Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston tx

Sad conditions, Expedia at fault

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: The three employees that where there. Views were awesome, pool was nice.
Cons: Expedia can research what they are promoting to their customers. How can you offer such low quality hotels on your site with no option to your clients
Location: Very nice location on pacific coast of Costa Rica, super nice hotel across the street was not struggling. Guanamar owner obviously struggling financia
Arrived at hotel only to find no one there and bar closed, hotel restaurant closed. I complained to the young man at desk but he was only a low paid employee who apologized repeatedly. I paid for two ocean view rooms for two nights. Room door would not close, shower head broken, toilet wouldn't flush. Rooms needed paint. Ants in both rooms. Many items on menu not available lack of money to resupply bar and food items. Awesome views but hotel very tired. Management to be found anywhere only a few under paid employees that did a great job with what little they had. Shameful that Expedia pre-charges the customer for the rooms then when you arrive to an unacceptable hotel situation you have no recourse to move. Beautiful hotel across the street open with all amenities for same price but we have pre- paid for two rooms for two nights so had no option but to loose our money if we moved. In the future I will not be using Expedia, I was very embarrassed I brought my guests to this hotel. Some research should be done by Expedia before you tout these hotels in low season on your web site as being worth such a high cost.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Outstanding view!

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Food in the restaurant was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, B.C.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: The views from the room and the pool.
Cons: The breakfast choices were limited and seemed a little expensive for what we were served.
Location: Playa Carillo is a beatiful beach lined with palm trees and not crowded with tourists. There is good surf at Playa Camaronal about 1/2 hour south.
Puerto Carillo is a beautiful little beach south of Playa Samara. This hotel was our first night in Costa Rica. Our spacious room had a magnificent sunset view out over the ocean, with a private shaded veranda to sit and watch the sky and sea. In the evening we had a visit from an armadillo shuffling around in the leaves around the room. I was particularly excited about the tiny one inch long scorpion that emerged from the shower drain as i was about to have a shower (i love creepy crawlies, i picked him up and relocated him outside so you don't need to worry). It is a bit of a hike up to the pool and restaurant in the hot weather but the pool was refreshing and also had great views of the ocean. The restaurant is open and breezy and the staff friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF

Beach access

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Beautiful ocean view from our room. Excellent food at the restaurant.
Cons: Although it's a small thing, only one complimentary coffee is offered, and they charge $1 for the second day on.
Location: There is nothing around except a hotel restaurant and a little grocery store nearby.
Since we didn't have a car, we had to walk up and down steep hills to the beach. When checked in, we were little worried about this but it was not so bad. The walking was a little tough but the beach was so beautiful. The room was nice and clean and great view of ocean. We saw beautiful sunsets.There are some little ants around washing area, At the balcony we saw beautiful birds and a few iguanas, On the second night we had a couple of cute raccoons in the deck.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa Canada

Nice hotel with gorgeous views.

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Great hotel overlooking Carrillo beach. Fantastic views of beach and ocean. Gorgeous sunset views. Good food in restaurant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great view

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: View
Cons: Updating
Location: Good restaurants, beach, macaw refuge, turtle beaches in season.
Staff was helpful and professional. Overall, the hotel needs some updating. Our room was very large. There was a king bed as well as a single. There was no bed skirt on the single which would help appearance. Also, could use hair dryers in the room. One day at the pool, six scarlet macaws landed in the trees nearby, feeding. Fun to watch. In the late afternoon, they flew off of the macaw sanctuary.
4 out of 5
by Scott

Great sunset

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
Goog
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great view of the ocean

Posted Jan 19, 2017
The hotel room had a great view of the ocean but seems to lack maintenance. Although the room was large and clean the smell of humidity made it uninviting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful hotel with a great view

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Orbitz
My husband is Costa Rican and we have traveled all over the country. We can't say more positive things about the hotel and this small beach town of P. Carrillo. We'll be returning for sure. The hotel room was big, great TV, balcony, view of the ocean and sunset, great shower, had a fridge. The pool area is perfect - right temperature, great view, showers nearby. The breakfast was good. We ate dinner here one night - was delicious though a bit pricey. We easily walked to nearby restaurants for the rest of our trip. The walk to the beach is 5-10 min (note there aren't any hotels directly on this beach so for the walk, this wasn't bad). Definitely recommend.