. A seasonal fresh fruit and half moons. Regarding mantemción, we are finalizing the works of maintenance of the hotel and its rooms, as well as reviewing the wifi also.
5 out of 5
by dave

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2013 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by OVERMIND from Lima, Peru

Affordable hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2012
Pros: Price.
Cons: The breakfast incident.
Location: Easy access to subway, but maybe too close to night life in Santiago.
I arrived late to the hotel, but there were no problems for checking in. The hotel is actually an old large house, so the floors are made of wood and they sound when you walk on them. Of course, not a lot of noise, but you could slightly hear when someone was walking around your room. A friend told me later that the hotel was located near an area of intense nocturnal activity. I did not notice since I arrived late both nights I stayed there and went directly from the car to my room. There was one minor incident: on a Sunday, the guys that were responsible for serving breakfast did not show up at the hotel, so the recepcionist had to take care of that. All things considered, it served the purpose of having a clean hotel for spending the nights in Santiago at an affordable price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mound mpls

baleares

Posted Feb 25, 2012 on Hotels
nice staff always willing to help good location for seeing alot of the city