Ratings based on 668 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago il

Amazing service and food but hotel needs work.

Posted Aug 14, 2017
The service, the people and the food was amazing! the hotel needs to be renovated. It is clean but outdated which is sad since everything else is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from usa

Dream trip Safe & beautiful Unlimited choices

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Seeing is believing It is a beautiful place Very clean & peaceful Tons of food choices Great room services Unlimited drinks
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice rooms, beautiful resort but not enough to do

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Very nice rooms, small private beach but has lots of seaweed. Great resort with variety of food options. Nightly shows are good but repeat every week. Not enough games and activities for the active adults in my family. water activities--1 hour limit on snorkeling gear, kayak cannot be taken outside the small cove. Fun free 20 minute catamaran tour. Very sensitive to allergies if any one in your party had food concerns.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedworth

Small Dreams Hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2017
All the usual quality from a Dreams hotel. This one is much smaller than the others I've stayed at but they have crammed a lot into the site Only advice I would give is to wear the swim shoes if going into the sea as it's very rocky
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

never going back to that hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2017
Pros: I like the location. The personnel is great and give 200%
Cons: The owners should not be cheap and let the hotel go the way its going. People will go once but not twice.
Location: There is a lot of interesting places to go. Playa del Carmen is really nice.
The first thing we noticed was that the room had a very strong mildew smell. Immediately requested another room and the one they were giving us had no view. They provided us with a dehumidifier which my husband in the middle of the night had to change the bucket every 2 hours otherwise the room would flood as it happened the first night that they provided us with the machine. We requested double bed and ended up with one king size. If we wanted another room we had to pay $180.00 extra per day. We were a party of 8 adults and 1 child. My daughter had to change room twice, first one had no working air-conditioner, 2nd one a piece of the ceiling due to water leakage fell on top of my daughter. My son slip and fall in his room due to a leakage on the air-conditioner vent hurting his hip. He checked the vent and you could see several towels wedge inside the vent.We were given a better room after 3 days of sleeping in a moldy room. Even after we move to the other room our clothes smell like mildew. The personnel is excellent and they have no control over the conditions of the hotel. When you went to the restaurants the food was not that good either and the portions were sample size except when you went to the buffet. They sell the restaurants as if they were the best. I feel sorry for the hard working people working for that hotel chain. They work their butts off to please the guest. Its a shame that we will never go back again. The town is beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice Hotel - Older Glamour

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: We liked that we could walk anywhere and it wasn't far. The staff were so friendly, helpful and courteous. They had something going on everyday.
Cons: We got a noisy room over some construction but when we asked to move they couldn't accommodate our King bed request so we got 2 beds instead.
Location: We walked down to the marina and the nearby shops and restaurants just to look around.
A nice elegant hotel. Not an obnoxious, flashy hotel but a very nice, older. smaller resort. We could walk anywhere on the resort with ease. The entertainment was a wonderful surprise and the food was also very good. We took our 19 year old daughter and her friend and they both enjoyed the resort too. It appealed to both age groups.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine, USA

Great place to stay!

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: The rooms, the area, the staff, the dolphins!
Cons: Serving breakfast before 7am, a luggage scale in the lobby, and actually having yoga classes as advertised. I was disappointed with the no yoga.
Location: As I said, this resort is located in a gated community. It's just a short beautiful walk to the little marina/shopping area.
I stayed at the Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort and Spa the first of May in 2017 because my friends were getting married. The resort was clean and the staff very friendly. I liked that there was an adult only pool area and the two swim up bars (one on each side). What surprised me was that the resort was located in a gated community. I liked this because it gave me a chance to venture out into the little village where I was able to see sea lions and manatees. There was also a golf course and a pretty marina. My room faced the dolphin pool and what a treat it was to sit out on my veranda each morning enjoying my tea and the dolphins. The food overall was very good and there was a good variety of drink choices. The staff were amazing, all very helpful and friendly. My friend's wedding was beautiful and the staff who worked the reception were all wonderful. They really did everything to make the night memorable!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Beautiful spot

Posted May 13, 2017
Great resort with friendly staff, but was very disappointed with the quality of the food. If was cafeteria styled food at best. We looked forward to getting to the airport so we could have a decent meal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2017
Great staff. Clean hotel. Extremely accompdating. Cant say enough
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New England

Just Okay

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, clean grounds, comfortable room, clear adult and family areas. Lots of choices for meals, lots of beach area activities.
Cons: Food variety, quality and temperature, more organization at the restaurants.
Location: We took a walk just off the hotel grounds around the marina to the little town area which was lovely and quiet. Chichen Itza was a great day trip.
Dreams Puerto Aventuras tries to appeal to everyone including couples, families, and spring breakers. Unfortunately in this case attempting to be a jack of all trades makes it a master of none for sure. We were surprised by the loudness and lack of consideration of the guests who found it acceptable to run up and down the hallways all night yelling and slamming doors, and daytime shouting at each other between the balconies and the pool. The food was disappointing. Plenty of variety at the buffet but everything was bland, margarine instead of butter and all was served at room temperature or slightly cooler, which doesn't make for a good soup experience. A la carte service was disorganized, very slow and despite asking for our appetizers three times, they never came. At one point my husband's drink arrived in a quite obviously broken glass. On the positive, the room was very comfortable and clean, housekeeping was efficient and accommodating to our requests, and the grounds and pools were incredibly well cared for. I appreciated the ability to choose between family and adult only areas. The beach is small but pretty clean. The drinks were good and aplenty. Staff were friendly.