Ratings based on 694 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from SLC

Excellent Family Vacation

Posted Jan 12, 2018
The Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa was pretty good. Overall, I give it a 3. Everything was pretty good, but nothing was exceptional except the service and location. The service was great. The resort is perfectly located on the ocean in a small cove which was perfect for younger children. The resort was big enough to give freedom, but not so big as to get lost. We could find out kids anywhere. It was also located next to a Dolpharium, which we did take advantage of. Good stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dominican Republic

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Great staff-very friendly staff and welll trained. A great reflwction of the managements efforts. Rooms were large and comfortable but the AC thermostat did not work in any of the 4 rooms we had. Perfect hotel for families with kids - plenty of kid friendly entertainment. Most of the theme restaurants were good but the standard and variety of food in the main restaurant wants a serious overhaul
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent for families with young kids

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Resort located inside a private Condominium, extremely safe. The resort shows a few signs that it is a bit tired but nothing that will compromise the cleanliness or the comfort. We really liked the size of the resort as its not crowded. Awesome localization with a private beach. Just a few steps from the pool to the beach. With little kids we decided not to go visit the parks (Xcaret, Xplor, Xel-Ha, etc..) and you won't be annoyed staying at the resort all the time as there are lots of activities during the day and evenings with the entertainment team for everybody and the Explorer's Club for the kids. World restaurant has a huge variety of food to please every taste no matter if it is breakfast, lunch or dinner. Portofino and El Patio are very nice as well with good service. A walk around at the stores near the marina behind the resort is also highly recommended. Lots of dolphins in the area. Very pleasant to rent a golf cart to visit and explore the surroundings. I would stay there again for sure!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The setting is nice. But the hotel is old

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: The beach
Cons: Everything
The hotel is old and the AC keeps everything cold and wet. Yes! Wet. It’s humid out there, but the AC system they have sucks. the sheets feel wet all the time. The staff is cool and they follow the rules very strictly. So don’t ask for anything that requires them to help you out in any kind of way. I had an extra room for my family which we decided didn’t really want to use it. So asked to return it at no refund to my account. They said they would have to add the two persons (my kids) to my room at a rediculous price per night. so I kept the room with no one occupying it for 7 days. The they check you out of your room before the 12pm time. If you left anything in the room they throw it away. The food is okay. The entertainment really sucks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from St Louis

Great all inclusive Resorts in Playa Del Carmen

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: Clean accommodations, Friendly staff, good food overall, safe beach for the kids, plenty of sun bathing room at beach and the pool for adults.
Cons: Mainly increasing the cooks at the two grills
Location: Of the historical sites one would want to see, this resort was centrally located. There was so much to do on site for the kids. Great Family Resort
Our five day stay was truly enjoyable. Having been to this area numerous times this resort was perfect for the point in life where we are tag a longs with sons family. Their 6 & 8 year old had an excellent time, while the parents were able to enjoy their time as well. Overall, The staff was friendly, the facilities were clean and adequate, and the rooms were large and cleaned daily as well as supplies of plenty of towels. The beds were incredibly comfortable and provided a good nights sleep. The food I would write a four out of five, which is very high for an all inclusive. I do not drink but nobody complained of the drinks being “watered down “. The bar service was quick and only depended on the number of patrons waiting to wet their whistles. Normally 2-3 bartenders on duty at each station. My most observant complaint was a typical one. At the two grills on site, one in and one out, only one cook was working with one assistant. This is never enough when many people want customized omelettes, etc for breakfast. The Outside lgrill was totally inexcusable. I watched most people wait 7-10 minutes just to get a simple grilled item, so one can imagine how the queue kept extending. One could only get French fries at one outside restaurant which is not adequate for American children as this is a staple of their diet, on a daily basis (right or wrong, it’s a fact). Any restaurant knows this is an inexpensive way to keep young children happy at meal times.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Great hotel for families

Posted Nov 21, 2017
The staff is wonderful and entertainment is very good. The children's club is superior. The food is very good but more often than not served cold. Very creative with outdoor dining and entertainment. The beach is not the best, more a lagoon setting than beachfront. Good snorkelling, catamaran and kayaking which is included. There is a dedicated adults only pool and spa.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from British Columbia, Canada

Terrible Experience!

