Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Yet Another Badly Managed Boutique Hotel

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Cleaning lady
Cons: Hotel management and kitchen staff should be changed and hotel completely needs to renovated to have better sound insulation.
Location: Locking the main hotel door after midnight shows that the hotel is located in an insecure location.
I stayed in this hotel 6 nights. Usually I don't make comments about the hotels I stayed but my experience in this hotel was a great disappointment so I needed to make comments to inform other travelers who may consider this hotel for booking. My observations about this hotel are as below. 1. When I arrived at the hotel, I was charged with 3 day breakfast price without asking my agreement. Later I decided to leave the hotel after three nights. The hotel's first reaction was that I should make my booking change through Expedia and the hotel has nothing to do with the Expedia bookings. When I checked Expedia booking change/cancellation policy, I saw that Expedia is nothing to do with this process and change/cancellation policy is only applicable for no show-up cases and changing the booking dates after check-in is totally up to the hotel. 2. Breakfast was limited and low quality. Most of the food was not looking fresh and they looked like leftovers from the day before. Especially bread, fruits, etc. The breakfast room was smelly. 3. Most importantly, there is no sound isolation at all in the hotel. I was almost hearing everything in the corridor and other rooms. Television, baby crying, door slamming, etc. 4. Hotel personnel locks the main door after midnight so whenever you need to exit/enter the hotel after midnight you need to wait for a clerk to come and open the door. 5. Hotel price is expensive for its quality and location. Location is at a strange place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful historical Odessa hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: everything! except..... the bed was a bit too soft for my tastes, the bandwidth was sufficient on the wireless, nothing negative to say!
Cons: nothing really, and this comes from a traveling princess! TIP: email the hotel when you will arrive and have them send you a taxi. otherwise, THEFT
Location: close to everything, restaurants nearby are exquisite, personal services are excellent and very moderately priced, i.e., hair and nail feet care, etc.
I really loved the hotel, from the start to the finish, really concerned with your well being and taking care of your every whim. Super restaurant with well prepared local cuisine, I will stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Surpassed all expectations

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: A lot of great restaurants nearby, also hotel has restaurant and room service for reasonable price.
Very clean, modern, well equipped, comfy bed and pillows. They thought about every detail in the room, for example, few levels of curtains so bright sun will not disturb sleep; kettle, set of teas, mini bar and room service - so you can stay and enjoy your evening in the room. The friendliest staff ever and ready to meat any of your requests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

If you're in Odessa you must stay at this hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Absolutely fabulous in every way! Superb staff, clean comfy rooms--best hotel I've ever stayed in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful place to stay

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: The rooms are beautiful French design. The hallways are beautifully decorated. Attention to detail in everything about this place. Staff: Excellent
I stayed here 3 years ago and was so impressed. Well, it's only gotten better ) Thank You Alexandra for for all your help in my travel plans. I really appreciate everything you did and my travels went smoothly. It's people like you and all the staff that will bring me back in the future.
5 out of 5
by Tomasz from Wrocław

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
Located in a very center but very calm . Very good service and restaurant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Best hotel experience that I had so far.

Posted Jun 1, 2016
This was the best hotel experience that I ever had. Staff pays attention to every little detail. Rooms are decorated with amazing taste. Hotel restaurant is the best in the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2016
Pros: HOTEL AMAZING ---- RESTAURANT NEEDS TO IMPROVE
Cons: RESTAURANT LETS HOYEL DOWN - MORE SELECTIONS /BETTER STAFF / BETTER DRINK SELECTION --JUST A START
Location: ENVIRONS AND SURROUNDS BEST
I HAVE BEEN A VISITOR TO ODESSA MANY TIMES - I WILL ALWYS STAY AT THE FREDRIC KOKLEN. IT IS SUPERB LOCATION BEST SERVICE. THE RESTAURANT HOWEVER COULD BE BETTER
4 out of 5
by Saubhagya from Staten Island New York

good for comfort,service and food..Poor vibe

Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels
stay was quite comfortable, service was excellent, staff was very courteous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

One more time!

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: Very friendly ladies at the front desk!
Cons: Replace TV with a larger panel.
Location: The landscape surrounding the hotel is not the most pleasant one, the pedestrian walkways are ruined as if there is a war going on right now...
This was my 4th or 5th stay at Frederic Koklen Boutique Hotel. Unlike with some other hotels this stay did not change my impressions - it's still a small cozy hotel with decent rooms and friendly staff. This time I stayed in the standard room which is definitely on a smaller side, however the bathroom was large and it had all the amenities including a working AC which is very important to me at all seasons. Flat TV was very-very small though and I would suggest to replace it with a larger flat panel.