Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Excellent location and value

Posted Jun 17, 2013 on Hotels
What a great location, right on the main Sol plaza - right in the middle of the action and culture. Lucky I spoke a bit of Spanish otherwise, communication getting in to the apartments may have been tricky (of course sign language helps!) - which is the only criticism, as everything else was absolutely perfect. If you are a group of 6 or more, this is THE most perfect cost effective solution.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Irt from Toronto, ON, Canada

Alright

Posted Apr 21, 2013
Pros: Location, includes things that you will need to make your lives easy.
Cons: very small shower.
Location: Fantastic
(Room for 4 people). Positives: The area is really nice and there's a MacDonalds for a quick breakfast or coffee if you want (it comes in handy). There's an Orange phone carrier store in the plaza outside so you can get what you need for your cellphone. Apartment is clean. Room size is ok but by North American standards small. Negatives: The guy we met didn't speak any Spanish and there is no lobby. you have to call the hotel and meet them once you get there. The apartment is fine but the shower is tiny. If you are taller than 6 feet you will hit the ceiling. Kitchenette is very small. Ideal for up to 2 weeks. Room for 6 will be better choice for 4 people. The rooms for 4 is just one room with a bed, couch bed, coffee table, tv and unit, and a wardrobe. Overall a 6
3 out of 5
by Miguel from USA

Big rooms but noisy party guests

Posted Mar 27, 2013 on Hotels
I book this hotel due to location, close to my business area. The room is very nice, and big, a loft with capacity up to 5 people, but its full of young people that party in the rooms all night long until 3 AM. And no security or staff to make them shut up. If you wat to sleep, go somewhere else.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terrible service

Posted Feb 1, 2013 on Hotels
We wanted to say somewhere near Sol, but we ended up with a disaster. It was hard to find due to poor labeling and when we arrived there was no one at the reception. We had to use a payphone to call and we were told he would send a friend of his to open the room as he seemed to have forgotten about our reservation. The service continued in this way, his friend forgot the card reader, our questions and complaints were ignored, and there was never anyone in the reception to field questions or even check out with. We will not be staying there again (in fact, we moved hotels the next day) and I would recommend either spending a little more money on some of the better hotels in the area or staying farther away and simply using the metro.
4 out of 5
by Tom

Weekend in Madrid to watch the football.

Posted Oct 28, 2012 on Hotels
Great apartment, centrally located and perfect for a short break in Madrid. The only watch out being, it was difficult to contact the manager/owner when we arrived - There was noone on reception and it took a couple of attempts to reach by phone. Other than this small inconvenience the apartment was value for money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Oct 26, 2012 on Hotels
Excellent location. Had a problem with no water one day and when water was running the hot water runs out quick, due to small water heater. Also,a little hard locating the on site property manager.
4 out of 5
by Dan

Great get away place in the best part of town

Posted Sep 24, 2012 on Hotels
Overall it was a good apartment overlooking Puerta del Sol. The caretaker showed us first an apartment we would not have enjoyed at all and we were lucky we got the one overlooking the square. The biggest problem was there was no window covering so everyone can see in, not sure why the owners thought that was a good idea. Also the washing machine didn't work, no water which I found out too late after pouring my liquid soap all over my clothes. But good location and nice get away right in the square.
4 out of 5
by Bing

In the heart of Madrid

Posted Aug 2, 2012 on Hotels
This is located at the heart of Madrid. Close to all attractions and transportations. It is across the Metro. The studio we stayed in is very clean but the air condition did not work well, however it did not bother us too much since we were out early and got back to the hotel late.There are so many places to eat around the hotel, a casino, and a copuple of blocks from Plaza Mayor. For us the location was most important.
4 out of 5
by Family of 4

Loved It

Posted Jul 31, 2012 on Hotels
We loved our little apartment right off Puerta del Sol. The location was perfect - we could walk to most everything. The only drawback was having the bathroom light burn out for 2 days and not being able to get that replaced. Other than that - wonderful!
1 out of 5
by KC

Hate this place

Posted Jul 19, 2012 on Hotels
I was very disappointed. Safe did not work, I felt uncomfortable leaving my personal items in room. I took all my belongings with me every day. I thought hotels.com said everything was taking care of. It took me 4 hours to find a Internet cafe with phone and begin to communicate with someone in Spanish who spoke no English. I am disappointed that hotels.com did not make me aware of this prior.