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: For the exception of Fransizco in buffet, Marco at the adult pool and the beautiful lady who serves the Mayan Coffee (flaming) & sings to you, nothing
Cons: Repairs; Attitudes! Although all the staff say “it’s a pleasure to serve you,” they really come across as we are a bother to them.
Our previous experience with another Dreams Resort brought us to Puerto Aventuras and our stay at Dreams this time was disappointing to say the least.We arrived to find our room was right beside the front desk and the noise was unbearable of people coming and going.The rooms are extremely outdated and the bathrooms offer a distinct smell of sewage…even to the point that after showering, the odor was on you. So what water are we actually showering in? The resort is designated as non-smoking but many people smoked on the balconies, pools and even using e-cigarettes in the buffet area and not one staff approached them. As we were not traveling with children, we basically stayed near the adult pool because it was the only peace we got yet children have to walk through area to get to see the dolphins. We were advised that the Oceana Restaurant was for adults only (and stated in the resort literature) but children were always there at dinner, screaming and crying. The beach was a waste of time because again, you couldn’t relax with the noise. The resort overwhelmingly accommodates children with the Explorer's Club, the main pool with a swim up bar (?), movies at night and activities throughout the resort. The bar/lounge called Desires is that…a bar yet children are allowed there until 10:30 pm. Often children were left unattended in the bar as well playing pool. There is no refuge for adults even in the bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice resort, great entertainment for kids

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Entertainment team!
Cons: Food options
Location: Located within a nice gated community with shops and restaurants
This resort had the best entertainment team, excellent with kids! Rooms were good. All staff are friendly and helpful! My only negative comment would be about the food, expected a bigger variety.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, BC

Nice hotel but not as good as the other Dreams

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Had a great time at Dreams Puerto Adventuras (DPA) but comparing it to Dreams Riverea Cancun (DRC) there really is no comparison. I found that’s DPA was a bit outdated for the building and the restaurant selection wasn’t as good as DRC. There were some great ammentiites and the staff were friendly. Our bath tub never worked properly. The sushi restaurant was pretty terrible but again it’s sushi in Mexico. Did a time share presentation at Dreams Tulum and that resort is beautiful in comparison. Kind of wondered why they would show us that resort and was offered a couple nights at the end of our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Close to beach, but it’s not a cleaned beach

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Orbitz
We checked in as a group of 9. 4 different rooms. Our room had a clogged toilet and sink. So we had to move the next day. Never had turn down service. Only 1 room out of the 4 did and only 2 nights out of our 4 night stay. We schedule me family pics. The photographer was an hour and half late. We looked awful due to the heat and humidity. We went on an awesome deep sea fishing trip. Caught a mahi-mahi. Made reservations for the chef to cook it. Was told it would be cooked at 7. We showed up on time. Dinner took 2 hours. The kids fell asleep at the table and did not get to eat their dads catch. Did not feel like the staff worked to keep the guest happy. Only thing for the kids to do is the pool. On the adult side they had games that the kids could not play. We did do the dolphin experience. Had a great time with that. We had one great bar tender. But if you don’t yell what you what you get ignored. Same at the bare foot grill. This is our 2nd trip to a dreams resort. The 1st was awesome. That’s why we chose it for our family vacation. Will pick a different resort next time. Beach was dirty seen several towels laying in the same spot for 3 days. Most of the restaurants where closed. So did not have many options. It is not all that is advertised. Had no idea what was going on during the day. They post it on tvs by the elevator. Most of the time the TVs where off. It was very Discouraging.