Ratings based on 406 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted May 18, 2017
It was great; just as expected. Only complaint is that breakfast isn't included.
5 out of 5
by tambee

weekend stay

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
We really enjoyed the relaxing feel that was found. The staff was helpful and nice. They tried to help in any way they could.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Nice remodel but rooms are noisy

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: The location. The lobby has undergone a nice remodel but we really only spent 2 nights sleeping - we did not spend any extra time at the hotel.
Cons: I would alert guests at check-in that construction is going on on all the room levels. Train staff to rectify guest's concerns quickly - and call them
Location: The location is fantastic for the "historic" district of Provo, very easy walk to shops, restaurants etc.
First time at this Marriott, and the renovations to the common areas are very nice. There is construction/renovations going on on the opposite side of the building, but the hotel is still old-style, with thin walls and very small rooms. I interacted with two "trainee" staff who were very polite - one at check in and the other the next morning, along with a member of staff to whom I complained about my noisy 3rd floor room. The air conditioning unit not only hummed when off, when it was on it was much noisier and had an intermittent "scratching" sound. Also, at 8am Saturday morning someone started hammering which woke me up and continued off and on until for about 40 minutes until we left for the day. The staff member said he would look into moving us and/or getting an engineer to fix the air con and would let us know when we got back (we were on our way out for the day). Unfortunately we didn't get back until quite late. I was expecting a message to let me know if any arrangements had been made but apparently there were none. So another uncomfortable and noisy night. In the morning I was awoken at 6am by the next room's alarm clock! At check out I met the same trainee from the previous morning who assured me she would have a manager look into it and let me know what they could do - either as a refund or reward points. Still haven't heard anything. Overall the staff were very nice, very apologetic about my two bad nights but in the end ineffective in dealing with it (so far).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Provo, Utah

Nice and clean but does not accommodate to everyon

Posted Feb 12, 2017
The room was nice and clean. The refrigerator made a terrible loud buzzing sound that made it hard to fall asleep. The TV was barely able to be seen from the bed. They do not accommodate smokers. Their smokers area was 2 uncovered benches that we couldn't use because it was raining. I asked a staff member where I could smoke since it was raining and they directed me to the ash trays in the parking garage, only to be told by another staff member I need to go elsewhere. They need to accommodate everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Provo

Perfect Wedding Night Suite

Posted Jan 5, 2017
The hotel staff were professional and personable. They got us a goodie bag with tons of free treats, just to celebrate our wedding! The room was cozy and the other amenities were perfect.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
Main issue was noise from construction, rust water in sink and toilet
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Provo Utah

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel room was clean but water pipes in tub and sink had dirt and rust coming out of them, I'm going to assume it was because of the construction that was going on in probably every room around us. Due to construction, it was very loud! I can't say it was worth the price I had paid. Pretty disappointed with Marriott.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super Unhelpful Staff

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: good location
I am a pretty frequent traveller and just kicked off a project in Provo that will have me in the area for ~40 nights over the next 3-4 months. The staff here were EXTREMELY unhelpful in trying to change my reservation. I know it sucks booking through Expedia, but I was a loyal customer whose business they lost. I tried to change my reservation while I was there because we were leaving a day early and the response was: I'm sorry there is nothing we can do. That is total BS. There is something you could do, you just chose not to. Traveling as much as I do, I want to stay somewhere where they value me and my business.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by John Garfield, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting me know about your situation. I will speak with the staff concerning your reservation and ensure that we are following the Expedia rules & regulations. Sending comments like yours help up to become a better hotel. Also, as you are here for 40 nights please stop by and introduce yourself. It is always good to meet our long-term guests. Best John Garfield General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hollywood, Florida

Nice hotel and very friendly staff.

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Orbitz
Every time you came in or out of the hotel the staff would say hi or have a great day, or ask if you needed anything. That really makes me feel special. The lounge area was great to watch a game on the big screen TV.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty and hair in both beds

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Upon late arrival, 2 guys in the parking garage being obnoxious. Once in the front desk was quick and attentive. When we got to our room it appeared clean until my daughters pulled back sheets to inspect (part of our routine when traveling) hair and wrinkled sheets. Clearly they didn't change them. We pulled them off and because everyone was exhausted they used our pillows and blankets and we threw theirs on the ground. Next day, nobody came to change them. Everything. Sat on the ground. I had to ask them at 8pm to please clean our room. Housekeeping was irritated with US!!! Weird. No tip for this hotel other than to say CLEAN YOUR ROOMS. GROSS!! $189.00 a night and I shouldn't have to ask for things to get cleaned.