Ratings based on 983 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Smart clean hotel "close" to airport.

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable, wifi
Location: good for going to the airport
I checked in late and was upgraded to a superior room. The bellboy said "we've given you the first room on this floor" - what I didn't realise until I'd gone to bed was that the lift shaft was on the other side of my room, and I could hear the lifts going up and down. Whilst not intrusive it was noticeable - like a distant plane taking off. Didn't stop me sleeping. Don't kid yourself that this hotel is adjacent to the airport. Its a 20 minute taxi ride. I didn't get a chance to have breakfast, dimmer or use the gym etc.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Good transit hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Room cleanliness, size. Rates fair.
Cons: Some additional English speaking staff
Location: Did not leave the property.
Good hotel close to Pudong airport. Free shuttle to the airport, but very unclear where to find the shuttle TO the hotel. Had to take taxi and was charged far more than proper for a 20 minute ride. The hotel is very nice. Good size rooms with over-sized bathroom. Only downside was the staff (other than front desk) spoke virtually no English. Very challenging unlike what you find in the city proper. Overall, if I were transiting I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gym staff not friendly

Posted Aug 28, 2017
I stayed there for 5 days. The room desing is great. It is little bit far from city and need a taxi in and out. The gym instructor occupy the equipment that I want and chatted with other staff to complain about his manager. He definitely was aware that I was waiting next to him. But he totally ignore that. Bad experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Kelly Qian , Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for choosing Royal International Hotel Shanghai to stay and for taking your valuable time to share with the broader Expedia community, We are sorry to hear your inconvenience at our gym, We will pay more attention our management for the staff, We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. with best regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from la

decent hotel near PVG

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: near airport
Cons: Staff, Breakfast
Location: in residential area, nothing to do around this hotel
There are not many good hotels near PVG when you have a layover. this hotel is about 20 minutes from the airport by taxi. costs around 100yens. The hotel supposedly has a shuttle , but it is only convenience for going to the airport. make sure to inform them one day ahead of your departure time. the hotel is a "Chinese 5 star" , the non-smoking room smells of cigarette. the breakfast not so good. the hotel is in a residential neighborhood, and the way from airport is scary at night!!!! Use this hotel if you are on layover in Shanghai for only one night.
5 out of 5
by peter

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel value for money. But a bit hard to get too
5 out of 5
by Nick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lima

Posted Jun 8, 2017
It is been a pleasure to stay at this beautiful hotel, the room very confy and the breakfast was delicious. The only thing i would like to sayvis that the gym deserve to be bigger and include good music like workout music. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2017 by Guest relations manager Fry, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to share your experience with us. Thank you for your advise for putting music in gym room. Hotel location, convenient transportation, adjacent to Shanghai Pudong International Airport and Shanghai Disney Park, Pudong airport to provide daily shuttle service and Disney shuttle service, at the same time near the rail line 2 Chuansha station, also near the modern commercial plaza and Bailian shopping center shopping and entertainment mall, we sincerely hope that you can feel our warm and thoughtful service to stay. Sincerely look forward to your visit again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Dirty

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on CheapTickets
On many occasions my room was open without my permission or knowledge
5 out of 5
by Kenneth

Place I would love to stay again

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
It was Wonderful ! Would recommend it as 5 *****. Room was EXCELLENT , food choices were great. Staff was exceptional! Made our final night in China memorable
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
Staff are friendly and breakfast is delicious.