Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hungary

nice view from room but disappointing cleanness

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: the sightsee
Cons: language skills, cleanness
Location: if its raining you cant do anything, as roads to Peninsula Valdes and Punta Tombo are closed. And even if you paid your trip there is no backpayment.
Compared to their introduction "we speak your language" it would had been only true if we are spanish speakers. The restaurant area is dirty (spoons, forks are not cleaned). The pool can hardly to be named 'pool', only if we would be maximum 6 years old. To write some positive as well, the view from the rooms was nice with sightsee to the coast and the sea.
4 out of 5
by Julie from Calgary

Just a typical hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Hotels
Loved that we were right across from the beach and close to lots of restaurants. There was also a cruise ship right across the street that provided some fun people watching. Front desk wasn't very helpful for booking tours or providing basic information but that could have been our poor spanish as well. They try extra hard to "be green" and as a result the poorly placed motion sensors in the halls or common area toilets will often leave you in the dark. You also are unable to leave your AC on while out of the room so you may return to an extra hot room. Overall it's just a typical hotel with an OK pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hereford, England

Pleasant hotel on the seafront

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: The attitude of the staff
Cons: A hairdryer and tea / coffee facilities in the bedroom would have rounded off a nice stay
Location: Ideal for nature lovers with whale and bird watching so convenient and the landing site and museum of the Welsh colony which arrived in 1865
The hotel is conveniently situated on the seafront near to the pier. The upper storey sea-front rooms have a wonderful view of the bay, and wales can often be seen in season. The facilities were good, including a pool and spa, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel has both a restaurant for evening meals and a separate cafe. A comfortable and pleasant stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon, UK

Australis Yene Hue - whales penguins and orcas

Posted Nov 17, 2011 on Hotels
We booked this hotel for 4 nights as a base to get an overview of Peninsula Valdes and Punta Tombo, prior to staying at Puerto Piramide and Gaiman. The hotel is well situated in Puerto Madryn overlooking the bay and with easy access to the seafront esplande, the pier and the shops and restaurants. It is relatively modern, the rooms are spacious and the staff were friendly and helpful (and speak English well!). Wifi was available throughout the hotel: free and generally efficient (although it did understandably struggle with large email attachments). There was a room safe. The shower was good. The air conditioning had not been activated on our stay - early season? (but was efficiently operating a week later on our return for a single night). We booked a sea facing room (on the fourth floor) and could see whales in Nov 2011 (with a pair of binoculars) - of course the cheaper city facing rooms may not be so charismatic ; and used the limited car parking facilities which were reasonably priced (available on a first come first available basis). The sea facing rooms were not cheap but, in our opinion, they were worth it. There was some limited confusion on the initial booking as to whether the quoted prices included local tax and breakfast - but hotel.com promptly confirmed that our rates did include these aspects (and indeed the set-up of the hotel suggested that breakfasts were generally available). The hotel.com map shows the hotel position, incorrectly, more inland and further south than it is - it is located near the pier with no buildings between the hotel and extensive sea views. We did not use the hotel restaurant because on the first night it was already fully booked (but plenty of good ones nearby), but the cafe / bar staff provided a good service. Nor did we use the swimming pool or other facilities. The hotel charged the nominated credit card with the full stay cost the day before arrival (in accordance with our booking) and the US dollar quoted daily rates were converted to local currency at a fair exchange rate. Our plane flight from El Calafate arrived at Trelew airport very late and we used Ryan Travel services (in Puerto Madryn) with a pre-booked transfer services that was very efficiently organised by email. We also used Ryan Travel for full day English speaking guided (private, but they also offer cheaper group) tours a) to Penisula Valdes; and b) Punto Tombo.
2 out of 5
by Oscar

Mala experiencia

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Mala relacion costo calidad de servicio. No tienen cocheras suficiente para todos los huespedes y la municipalidad cobra 10 pesos la hora de estacionamiento. Lo mismo ocurre con el agua caliente, hay que bañarse cuando el hotel quiere. Tuvimos que cambiar de habitacion por problemas en el baño.
4 out of 5
by Ricardo Cesar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Menos categoría de la que fue calificado

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
Estuvimos alojados en el piso 10, pegado a una puerta que decía "Privado" y de donde día y noche salía un ruido de máquinas insoportable. El desayuno informan se sirve hasta las 10 hs y 10.05 la persona encargada SACA TODO EL SERVICIO aunque hayan entrado huéspedes recién. Limpieza deficitaria, y atención en el front, depende de quién, con más o menos ganas....Para un hotel qe se digna de ser de esa categoría, le falta bastante...
4 out of 5
by Juan Francisco

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Muy buena alternativa, ya sea en viaje de negocios o placer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017
Estimado Juan francisco gracias por dejar su comentario. Esperamos que haya disfrutado su estadía en nuestro hotel y haber podido utilizar todos nuestros servicios.- Lo esperamos en su próximo viaje a la Ciudad de Puerto Madryn e invitarlo a que conozca los otros hoteles de la Cadena, como ser; Australis Kauyeken (Ushuaia), Australis Paradise (Carilo) y Australis Campaña (Campana). Saludos Cordiales Marcela Maciel
4 out of 5
by Luciano

Relax total

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Muy buena experiencia, es realmente un hotel para relajarse por unos días, quizás a la piscina le falto un poco mas de atención al agua (solo tenia cloro pero no estaba tan limpia).
5 out of 5
by soisick

Très bon hôtel

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Super accueil et chambre très agréable avec vue sur la mer.