Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Budget Hostal, Friendly Staff, Great Location!

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
This has to be one of the best keep secrets in Madrid. The Hostal Comercial is located on a street that connects the Plaza Mayor area with the Puerta del Sol. It's a hostal, so there is a shared bathroom. If that's not a problem, then this is a wonderful location to use as a base for exploring the city. The owners are friendly and accommodating, and are a great knowledge base for practical questions, like the location of a post office. I had a wonderful trip to Madrid, and much of it is because of staying at this great spot!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe

Clean, Central, safe & cheap.

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
Clean, safe cheap place to stay in the heart of Madrid 2 blocks from Sol metro station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

Great value for money in heart of Madrid

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Room was small but the bed was good and the picture on the back wall made it feel bigger than it was. I had an interior room and it was nice and quiet. The shower is the kind with the hand held shower head and the thing to hang it on so it would stay overhead was broken. That's annoying but I was able to hang it using a hair tie. Whew! The man who owns it was a little stand off ish when I arrived but his wife who I met later was delightful and he warmed up too. It is a great value for the money. If you want luxury, pay for luxury. This was great.
5 out of 5
by Holger from Taipei

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
Great service, friendly, good location, price reasonable.
4 out of 5
by DANPING

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay in Hostal Comercial was decent. While the room was small, it was comfortable enough for the short stay we had there. There was a very small washroom across the hall. One downside is that only one of the two washrooms had a shower, and that was on the other side of the hostel. The location was great for shopping, dining, and walking to different sites around the area. When we were there, it was in the upper 80s (F), so it was very warm in the room at night. We wanted to keep the doors to the outside balcony open, but the room faced a street that was loud throughout the entire night. If I were to stay at this hostel again, I would ask for the air conditioning to be turned on (if the hostel has it) and to stay in a room that doesn't face the loud street. Checking in was easy. We were greeted by a very friendly woman who explained where the washrooms were and how each of the keys worked. I felt safe, as there were two different keys to use to enter the hostel itself. Checking out was easy as well. I just had to let them know the room number.
4 out of 5
by Keith from California

Really Nice!

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
Great overnight stay. Hostal was clean and in a really great location right next to many great places to eat. Very central to all sight seeing in Madrid.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Martin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Centrally placed gem

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
excellently situated for central Madrid. Most things walkable and extremely close to underground station and local train service. Very nice owners and staff.