Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dissapointed

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Wc not well clean. Staff at restaurant very very nice. Staff at front desk not very helpfull about this matter and another request.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

not really a 5 star hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Location, ambience.
Cons: everything! especially bleach the sheets, change the sheets, bleach the shower room and bleach the grout! Disgusting! Change the staffs' attitude!
Location: great location center of everything.
was prepared what to expect since the reviews were iffy but still gave it a shot since it was at a great price, great location and 5 star hotel rating. Well, the first night, I found hair all over my pillow, bedsheets and had to move to another room. Pity since I really liked my first room. The girl was more than helpful and apologetic but helped me move. The second room seemed ok, until I tried using the safe - broken. And then I decided to inspect the sheets and the pillow. Bloodstains. I called the girl again and she was shocked. She moved me to a third room. This room was ok...until you went to the shower stall...black mold all over the tiles and grout. I was so tired - it was past 11:00 pm that I just decided not to complain anymore. Next morning I went downstairs to complain. The person on duty while nice, couldnt care less about the black mold, and never mentioned anything about the two room changes. And blamed the laundry service for dirty sheets and hair on sheets. (I didnt bother retorting) Next morning I went down for breakfast and the server - old guys - from the get go declared 'tips not included in your free breakfast!'. Ok, I know that already, but when I handed him a 50 peso bill and asked for 30 pesos back - I was alone and 20 pesos is more than generous as tip for a free breakfast - he seemed indignant. What attitude! So, 5 star hotel??? look at my pics and you be the judge.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location - nice aesthetics

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: More rooms with windows & 2 beds. Evening staff was not very responsive to requests, but morning staff more so.
Location: Only 2 blocks from the Zocalo, lots of restaurants and museums, churches very close by.
This hotel did not work out for me, as there were no windows in one of the few rooms with 2 beds, consequently pretty dark & uninviting. Nice updates, but did not like the panel in the bathroom allowing others to see one doing "personal" hygiene. Internet was very spotty in the room as well. Shower & bathroom sink did not drain well.
5 out of 5
by Arturo from San Antonio

Modern conveniences but old flavor decoration.

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
I was very pleased with the way the hotel was remodeled inside while keeping a flavor of the old Puebla. This building dates back to the XVII Century.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and hotel, but staff sucks.

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
Overall this hotel is in a fantastic location. This hotel would be top notch if they had better staff. The night shift/early morning front desk staff were awful. Rude and totally unfriendly. Didn't even have the courtesy to greet guest or offer assistance. They had attitude! However, in the restaurant an older gentleman "Luis" was the friendliest greatest waiter you could ever have. He ought to be used to train the rest of the staff on how to treat guest. This hotel needs to hire more people like Luis..
4 out of 5
by Rhett

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Nice hotel, no A/C

Posted Mar 5, 2016
From the moment we entered the hotel, we experience the real authentic hospitality
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Great Hotel at the zocalo in Puebla, Mexico

Posted Feb 19, 2016 on CheapTickets
Pros: We liked the architecture, the staff, the restaurant, our room, the location. After a few hours out on the plaza it was fun to go back to the hotel.
Cons: It's was all around great. We wouldn't have wanted anything to be different.l
Location: Puebla is a treasure trove of colonial Mexican history. The old culture is everywhere you turn. Architecturally, it's a feast for the eyes.
The hotel is a beautiful work of colonial architecture built long ago on the edge of the zocalo. It's located right in the middle of everything. The hotel has been remodeled to be fully modern. Our room was spacious and completely comfortable. The staff is wonderful. The area is perfectly safe. The zocalo is the heart of the Historic Center of Puebla. We were surrounded by gorgeous churches, fascinating museums, a great variety of shops, live music, and everywhere we went the people were kind and friendly. The sight seeing was so good, and the hotel was such a treat that we stayed for eight nights. We were out and about every day, and still we didn't get to do everything we wanted to do.
5 out of 5
by Armando from CHULA VISTA, CA

GREAT

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
GREAT HOTEL NEXT TO EVERYTHING THAT SOMEONE NEEDS TO HABE FUN AND CONDUCT BUSINESS
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Lovely, colonial feel

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Even though there was a band on the terrace, our room was quiet and comfortable. Spacious bathrooms and guest rooms. Enjoyed the restaurant menu for its simplicity. Couldn't figure out how to use the TV.