Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by John from London

Santander stopover

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Nice location for a stopover the hotel is nice but a bit lacking in atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast, Australia

Great hotel with modern rooms, central in town

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: Excellent location, within walking distance of whole town.
Cons: Floor heating to be turned off in spring!
Location: Great walking track the other side of the bridge and beside river.
We had a very large room with twin double beds, which were comfortable. Two opening windows and very modern ensuite. All really good. Had a comfortable stay.
3 out of 5
by Paul from UK

Would be great in summer

Posted Dec 23, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel bar not open, boring out of season
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

We were hoping for something more special.

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: The staff were friendly. The Spa area was well mantained.
Cons: Te deco was dated, the pool outside unheated the food average but overpriced. There was a noisy road and we could hear the staff in the morning carryi
Location: Puente viesgo is famous for the Cuevas del Castillo, our son was doing a Spanish immersion course with a family near by and there are many walks too.
After several days touring the north of Spain and having a great experience in several 'posadas' and hotels we thought we would treat ourselves at the Balneario but we were not impressed with the room, a bit crammed and the bed was not that comfortable wither and no bath ! the deco was dated, the pool outside unheated the food average but overpriced the staff nice and friendly and the Spa area as good as any others we have been to but again overpriced. There was a noisy road and we could hear the staff in the morning carrying plates and making a lot of noise, it was not a quiet 'balneario' we will not go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Spa hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Spa and swimming pool. Very comfortable room.
Cons: Breakfast was only average.
Location: Convenient for Santander, trips to the beach and natural park and exploring the local area.
Excellent spa and outdoor swimming pool. Good restaurant for dinner but the breakfast was fairly average.
4 out of 5
by YW

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Thomas from Florida

Small village with nice facility. Cave paintings!!

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Very close to caves. Nice hotel facility at very reasonable cost. Hotel restaurant was excellent for dinner (but meal was expensive).
Cons: Staff wasn't particularly helpful and didn't seem to understand (or care) whether we had wireless connection, issues with our bill, etc.
Location: Location is rather difficult to find by car (the only way to get there). Make sure you have reliable maps. Don't trust directions on website.
We stayed at this hotel because we toured the cave paintings on the nearby mountain (Castillo). Caves were excellent and one of the few places you can actually enter the caves (most now only allow entry to a model of the cave or digital virtual tour). Not especially friendly to English speakers - we had non-fluent Spanish speakers, but didn't help much. Location is rather remote with poorly marked maps and roads under construction (travelled by car). We're good with directions and maps and spent a fair amount of time lost. We had GPS but was limited. Phone directions with staff not very useful. If were to do again, would try to arrive early for cave tour (we arrived late afternoon) then leave the area to stay closer to Bilboa. If you wish to hike the lovely walking trails and use the (expensive) spa facilities, obviously would stay at the hotel. Just know that it's a very small town with limited restaurants & services.
3 out of 5
by M WILLIS

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2012 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 24, 2011 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Experience - wish we had more time there

Posted Aug 3, 2011 on Hotels
This truly is a resort, not just a hotel. The property is beautiful but be aware it may be a bit tricky to find (especially in the middle of the night). The service was great and there are many available amenities - be aware - the large swimming pools are not simply swimming pools and their use carries a cost (exception being the ground-level pool. This place must have a rich history also but we only had one night and the subsequent morning to explore and enjoy it.