Ratings based on 1,500 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ridgedale, MO

Amazing for the price

Posted Sep 22, 2017
The privileged beach bar and BLoved restaurant were fantastic. The room was beautiful and the housekeeping team were on top of it. The whole place inside and out was lovely and well kept. Would recommend this and will try to come back in August with my boys.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Everything about the hotel was beautiful. Rooms, pools, grounds. Enjoyed all of the restaurants. Food was very good.
Cons: The staff is mostly rude especially in the pool/beach areas. There were some nice ones there but few. Would be nice if breakfast was served longer.
Location: Xplor was amazing. Enjoyed shopping on 5th Avenue
I am very disappointed because we did not get 2 beds as I booked on Expedia. The hotel would not honor the reservation since it was made through Expedia and not through them. We had a king size bed. I was traveling with my 20 year old son and we did not enjoy having to share a bed! We ever paid for a Privileged Room and they still would not accommodate us
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Catalonia Riviera Maya, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed our facilities and services. We are sorry for the inconveniences. We would like to remember you we can't guarantee the locations and kind of the rooms because we depend on availability. We are, however, happy to know that you had a wonderful vacation, despite this situation. Look forward welcoming you again Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quito, Ecuador

Nice all included resort.

Posted Sep 19, 2017
The hotel was great, friendly staff, great food, clean and ample facilities. Only complains about the resort was that the wifi in the room didn't always work and there was a shortage of electric outlets (one by the bed, one in the bathroom and two for the tv and minibar).
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Catalonia Riviera Maya, Hotel Management
Dear Mateo Thank you for your comments. We are very grateful to hear that you had a good experience with us and that you enjoyed the services and facilities. Please be assured that your comments and suggestions have been taken into consideration and that we will do our utmost to improve. We certainly look forward to your returning trip in the near future. Best Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naperville, IL

First time and loved it

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: everything
Location: Good hour from Cancun airport Never left resort for excursions 20 minutes from shopping in Playa
My boyfriend and I went for our anniversary. It was fabulous. From the king size bed with towel animals everyday, anniversary banner on our door and complimentary cake our first night. The grounds were very pretty, clean and well kept. Always someone doing something. We stayed as privileged guests and had a few extra perks. Themed restaurants were good. Japanese, steakhouse, Italian and BLoved!!! Options for pools and additional bar for privileged guests. Armando served us poolside for a couple days, he was so attentive. Gave him a cash tip and it went a long way!!! Always something to do for entertainment day and night. We really enjoyed ourselves. Best place I've stayed so far in Riviera Maya, will definitely go again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Catalonia Riviera Maya, Hotel Management
Dear Jana First of all, Congratulations!! We feel honored to know that you enjoy this special date at our Resort, it's very important to us to be part of these wonderful memories. It is nice to know that you had a nice trip and that you were pleased with our facilities and services. We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future; it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again. Best Regards
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NO hot water

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: People were nice
Cons: Hot water/buffet food!!! Soooo bad
For the 4 days we were there, we never had hot water. We had to call (after we had already gotten in the shower) and complain that there was no hot water. Then they would send a technician and they would fix it.I think they would turn it off!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Catalonia Riviera Maya, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry for the inconveniences. Unfortunately we had a fault in the boiler so we could not reestablish the hot water service during your stay, we really hope that on your next visit you will come directly with our guest service so we can serve you as you deserve. Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Charles IL

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 29, 2017
We stayed at this resort a few summers ago. While We still enjoyed our stay this time, some things were not the same: the staff you meet in the hallways, seem too busy to say "hi, good morning, etc" working in the industry, this is a must, for hotel staff to do. The food at the restaurants was good, and had plenti of vegetarian and healthy options. Our favorite was the Tapas restaurant. My daughter got sick the night we ate at the Italian restaurant, and at the Japanese restaurant the sushi looked awful! Definitely not fresh! The bars only offer one type of beer! The pools, the theater with shows every night, and the activities throughout the day are fun. Overall a good choice for families and adults. I will continue to come back to Catalonia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Catalonia Riviera Maya, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. We would like to thank the time you are taking to share your feedback. We are very grateful to hear that you had a good experience with us and that you enjoyed the services and facilities. Please be assured that your comments and suggestions have been taken into consideration and that we will do our utmost to improve. We certainly look forward to your returning trip in the near future. Best Regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port St Lucie, Fl

