Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Evanston IL

Loaded with character

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: Location, architecture, charm. Room was comfortable, staff friendly and helpful.
Cons: There initially was no heat in the room, but a space heater was provided. Would be nice to have some drawers to unpack your stuff.
Location: Fascinating city, much to do, all w/in walking distance, except for Cholula - take a tour. Urieta Talavera factory a must. Sun. concert at square.
This location is great - just a couple of blocks from the main square. The room was very large, with lots of architectural interest. One drawback was the lack of an exterior window in the room, but there was a skylight that let in a little bit of sun. When we were there (late January), it got cold at night, and there was no heat in the room, but when we asked, we were given a space heater which solved the problem. The lobbies and common areas are beautiful, and there is a rooftop deck, which is great when the sun is out, and provides some nice views.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Sincerely Sara Perez Loyalty, Hotel Management
Dear Elizabeth It is a pleasure for us to read that your stay in our hotel was of your total comfort and pleasure. The "Peregrina" room where you stayed as you comment is full of architectural beauty. For the location of the hotel, architecture and construction type you will feel colder inside the hotel, however for our guests to have a dream stay we have portable heaters As you mention we have a completely central location, where one can access tourist places on foot and enjoy all the beauty of the city of Puebla. We appreciate all your comments as well allowing us to improve in all aspects within the hotel. We hope to have your valuable presence again to continue enjoying the majestic beauty of "El Sueño Hotel & Spa"
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico City / Canada

Beautiful hotel boutique next to Puebla's Zócalo

Posted Dec 22, 2016
We were expecting an old hotel, as it is just in downtown Puebla, but we were surprised since we walked in. The staff is super kind. Our room was beautiful "Frida". A cozy place with all the necessary for us to enjoy our stay. We recommend this place a 100%!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2016 by fidelizacion@elsueno-hotel.com, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for dreaming about us and we hope that in the next visit to puebla we will take into account, since it will be a pleasure to attend to you.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great stay!

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Great place to stay. Comfy beds. Staff was amazing. Water from sink smelled a little like sulfur. Otherwise everything else was perfect
Cons: Slight Sulfur smell in water from sink. No problems with shower
Location: Walkable distance to restaurants museums zocalo.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

chill vibes !

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Cleaning at room was not that cool.. a lot of dust, hair and the bath tub and shower was a bit to rusty. Service, food, suite and vibes were on point ! Dankee
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico

Nice hotel but our room was very small.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Helpful, very responsive staff and great location. Quiet street. Bed comfort.
Cons: Room size could be increased with at least 2 comfortable chairs, pillows could be much, much, much softer, noise level could be significantly reduced.
Location: 2 1/2 blocks from the heart of Puebla. Good restaurants on the same street as hotel.
Hotel is conveniently located to zocalo and most interesting places to visit in Puebla. At the sacrifice of room size (at least our room), there is much too much space devoted to the patio (covered), restaurant/bar, eating areas, spa, small swimming pool and rooftop. The dozen or so rooms are dark and, if located to close to the front desk or beginning of the covered patio, noise is the order of the day. The staff, however, is courteous and helpful and the location is right. Just ask for a room away from the beginning of the indoor patio and the front desk.
3 out of 5
by Emma

So so experience

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
Lower rooms are dark and dank, no windows, poor circulation. Roof terrace is unfurnished; spa and fitness areas were dirty and unusable. Front desk staff not particularly helpful or knowledgable about cultural activities. Breakfast is terrific as is the wait staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by Irving, Hotel Management
Dear Emma: Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. I’m really sad to hear that your experience with us was not what you expected. , I’d like to point out that most if not all of your complaints can be solved with a simple call to the front desk. All of our rooms have different concepts, each with unique decor and furniture. If you had that felling about the light in the room was not enough for you, you could have asked for more lamps, and we would have gladly provided some for you. Unfortunately, we cannot help you in any way if you don’t say a word to us. You only had to make a quick call to the front desk, and every request would have been resolved at the moment. Even if you wanted to change rooms, we would have gladly done it, subject to availability Our spa Located in the big house terrace and offering an unusual view of the Angelopolitana Cathedral, it offers: Open air Jacuzzi Solarium Steam room Shower 2 massage cabins with a selection of more than 20 beauty and relaxation treatments You as a guest can use our facillites with prior reservation . At the moment our jacuzzi that it is located outside is out of service. All these maintenance work to offer you the best quality in our services Our staff is in constant training, it's a shame that our front desk departmnet could not give you the information that you wanted and we could not satisfy your expectations. It is a pleasure to read that our breakfasts were to you liking! with unique dishes created by our chef will not find anywhere else, since each dish is prepared at the moment with that passion and dreams to offer freshness and quality to each of our customers Remember that all your comments will help us to grow every day, and hope decide to return once again with us to give you the quality service you deserve. It is a pleasure Nayeli Gonzalez Fidelización
5 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York City

Low Key Elegance

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Pros: A number of things made us enjoy our stay here: Low key but attentive staff, very good food, a cozy and friendly atmosphere, and lovely room.
Location: the hotel is centrally located, just a block away from a museum, three blocks from the zocalo, and still located on a quiet street.
We didn't know what to expect so we were pleasantly surprised by how lovely El Sueno was. It was a small hotel but did not feel claustrophobic. We loved having the Jacuzzi and the steam room on the same floor as our room. And the staff was genuinely friendly. We would stay here again were we to revisit Puebla.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2016 by nayeli, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Pepe Thank you for taking the time to write a sweet review about your recent stay with us; it is a pleasure to know you had an amazing EL Sueño Hotel + spa experience. As you said, we are located very close to the main square (Zocalo) and we are near to so many different places that are attractive here in Puebla city, and all our guests can go walking. Just like our rooms, our breakfasts are also influenced by “Dreamers”, matching each dish with the personality and origin of each Dreamer, which makes them unique in lots of ways. We are glad to know that you’ve found the view that characterizes every suite of our resort as unbelievable. We are also delighted to read that you’ve enjoyed the facilities like the jacuzzi and the steam room. We would certainly be glad to have you back for another round of a wonderful stay. It is a pleasure Nayeli González Fidelización
5 out of 5
by Denise from Naperville. IL usa7

Great stay

Posted Mar 4, 2016 on Hotels
One night prior tof our return ho5. Staff was very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2016 by Irving Camacho, Hotel Management
Dear Denise. We really appreciate your kind words. We hope to see you soon. Remember that here you are more than welcome. For us our main goal is to satisfy each one of our guests and we are always ready to make you feel like home. It is a pleasure
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Beautiful Hotel with Excellent Location

Posted Jan 21, 2016
The staff was welcoming and very attentive. The hotel facilities are beautiful and has a great restaurant with perfect view of the city's main square (zócalo) church tower. It is perfectly located in walking distance to many beautiful places. The only inconvenience I had was with my room because the noise caused by the restaurant was heard clearly while I was in my bed. Also, there was a water pipe that would even wake me up in the middle of the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2016 by sara Pérez Fidelizacion , Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Ptr thank you very much for the time that you put in this comment and for your kind words. For us this is very important, and our main goal it’s to satisfy each one of our guest day by day. As you said, we are located very close to the main square (Zocalo) and we are near to many different places that are attractive here in Puebla city, and all our guests can go walking. We really sorry about the noise you experience in our facilities. All our rooms are different and unique. We have walls that minimize the sound from the outside to ensure that our guests have a pleasant rest. Allow me express that our reception it is open 24/7 to assist you because we want to make you feel like home. We hope to see you soon once again. We really want that you give us the opportunity to offer you a pleasant stay in El Sueño. It is a pleasure