Ratings based on 918 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Israel

Hostel in the center of Madrid

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: It's location.
Cons: To diversify the menu. 7 days there was the same cheese and the same biscuits for dessert. Sometimes Sometimes the dishes and table clothes were dirty
Location: It is excellent. Lot of restaurants, places to visit.
It is not hotel, but hostel. You have only the room, no kettle to prepare coffee or tea in the evening. No iron, no hairdryer. Some rooms don't have bathroom. You have to use shared bathroom, what is not so comfortable. If you plan to walk all the day and to come to the hostel only for night, it's a good place. But to spend time there wouldn't recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

My trip to Madrid

Posted Oct 4, 2017
I had a nice time in Madrid the hotel was in a good location on the square
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from syd ney

Posted Oct 2, 2017
It is a very comfortable stay, very good service, very clean , definitely coming back again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas, USA

Great Price and Location

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: The price and location!
Cons: A little more variety for breakfast.
Location: The location is fantastic and an easy 5-15 minute walk to most of the major museums and attractions in Madrid.
Different people have different needs and expectations for a hotel. For my wife and I while visiting the Prado and other museums and sights in Madrid, we only wanted an economical place to sleep and shower for nine nights while we spent our days and 95% of our waking hours exploring the city. Puerta del Sol Rooms fit our needs perfectly. The location is fantastic! The staff was friendly and personable. Many of the staff spoke fairly good English, which was sometimes a help when I was trying to communicate with my Tex-Mex Spanish. We stayed in one of the single rooms with our own separate bathroom. It was very simple and basic but it was clean and fit our needs and budget just fine. On the down side, as others have noted, it is just a little noisy. The walls are thin and sounds from both the halls and the plaza can be heard at night. This was occasionally an annoyance but not a major problem for us. The breakfast offered was very plain but adequate. We alternated between eating breakfast at the hotel and finding other restaurants around town. After booking the room through Expedia, I saw online that the hotel sometimes advertises itself as a gay hotel. I was a little concerned at first but, when we got there we found the ambiance and atmosphere to be perfectly fine and comfortable, with many families traveling with their children.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

THE best location in Madrid

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Location, Location Clean Safe
Cons: Bed. We could feel the springs in the matteras Shower. Water did not drain
Check in was quick and easy on 4th floor with lift (our room was 5th floor no lift). (5 nights 29/9-3/10) Initial room (Double with private bathroom) was so small and could hardly move in the bathroom so the following day we asked to move to room next door as we could see it was much bigger. Room comfortable with vintage furniture (which I love) and was clean and comfortable. Walls very think so you can hear your neighbours talking/moving around. Water in the shower did not drain so was a bit yukky having a shower and standing in a pool of water. Airconditioning was excellent. We had a roof terrace to enjoy the view below. Double glazed windows = no noise. Breakfast room a tight queeze but still nice enough. Basic but adequate breakfast. You could make toasted sandwhiches, toast with jams etc, cornflakes, biscuits, juice, milk, tea, coffee - no complaints. Staff helpful with limited English but with my Italian we managed. VERY happy with our choice as we were central to everything and I would overlook any shortcomings because of its location. Only really in the room to sleep anyway.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading UK

Luxury v Practicality

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The mattress on the bed.
Location: Walking distance - Prado, Museo Nacional Reina Sofía, Plaza Mayor, Royal Palace, Cathedral, shops, restaurants inc Botin (World's oldest restaurant)
I spent hours searching online for a reasonably priced hotel as close to the centre of Madrid, but unless you're prepared to pay top dollar you'll have to settle for somewhere far enough from the centre, that you'll have to get the metro into where a tourist want's to be. Then I came across the Puerta del Sol Rooms that seemed to be under-priced for it's location, which is slap bang in the middle of the tourist hot spot. The reason for being so cheap is simple, it's actually a hostel and as such has no swish restaurant, fancy bar, doorman, bell-hops and lift attendants. The front door was looked when we arrived and we rang the bell tabled Hostel. A voice on the speaker said, come to the top in the lift and to the desk. A polite Spanish man with excellent English showed us to our room and gave us the keys along with the code to open the street door. The room was adequate in size and equipped with a TV but no telephone and the shower/WC was a bit small. bit all was clean and tidy and well cleaned every day. The only crouch was the bed which would not win any comfort competition. We only used the breakfast room once, as we preferred to use the local eateries, but if your budget is tight, the breakfast on offer was okay. To summarise, you're exactly where you want to be for sightseeing and night life. If I were returning to Madrid I would definitely use this hostel again, as sacrificing a little luxury for practicality, it's well worth the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading, England

Functional and at the heart of Madrid, literally.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The hotel is about 50 steps from the Sol metro station in pueta del sol. The entrance is between a cafe and a pharmacy and accessible via a door / intercom system (which you get the code for on check in). The building is old but has had recent renovations and hosts other businesses as well as the hotel. Reception is on the 4th floor and accessible via a small lift (holds 3 people and small luggage) or by the stairs next to it ( wide treads, easy to walk up). Check in was simple - we got there early and left our luggage there while we explored the area for a couple of hours - and were given the door entry code. Room was large, 3 single beds, but the bathroom was tiny. In addition, the WC was broken (cracked porcelain) and the cistern was stuck so continually filled up until you knocked it. No real issue here. But the main problem was the smell in the bathroom. On occasion you could smell sewage, especially after flushing, or the room next door flushed. It wasn't continual and was only a 'waft' every now and then, but caught us off guard on a couple of occasions. Breakfast was very basic (which I didn't mind). Juice, coffee, toast, ham, and bland cheese. Breakfast area was small with large tables so knocking into people was unavoidable - at least it got people talking ( mainly 'sorry' and 'excuse me'). Everyone polite. Ilena helped us check in and was a very nice lady; very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Staff were very helpful and smiled at my very bad Spanish
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best location you can get!

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Best location, right in the centre! But no access for cars, if you are driving! Only buses and taxi! Free breakfast is okay, not the greatest! But room is simple and clean! Balcony view of madrids entertaining city centre!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Basic hotel in the heart of Puerto del Sol

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Proximity to bars, restaurants and nightlife.
Cons: Rooms and bathrooms are basic and could use some tarting up. Breakfast is boring and does not offer enough choice.
Location: excellent location close to bars, restaurants, retail outlets.
The hotel is similar to a hostel with basic accommodation and facilities. It offers a basic breakfast and the dining room is small and badly planned. On a positive note the staff are all friendly and the rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels provided on a daily basis. The hotel is ideally located in Puerto del Sol square and is situated close to an excellent array of bars, restaurants and retail outlets. The square is popular in the daytime and comes alive at night with performers and impromptu shows and entertainers drawing large crowds, the vibe is buzzy and busy. This hotel is suitable for those wanting to experience a city holiday and not planning to spend too much time in their room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton, UK

Nice hotel but could be so much better

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Entry to the hotel made you feel secure (big iron gates)! We were on the 5th floor, lift only went to the 4th. Shallow,wide steps up one floor. Our room had a very basic bathroom, with a shower curtain of very dubious structure & security (it collapsed on the second night)! Only other fault with the room, was the 3" hole in the stone floor by the bed. The view from the balcony(via a step up through the windoor), makes up for any flaws in the room. The view takes in the Puerto Del Sol square. Very lively area & very entertaining.