Ratings based on 206 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oz

Location +++ but . . .

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Close to Plaza Mayor and metro at Sol so easy access to city centre. However, our room was very small: our bed barely fitted in and there was room for only one small chair - which blocked the fridge.
4 out of 5
by Catherine

Great stay in touristy area

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
This place is right in the heart of Sol, super close to the Metro station. Great customer service. Check in is on floor 3. A very sweet, English speaking reception lady originally from Phillippines was there to check us in. She was so nice and accommodating, i.e. at first our heat wasn't working, and she and a maintenance guy came to fix it. I couldn't turn on the microwave, and she came to assist. Unfortunately it didn't work during our stay there, however she let us bring the food upstairs to the check in area and heated it for us. Our room was really cute with a big picture of the Taj Mahal on the wall behind the bed, had a very comfortable bed and bathroom with toilet, towels, hot shower. Bathroom is TINY though, so if you're a bigger person, I don't think this is the place for you. My husband is 5'10" and felt very cramped. Also, the toilet water had a weird smell..but we just closed the door when we were in the room and it was fine. There is daily room cleaning offered. The building elevator is also tiny but does the job. TV channels were often out but who cares, you won't be in the room that much! The room had a cute little balcony facing the street which I went out on and enjoyed. This place is a bit more expensive than some other properties in the area but I really enjoyed it and would still recommend. Tip: 2 seconds down the street is a very convenient 24 hour mini-mart where we often stopped to get drinks/snacks after late night partying.
4 out of 5
by Ashley

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stay

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
Central location, a few minutes walk from Plaza del Sol, also close to several metro stations. Room was not too big but livable and clean. Also has a nice common room to make friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Right now the centre

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Great place in the centre of Madrid. The room was adequate. Our own bathroom and small balcony. It was small but clean and well serviced daily. We loved being so close to town and will certainly stay again if we are in town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Centrally Located and Excellent!

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
This is a hostel, so you go in with low expectations - and you're immediately blown away. The "one-star" accommodations are on par with some places I've seen rated three stars. The common area is wood panel. There's an aquarium and couches. Yes, the room is small, but it's well laid-out with all of the comforts you expect: ensuite bathroom with shower, desk, free Wi-Fi, good lighting, hangers for clothes, and even an in-room safe. It's also decorated, and there's even a small balcony. Everything is clean, and there's daily service on the rooms. Then there's the location. This place is maybe 100 yards/meters from both the Plaza del Sol, where you'll find performance art at almost all hours and the Sol Metro station, and the Plaza Mayor, where you'll find free walking tours. Restaurants and shops are close. Madrid is a very walkable city, and this is the heart of where you want to be, for a very low price. If you're coming to Madrid, unless you have difficulty climbing stairs - which would be a deal-breaker, because this place is two flights up from the street level - I recommend that you stay at Hostel Commercial. It's a great fit for friends traveling together or couples looking to get away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huddersfield, West Yorkshire

Good value

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Central location and early check-in.
Location: Lots of places to eat and visit within walking distance
Good, clean room, easy to find location. Staff were pleasant, but glad my son spoke Spanish!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Budget Hostal, Friendly Staff, Great Location!

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
This has to be one of the best keep secrets in Madrid. The Hostal Comercial is located on a street that connects the Plaza Mayor area with the Puerta del Sol. It's a hostal, so there is a shared bathroom. If that's not a problem, then this is a wonderful location to use as a base for exploring the city. The owners are friendly and accommodating, and are a great knowledge base for practical questions, like the location of a post office. I had a wonderful trip to Madrid, and much of it is because of staying at this great spot!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe

Clean, Central, safe & cheap.

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
Clean, safe cheap place to stay in the heart of Madrid 2 blocks from Sol metro station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

Great value for money in heart of Madrid

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Room was small but the bed was good and the picture on the back wall made it feel bigger than it was. I had an interior room and it was nice and quiet. The shower is the kind with the hand held shower head and the thing to hang it on so it would stay overhead was broken. That's annoying but I was able to hang it using a hair tie. Whew! The man who owns it was a little stand off ish when I arrived but his wife who I met later was delightful and he warmed up too. It is a great value for the money. If you want luxury, pay for luxury. This was great.