HOTEL

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Location was nice.
Cons: Let people with handicaps know ahead of time that there are no elevators and ramps are very steep.
Location: Only thing we did was go on the shopping tour which we found out was paid for by the Jewelry store owners. 5th avenue was nice.
This hotel was a disappointment. Website never said anything about not being handicap accessible. No elevators but just ramps. That is not always convenient for some handicap people. This should be pointed out on website and on Expedia. Every day power went out at least once if not more. Servers were not attentive at all, everyone had to do for themselves. Locks on bathroom doors did not work. When I laid on one of the chairs on the patio the wheel fell off, and I don't weigh alot!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Catalonia Riviera Maya, Hotel Management
Dear Maureen. Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences. We regret that you did not have the confidence to approach our guest service to improve your stay opportunely. We constantly train our staff to provide the best service to all our guests. Be assured your comments have been shared with the departments involved. Look forward welcoming you again Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington D.C.

Beautiful resort, excellent staff and variety

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Kind staff, variety of amenities, and beautiful location. Spa was amazing. Great entertainment staff and shows.
Cons: Some restaurants had long waits (~1 hour). Wasn't too bad because of the bars. Seaweed in the beach, but staff did good trying to clear it.
Location: Far from the hotel (~1 hr drive). Expedia provided a free "tour" to Playa del Carmen (make sure to ask).
Excellent trip! The staff was amazing, especially the bartenders at the Tequila bar. There were many restaurants to choose from for dinner--all of our dinners were great. The beach was beautiful, minus the seaweed but we still enjoyed the blue waters. Our room was perfect--we opted for the regular room after reading reviews about the privileged suites. In hindsight, the extra $ for the privileged room may have been worth it--esp with the balcony plunge pool, however, we still had a great room that was clean and comfortable. Another note about the privileged deal--if you get friendly with the bartenders (give a few $ tip), you can enjoy a bit of the top shelf liquor usually reserved for privileged only. The maid services were excellent daily, room perfectly clean with a cute towel animal daily. I sent a quick message to the hotel prior to our arrival in hopes to check in early (since our flight landed at 11 am and check in time was 3 pm). I included that we were celebrating our anniversary and when we arrived, not only was our room ready--our door had been decorated with a happy anniversary sign (which stayed the whole trip), a beautiful heart and flower arrangement on our bed, and a chocolate cake! The Spa was amazing, did a couples a massage. Visited Playa del Carmen via free ride through Expedia-had to sit through a jewelry/tequila factory tour which was fine, staff not pushy about buying. The whole trip was an amazing experience, would def recommend to others!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Catalonia Riviera Maya, Hotel Management
Dear Achala. Thank you for writing to us. We are so happy to know that you appreciated all the aspects of your stay and that you were impressed with our friendly staff and courteous service! We can't thank you enough for the nice remarks about our Resort, they are so kind and thank you a lot for recommending us. The biggest compliment that our team can get is your desire to return. It will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again! Best Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn

Nice resort

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: The room was very clean and comfortable, the pool and beach was fantastic, the staff was great very helpful
Cons: The food needs to be improved, the only restaurant I was pleased with was the steak house, which I did t visit until my last night.
Location: Location was great, tours were very close
Resort was beautiful very well maintained, staff was very courteous but not much activities and the food was not good at all, all the buffets served the same thing, food was not seasoned, nor was there authentic Mexican food, I was looking forward to that but didn't get it. If the resort upgrades their menu I will definitely go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Catalonia Riviera Maya, Hotel Management
Dear Lizette. Thank you for your feedback. We are very grateful to hear that you had a good experience with us and that you enjoyed the services and facilities. We are sorry for not exceeding your expectations about the food, be assured your comments have been shared with the departments involved. We want to encourage you to inform our Guest Service in your next visit about any inconvenient that you could experience during your stay. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back. Best Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan USA

Posted Aug 20, 2017
I like the Hotel , view, people there were very nice and welcoming , Every single one of the workers there was very nice and amazing job with smile on their faces , good credit for all the workers there . I like the place, Hotel , beach, restaurants, all the entertainers did an amazing job.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Catalonia Riviera Maya, Hotel Management
Dear Hena It is nice to know that you had a spectacular trip and that you enjoyed our facilities and services. The best compliment that our team can get is your recommendation, be assured that we will share with them your kind comments. We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future; it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again! Best Regards