Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Communication wasn't easy

Posted Sep 2, 2017
No one there spoke English, so communication was very difficult.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manila

The Best

Posted Feb 24, 2017
The hotel staff was really nice. It was a challenge communicating in English but they assisted us with the best of their ability. The rooms we're superbly clean. The housekeeping staff makes sure to drop by every day to clean the room and give tissues and coffee cups. The food in the hotel restaurant is also very flavorful. Everyone in the hotel was nice, helpful and accommodating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient for transit flight

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
We arrived at 9pm for the plane next morning at 10am, quick check in and out. It is fair to stay a night for transit and it is about 15 mins drive to the Pudong airport. We picked that hotel solely on the location and no other expectation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Bad location but kind staff

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Nice staff and accessible to two subway routes. There are few things besides a couple of restaurants and two mall nearby.
Cons: The breakfast selection could have Western options.
Location: Poor location. Very far from the city center; only good for the cheap ride ~50 yuan to the airport. But horrible if you want to do things in Shanghai.
I speak Chinese so staying here wasn't a hassle, but the staff are not fluent in English, the area is poorly lit, run-down, with few amenities, and the taxi drivers here were anything but friendly until I had one booked to take me to my airport. However I was given a free room change (double beds for a single queen) and the staff were cute and friendly. The dinner and breakfast are not complimentary, and your claim check won't cover it (you need to pay in cash) but despite losing my claim check they fully reimbursed my deposit, and there was a quick checkout. They can also book a taxi for you, but remember all the staff have little to no English, and so you may want to bring a Chinese friend if you don't know any Chinese here. I would recommend other hotels for anything but a layover, or if you want to do business nearby; Chuansha is really far from downtown Shanghai and you will lose time traveling to and from the hotel, especially given the nearby line stops running before 11 pm. But overall, despite noisy guests in other rooms and a distant trek into the city, I had a pleasant experience and paid less than $100 for 3 nights in Shanghai booked from an English website. So for budget travelers I would recommend this chain, or for businesspeople looking for an economical option. There are cheaper, more central hotels if you can search in Chinese, but for English speakers this is a good choice, especially if proximity to Pudong International Airport is a priority.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Convienient

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: I like its convenient location and friendly staff.
Cons: The bathroom was a little slippery and they need a floor mat otherwise it wasn't bad.
Location: Many traditional Chinese restaurants to eat at and subway trains to get around the city.
It was close to the airport and worth the price. You get a decent size room for a reasonable rate and you are close to the airport. I was only in Shanghai for one night for a long layover from the US going to another country. The room had comfortable beds and decent facilities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

nice hotel and staff

Posted Jul 8, 2016
unwanted ad under the door is the only thing we do not like.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

waste

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
The hotel is one large, building-sized ashtray. You'd be better off sleeping on the side streets in a soggy tent with the rats.
4 out of 5
by Jonathan

layover bargain

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Quick and easy Pudong layover experience. $100 RNB taxi ride away from the airport. Front desk called it for me. Good shower, great bed, black out curtains. No English spoken but very courteous staff. Good deal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great room condition but poor wifi and safety.

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
The room was clean and in great condition. Friendly staff. The food in the restaurant was OK. There is free WiFi but it barely worked at all. Unfortunately flyers for sleazy prostitution services were frequently stuck under the door to our room, making the women in our party feel unsafe and afraid to be alone in the hotel.