Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from perth, australi

Central hotel in Madrid

Posted Oct 18, 2017
We stayed at the Hostal on entry and then exit from Spain. On entry they had overbooked and we were taken to an very inferior room in a nearby building. We believed a partial refund or upgrade to their associated hotel should have been offered. Reception at the hostal spoke little English but we found that reception at the associated hotel spoke good English. Rooms were very cramped and the breakfast was heavily overpriced. Rooms were clean and fairly modern with good WiFi.
2 out of 5
by Noah

Moved down the road, slept above a discoteca.

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
There was an issue with the hotel and I was moved to another room in a building down the road. Unfortunately that one was right above El Sol discoteca, so I enjoyed some thumping dance music until 4am. There was also no window in the room which made it feel like a large, claustrophobic closet, though that's more normal in Spain than elsewhere. The wifi also did not work well at all. The staff was friendly and the location within the city is excellent, but those other issues made it a bit less enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small but perfect lodging

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
Was steps from Porta del Sol. Numerous places to eat, view Flamenco dancing, Plaza Mayor and the Mercado for quick food. Will stay again on future trips.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, bad breakfast

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Better breakfast, more options
Great location, room was clean and the bathroom was big enough. The only problem was the breakfast, only one option, a croissant... that was all... More options would have been great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, California

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Also, the air conditioning was excellent!
Cons: Nothing, we loved every thing... I was there with my sister and my brother who is still traveling in Europe
Location: Well, I wish we knew about the Gay Pride Extraganza's going one since it was difficult to get around the city.
We had the best shower in the bathroom in Spain... the elevator worked good and loved the fact that we had a fridge..
5 out of 5
by Serhii

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego, ca

Good central location, rooms clean and quiet

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Good central location, rooms clean, hotel staff friendly
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location but Beds are Bad

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Pros: Clean
Cons: Bed Quality
Location: 10 minute walk away from San Miguel Market which is the ONLY place in Madrid with good food.
We stayed here in November this year for a couple nights. The location is great. The price was decent but we spent an additional night at Hotel Europa on the way back from Barcelona and it was a teeny bit more expensive but SO much better and worth it. The beds are what killed it for me at El Pasaje. I didn't sleep a wink and everytime someone came and went you'd hear the door slam and jump. We actually overpaid the Saturday night. It cost us $180 that night and then $50 the Sunday night. For that kind of cash we could've stayed at Hotel Europa and I would've slept like a baby. I'm sad I didn't have a better experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Caracas

Nice hostel

Posted Jul 10, 2015
It's a nice hostel for a short stay at a low price . Excellent location right in the center of Madrid. Walking distance to a lot of places to visit. I recommend it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, clean bed and bath. Friendly custo

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
Very good location with warm front desk service. Due to flight delay, we reached technically the next day of our reservation. It should have gone as a no-show. However, when called from Madrid airport arrival lounge, the receptionist lady assured thought they are full house, will accommodate us. On arrival at hotel, she put me one of their sister hotels next door.