Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice hotel, but a few problems

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Room was nice with lots of space. Comfy bed. Easy access to I-25.
Cons: 1. The pool was closed for repair, but there was no notification given to Expedia (or members) 2. The card reader on the exterior door I was told to
Location: RR Museum, County Museum, Steelworks Museum
Very nice hotel, great staff, but a few problems: 1. The pool was closed for repair, but there was no notification given to Expedia (or members) 2. The card reader on the exterior door I was told to use did not function, causing me to haul my luggage around 3. The hallway was filled with paint smell for the pool painting - apparently no on checked or did anything about it until I identified the problem 4. I noticed a refridgerator in some rooms but not in mine. Htoel clerks said some fooms have them, some don't, but failed to indicate one was available on request, as stated in the Expedia information on the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth , Australia

Hotel is only basic,no fridge or microwave

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Rooms larger than normal
Cons: Free breakfast means FREE
Breakfast is not free unless you get there at 6:30 as after 7:00am it costs $5, pool was closed Have stayed at nicer hotels for less money
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The three star hotel that feels like a one star

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: We ate at dunkin donuts since there was no free breakfast as advertised.
The hotel was advertised as a three star, but feels like a one star. The paint was peeling everywhere,water stains on ceiling. The shower was only half clean with hair in the shower. The non smoking room smelled like smoke. The staff was curt. The lightning in the hallways was dim. There was no free breakfast even though it was advertised. The pool was closed for the season. We didn't actually have a bad experience here, we just expected a lot more for a three star. The next night we stayed in a hotel rated 2.5 stars and it was worlds better, making this poor hotel seem even more dismal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redondo Beach

Descent hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Ok hotel with a great breakfast and pool area. Great for families.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I feel duped!

Posted Sep 26, 2016
This was an absolutely horrible experience. I normally use Orbitz to book my trips but a friend talked me into Expedia. I booked a mystery deal believing that this was over a 3 star hotel and it most definitely was not. It was extremely old, only 1 lamp in the room worked, the toilet had awful stains on and in it, the complimentary shampoo bottle was partially used, the carpet was dingy and duct taped down in certain areas... I could go on and on. The worst part of it is that I was traveling with my 18 year old niece and we did not feel safe at this location. The outside door did not lock like it was supposed to so anyone could come and go as they pleased. Half of the property is hotel and half is motel so we were heckled by all the men sitting outside their doors drinking each time we would come and go. Directly across the parking lot was an even sketchier hotel. I voiced my concerns to both Expedia and the hotel and was told there was nothing they could do. The Expedia representative suggested that I move to another location and just eat theb$300 I would lose. That was not an option for us. I am extremely disappointed in Expedia and the fact that this trip was negatively affected because of incorrect advertising of a mystery property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver area

One great stay

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: It was a clean room, comfortable bed and a great shower. I have owned a janitorial service in the Denver area for 20 years I say clean room!!
Cons: New lamp shade in room 208. My room was not ready at 3pm. Neither was a major crises for me though.
Location: The drive to Canon City and Salida is beautiful!! Royal Gorge is really worth the trip. River is a must do (great pizza)
I have stayed there many times in the past, but not for several years. I read the reviews and debated about trying it. I did for old times sake. It was great. I had a great time at the bar. Talked with another man in the same profession. We spent about one and a half hours tradeing traveling salesman stories. The bartender, Anna I think, had a great personality and attentitive to the costumers. Food was excellent at the bar and the morning breakfast. I asked about the bad reviews. They told me that last year and the first of this year there was some problems. They said they have fixed most of them and are working on the rest. I give them an A for the effort. I will definitely stay there when I am in the area!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and quiet.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Bar with a short food menu within the facility.
The continental breakfast was better than average. There is an indoor pool, a bar and plenty of parking. Staff was excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel at a decent price.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Price, room was clean, breakfast was good.
Cons: Some paint and new carpeting would go a long way.
A little drab but the room was clean, the price was good and they had a pretty good included breakfast.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

No hot water for two days!

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: The staff was courteous and seemed to be truly embarassed about the water situation.
Cons: Hot water would have been nice.
I stayed at this hotel to attend a conference; I don't think I would have chosen to stay here otherwise. Although the staff was pleasant, the catering folks were thirty minutes late setting up our lunch buffet on Friday, which caused all the rest of the day's events to be rolled back. Saturday morning I turned on the water for my shower and was unable to get any hot water. When I called the front desk, I was told that there was no hot water in any of the rooms and they were working to restore the hot water heaters. Our morning session started without anyone having had a chance to shower (except for those who were brave enough to join the "polar bear club") and when we adjourned for lunch, we were told that ALL water to the hotel was being shut off from 12 to 4. Another guest who was not part of our group said that there had been no hot water on Friday morning either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean hotel!

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: comfortable room. Very nice complimentary hot breakfast in the morning.
Hotel was very comfortable and clean. Surprisingly nice hot breakfast in the morning. Evening staff (check-in) could have been a little friendlier and welcoming. Morning staff, very accommodating and friendly.