Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Western Massachusetts

best vacation ever

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: The hotel staff and the on site restaurants.
Cons: The gift shop could have more local made items.
Location: Mayan ruins were not too far from the resort
The trip we had in Mexico was the best vacation ever. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous. They went out of there way to insure we were taken care of. The cabanas by the beach were great as we were able to jump in the water at our leisure or just relax in the shade.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your positive comments, I am glad to read that you enjoyed your vacations at Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya. We look forward to welcome you again in a near future. Warm Regards, Javier Martinez Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Great all inclusive experience

Posted Aug 29, 2017
I was leary of the all inclusive experience but was pleasantly surprised. This hotel is infact a boutique property. The food beat expectations as it was truely amazing. I expected a certain all inclusive cliental but found the majority of guests were classy and respectful. The hotel was nice but it is showing some signs of poor maintenance. Service was mostly good short of a few bad apples. I will return to a Karisma property with my family in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Fabulous Family Resort

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Every part was family friendly - food, entertainment, staff, etc.
Cons: A zero-entry pool for the littles would be great, but the 1.5 ft. worked nicely.
Location: Easy location to get to from the airport.
Everything about this resort is family friendly. Food choices, staff friendliness, crying/screaming children, bartenders, etc. The swim-up suites are absolutely a must if you have kids that are ready for the pool all of the time. Safe for the little ones too. Did I mention the food - adult choices are definitely gourmet. The fresh lobster was well worth the up charge. The best we have ever had. The resort is small enough to get around easily and large enough to get a variety each day. We will definitely come back.
5 out of 5
by Christophe

Great stay!

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was perfect, unless the fact that there is nothing around (the hotel is pretty isolated) and the fact that this is a very, very family friendly resort. As a couple, you want/need some quiet moments sometimes... but again, overall, great hotel, very clean, the service and the food were very good! People at the restaurants were sooo friendly and accomodating. This country deserves to be visited!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn . NY

Excellent Food, Wonderful Food and Family Friendly

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: The VIBE, the cleanliness , the delicious food , the warm and inviting atmosphere!
Cons: Expedia describing a 980 square foot deluxe room for a tiny room that fits a bed and a tiny bathroom with only a shower stall!
Unfortunately I would give Expedia Zero Stars for describing the Deluxe Suite as 980 Square feet. We were lead to a dark small room where we could barely fit 2 pack and plays for our twins as well as a tiny stand up shower! Out of pocket, we paid for an upgrade, a large room with a tub and adequate room for 2 cribs that we could walk around! What stands out? The staff goes out of their way to be kind and welcoming. The food is wonderful. The grounds are manicured. It is so child friendly but at the same time is great for adults too. What a wonderful way to spend a week in winter!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

don't stay here

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
Was an awful stay for me, the rooms were moderately clean and the resort was extremely quiet and boring. I paid for some spa services and it was substandard and a complete rip off. The sand at this beach is not as soft as other resorts either. I will not be coming here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent with one area of improvement

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Orbitz
My husband, baby, mother and I just came back from a lovely 9 day visit to Azul Beach. Overall, we had a fabulous time. There was an initial issue with the rooms we were given, which Was quickly fixed for us. For those who are wondering what kind of room to get, I suggest springing for the Junior or Family suite - they are in a newer section of the hotel and very very well appointed. I much preferred these to the Deluxe Suite. I have no clue as to why others have complained about the service, unless those commenting are completely unreasonable and rude. We found the staff at Azul Beach to be top notch - probably the best service we have ever had (compared to Hard Rock, Moon Palace, and several others). Mateo, Marco, Edwin, Shirley, Marimoto, Israel were all fabulous and incredibly attentive. Anything we needed or wanted was brought to is very quickly. We also thought the food was excellent. All baked goods are made on premise. The buffet breakfast was great and thorough and the restaurants had delicious offerings (although we didn't try the Japanese restaurant). The grounds were very well kept and the shows were entertaining. I did find the kid pools to be a little dirty though - but a quick debris sweep would clean that right up. The one area that I'd like to see improved is to have a designated smoking area. I detest cigarettes and was rather annoyed that people could smoke around me no matter where I went.k
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay with one improvement

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Orbitz
My husband, baby, mother and I just came back from a lovely 9 day visit to Azul Beach. Overall, we had a fabulous time. There was an initial issue with the rooms we were given, which Gerry & Antonio quickly fixed for us. For those who are wondering what kind of room to get, I suggest springing for the Junior or Family suite - they are in a newer section of the hotel and very very well appointed. I much preferred these to the Deluxe Suite. I have no clue as to why others on Orbitz have complained about the service, unless those commenting are completely unreasonable and rude. We found the staff at Azul Beach to be top notch - probably the best service we have ever had (compared to Hard Rock, Moon Palace, and several others). Mateo, Marco, Edwin, Shirley, Marimoto, Israel were all fabulous and incredibly attentive. Anything we needed or wanted was brought to is very quickly. We also thought the food was excellent. All baked goods are made on premise. The buffet breakfast was great and thorough and the restaurants had delicious offerings (although we didn't try the Japanese restaurant). The grounds were very well kept and the shows were entertaining. I did find the kid pools to be a little dirty though - but a quick debris sweep would clean that right up. The one area that I'd like to see improved is to have a designated smoking area. I detest cigarettes and was rather annoyed that people could smoke around me no matter where I went - I constantly had to move in order to av
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Orbitz
The hospitality was incredible, very clean, met our every need
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Amazing Staff & Baby Friendly

Posted Oct 1, 2016
As soon as we arrived at Azul Beach we were greeted with drinks and a fruit smoothie for my daughter. Thania from concierge was very informative, courteous, and helpful. We were able to chose a room scent from a variety of scents and were also able to chose from a variety of pillows to fit out comfort. We opted to upgrade for a swim up junior suit and we were very happy with our decision. When we arrived at our room, there were some item missing such as the coffee pot and room service menu but they were quickly brought to the room. All the baby amenities ( crib, changing table, bath tub, bath robe, monitor, bottle warmer, and bottle sanitizer) were also brought to our room quickly. I had some trouble with the AC but It was also addressed quickly, the remotes just needed to be changed out. Since we opted for the swim up junior suit, we were able to swim and access the swim up bar ( Gregorio at the bar was great!) while my daughter napped and we had the baby monitor handy. I can't say enough positive things about ALL the staff members, everyone was proffesional and polite, I am so grateful for the excellent service provided by all the staff members. I really wish I would've written down the names of all the waiters who assisted us, everyone went above and beyond to make sure we were well taken care of. All the restaurants were delicious and the margaritas were yummy! My daughter loved Azulitos kids club She was able to meet Sponge Bob, Patrick, and Boots which we all enjoyed!