Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Geneva, WI USA

Wonderful staff goes above and beyond

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: The decor was fresh, tasteful and comfortable. The grounds are kept impeccably clean. The finches and ducks roam freely with the guests.
Location: You have to walk a ways down a lava path to get to the bay and the water taxis, but once there it's easy to walk around town or grab a taxi.
Traveling to the Galapagos is not for the faint of heart... expect trains, planes, automobiles and more, including schlepping in and out of water taxis, and up and down lava paths with your luggage. Of course, that's what make it an adventure! When we finally got to Finch Bay we were greeted in the lovely and well-designed reception/lounge area with fresh juice. A member of the staff perfunctorily rattled off info about meals, excursions, etc. The hotel was full and unfortunately we got a small, dark corner room. Not at all what we had hoped for. Luckily, the wonderful bartender and a yummy (but expensive) dinner lightened our mood. The next day we thought about changing hotels but when we talked to the manager, Irene, about it she was a step ahead of us. She had already made arrangements to transfer us to an oceanfront room! Maybe it was the weather when we were there, a bit overcast with periods of sun, but the rooms were dark. Other than that they were comfortable and nicely decorated, with hammocks on the balconies for a nice touch. Breakfasts were beautifully displayed and the food was fresh and delicious. The staff was outstanding - attentive, friendly and dedicated to making your stay a pleasant one. The hotel offers a range of excursions. You can book in town for better prices, but it's nice to be able to go right from the hotel with trustworthy transportation and guides. Irene and the rest of the staff definitely made our stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Nice eco reputation

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Nice to stay in an eco-hotel. Common areas are large and beautiful, staff are great. The rooms are small and basic (contributes to their eco-friendly reputation). The breakfast was good but dinner was terribly disappointing - much better restaurants in Puerto Ayora.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Excellent hotel! Beach front!

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Service was Amazing!
The hotel exceeded my expectations, service was personalize and very friendly, food was delicious, i will definitely come back soon. The Galapagos is one in a life time experience, the work they do there to preserve the animals and their ecosystem is amazing. Definitely recommend going to Galapagos, the island are very safe, organize and clean. And most importantly stay at Finch Hotel is a family, couples or single friendly hotel.
5 out of 5
by Scott

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
Outstanding hotel with great restaurant and great tours from hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Heaven in Paradise

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was perfect from start to finish. Stay in the ocean view villas for maximum comfort and a private balcony with a hammock and gorgeous view. The staff are fantastic, calling each guest by name. The all inclusive naturalist packages are the way to go, combining room, food, and activities on the property's 90 foot yacht. The naturalist guides are also great! The food is excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017
Dear Anastasia, Thank you so much for such a great review! We truly appreciate our guest´s opinions. We are glad you had an excellent experience at our Hotel, the room and facilities and that you have appreciated that we call you by your name. We hope to welcome you back soon! It will be our pleasure to assist you again. Warm regards, Javier Gomez & Finch Bay Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

A wonderful experience.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Hotel staff and food are excellent. Staff could not be nicer or more accommodating. Extensive menu selection.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Javier Gomez & Finch Bay Team, Hotel Management
Dear constance, We thank you for your kind words regarding your last experience at our Hotel. Thank you for highlighting our food and beverage service and the Staff, we will always be willing to assist our guests in the best way. Hope you decide to come back soon! Have a nice day. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carrollton VA

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2016
This hotel will exceed al your expectations. It's beautiful, delicious food, attentive staff. Highly recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Javier Gomez & Finch Bay Team, Hotel Management
Hello Suzy&Allen! Thank you very much for sharing these nice pictures and for your positive comments about your last stay with us! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Enchanted Island and at the Finch Bay. Thank you for your recommendations, hope you come back soon. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in Santa Cruz

Posted May 3, 2016
My boyfriend and I stayed here for a romantic getaway and absolutely loved it. It's a bit pricy and you only need to stay here for a few days if you're on a budget but I would definitely splurge to stay at least a day or two. We stayed at the end of our trip when we were trying to relax. The staff was amazing, the adventures they plan are fantastic and well priced. I got sick the last day and they got the medicine I needed and checked in on me frequently. Beautiful rooms, pool and location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Javier Gomez & Finch Bay Team, Hotel Management
Dear Natalie, We are so happy to hear your great opinions about your last stay at the Finch Bay. Thank you for choosing our Hotel for this special occasion in this unique destination, our main goal is to create memorable experiences for all our guests. The whole members of the Staff sends you a warm greeting, we hope welcome you back soon. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice escape

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: Outside bar next to well maintained pool. Offered lighter snack menu. Breakfast buffet was great. Liked the water taxi service.
Cons: No room service or tv. Evening meals overpriced and not best quality. Trips provided by hotel also overpriced and not to best locations. Beach crowded
Location: Had to take water taxi from dock at Puerto Ayora but turned out to be a fun part of the trip. Town had good places to eat. Tortuga Beach long hot walk
Room was nice size with very nice patio and ocean view. Greeted with cold fresh juice and towels after walk from dock. Pool was excellent. Staff very nice. Wish staff had helped more with excursion planning to make our trip everything we had looked forward to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Javier Gomez & Finch Bay Team, Hotel Management
Dear Candi, Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your last stay with us. We really appreciate all our guest´s opinions as they are a great opportunity to improve day by day. As an eco friendly hotel we do not have tv in the rooms only in the Business Center, but if we have the room service if it is required. We consider that we have one of the best food services in the Island, as well as a high quality experience in the expeditions carried out on our own Sea Lion yacht. If you decide to come back, please let us know to help you in advance. Have a wonderful day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Illinois

A luxurious hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Pros: A fabulous setting.
Cons: One has to take a short boat ride across the bay for tours or excursions, after a ten minute (2-3 block) walk.
A wonderful thing about the hotel is that it is operated by Metropolitan Tours. All or half day hiking and boat excursions led by a guide can be reserved at the desk. And, most importantly, you are guaranteed the best possible tour and experience. (We heard stories of land based operatives in town who overcharged, whose guides didn't speak English, who apcharged hidden fees, etc. No such problem with the Finch Bay Metropolitan Touring people! Moreover the guide picked you up from a comfortable area near the front desk, and did not leave your side until he/she returned you to the spot after the tour.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Javier Gomez & Finch Bay Team, Hotel Management
Dear Linda, Thank you for your wonderful review. We truly appreciate your commentaries about the Hotel and also about the company, our main goal is to create memorable experiences for all our guests. As you mention, we arrange different excursions with certified naturalist guides to ensure the best experience. Our privileged location makes us the only Hotel facing the sea in Puerto Ayora and this is something that most people appreciate. We hope you decide to welcome you back any time, it will be our pleasure to assist you again. Warm regards,