Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Central location, right price, lovely architecture

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: The beds were very comfortable. Breakfast, included in our room rate, was quite good. Helpful English speaking staff.
Cons: Rooms overlooking the first interior courtyard can be noisy.The bathroom was extremely small.
Location: http://mib.puebla.gob.mx/en/- the Museum of Baroque Art is a world class example of modern architecture by the Japanese architect Toyo Ito.
Our family only stayed one night.- We were a side-trip from Mexico City for the express reason of visiting the new Museo Internacional del Barroco (http://mib.puebla.gob.mx/en/). The museum is terrific and has an incredible restaurant, about 20 minutes by cab from the Casona San Antonio. By staying downtown we had the opportunity to visit the Zocolo on Three Kings Day eve. Stunning and extraordinarily tasteful holiday lights. Beautiful colonial city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traditional feel with modern amenities

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: The bed, the shower, the breakfast and the location.
Location: The Turibus double decker tour was great - they have earphones so that you get the english version of the history of Puebla.
The hotel is well situated - only 3 blocks from the Zocalo. The hotel has a very traditional feel but the rooms are modernly equipped. The room we stayed in was Alamo 11 which is at the back of the hotel - it's quite small but very comfortable. The best thing was after a cold tour of the city on the double decker bus we came back to one of the best showers - hot and great pressure. The beds are comfortable and come made with good linens and pillows. The breakfast in the morning was a great added bonus. The staff were knowledgeable with enough english so that we could communicate quite well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Cons: Quality of room
Location: Walking distance of city centre
The premium room that we had booked did not meet expectations. Was dark, poorly ventilated & had a distincty musty odor. After staying one night, we contacted personnel at Expedia & checked out the very next morning which was sooner than what had been planned. Front desk person most unhelpful & charged us for two nights without our consent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz

Great experience

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: Location, comfortable room (especially the bed), friendly staff
Location: Terrific location 4 blocks from the historic center of Puebla (cathedral, zocalo) . Lots of restaurants, shops, museums in easy walking distance.
Renovated 6 years into a very attractive and comfortable hotel. Great location just 4 blocks away from the beautiful zocalo. Extremely friendly and helpful staff, very comfortable bed, nice shower. The thick, high walls of this 17 century building make it very quiet despite being close to a busy street. A full, very good, basic breakfast (coffee/tea, fruit/juice, eggs, beans, chilaquiles, bread) is included in the price of the hotel. We didn't have dinner in the restaurant but the menu looked good and we noticed non-guests eating there. We stayed downstairs off a pleasant patio where you could sit and talk, read, use the free wi-fi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Perfect location

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Small quiet hotel with a professional, well-trained staff. Close to zocalo. Unlike many hotels, the food is excellent. Regional specialties at reasonable prices. Comfortable rooms and a small gym. Stayed 4 nights and then went back for 3 more after a trip to Oaxaca. Why change when the experience is excellent?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eric from San Francisco, CA

Colonial hotel near main square

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: Very good location, quiet room, comfortable beds, free breakfasts.
Cons: Room ventilation.
Location: Main square, cathedral, museums. Try the fresh churros on the way to the main square!
We thought of staying at Casa Reyna, but decided to choose Casona San Antonio because we wanted to be close to downtown and the zócalo. The hotel is quite pleasing, with two courtyards, one for dining and another one for hanging out. The room we had was in the second courtyard, first floor, and it was very quiet. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The problem was that with the thick walls and lack of windows (it is a colonial building, after all), the room was stuffy and smelled moldy, so we had to air it out every time we came in. The room had a deodorizer that would activate every so often and perfume the room, which was disagreeable. We moved the deodorizer to the bathroom instead. But if you want a quiet, dark room for a good night's sleep, this hotel works well. And if you want to be close to downtown, you'll be just three blocks away from the zócalo and the cathedral.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by LHdz from Mexico

Nice and well located hotel in the historic area

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Its comfort, location and people.
Location: Visit the Zocalo and Cathedral.
We enjoyed the location and architecture of this small hotel in the historic downtown of Puebla. The people that works on it is really friendly and has a great service attitud.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul Lazar from World

Near everythings you need to see in Puebla.

Posted Nov 13, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in Puebla!

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: Very Quiet location on a little traveled side street, 3 block walk to Zocolo.
Truly, a great hotel experience! The building is a blend of Old World Spanish Colonial and Modern Furnishings. The staff was warm, friendly efficient and helpful,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by agutieo from Mexico city

a great surprise

Posted Jul 17, 2013
Pros: everything
Cons: Service times at the restaurant could improve a bit
Location: It´s prefectly located within walking distance to the mayor attractions
It´s a fantastic hotel, well located, with great facilities and friendly service. I would recomend it without a doubt