Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Uneven service and mixed experience

Posted Oct 24, 2017
The problem with this resort is that it has a spilt personality. Some aspects are sorely lacking in quality: like the subpar food, poorly made drinks, the understaffed and somewhat unprofessional front desk. Other aspects are really good, like the spa, pool areas and the jacuzzis in the room. Because of this inconsistency, I could never recommend this place to a friend. They need to decide to offer excellent service in every aspect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Alfonso López // General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Stacey , thank you for sharing your feedback with us at Expedia. After reading through your report I am disheartened to know that there were areas that we fell short of our high standards mentioning the disappointment in the food and drinks offered and service received by our staff. Be assured that all mentioned will be used to make perfections in our services as we do not strive for mediocrity. Please do not hesitate to contact the Customer service team by Karisma so that all mentioned can be reviewed with you directly. Kindest regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Beautiful Hotel! Warm Staff!

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: The Staff is what makes this place great!
Cons: Not so crazy about the rocks and reef at the beach.
We stayed in a Premium Jacuzzi Suite and it was great, the view of the pool and the ocean was gorgeous!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Alfonso López, Hotel Management
"Thank you for your brief review and for taking the time to share your experiences with the Trip advisor community. I hope to see you back at the Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico again very soon. Kind regards, Alfonso López H. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Exceeded expectations for an all-inclusive

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Our first floor room that walked out to the pool, the Italian restaurant Siena and Reggae night on the beach with a band from Jamaica.
Cons: The quality of the dinner offerings -- particularly anything made with meat or chicken -- could be better. Room lighting could also be improved.
Location: There is NOTHING to do nearby. We took at $90 roundtrip cab ride to Playa del Carmen one evening and had dinner. But it was also 40 minutes each way
I am not generally a fan of the all-inclusive experience, however, since I was taking a trip with my 12-year old niece, it seemed like the best option. Azul Sensatori delivered well on the all-inclusive experience with very clean rooms and public spaces, friendly and helpful staff and abundant food and drink options. The property is quite pretty and feels spacious even when at full capacity. There is also a wide array of daily activities so you can be as active -- or relaxed -- as you choose to be. Our first floor room which walked out directly to the pool was ideal. The terrace had two lounge chairs, a cushioned love seat and a drying rack for wet bathing suits. The room air conditioner was also quite strong and felt good after a long, hot day int he sun. Like the rest of the property, the pool was kept quite clean. We liked the Italian restaurant, Siena, the best and ate there on four of our seven nights (yes, that got a bit boring). The Mexican restaurant, ironically, was not the best. Drinks are ok if you stay basic. The frozen drinks are quite sweet and they don't understand how to make a martini. So, find a simple drink that you like a stick with it! Nightly entertainment was family friendly. Our favorite was Tuesday night Reggae on the beach with a band from Jamaica. Lots of fun! Sadly, the ocean was the biggest disappointment of the entire stay. We LOVE the beach but found this one riddled with seaweed and rocks, making swimming a challenge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Alfonso López, Hotel Management
"Dear guest, Many thanks for sharing your experiences with future travelers, I enjoyed reading your feedback and I'm happy you had a fantastic vacation at the Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico. I am glad to know that you enjoyed from the beginning to the end. Thank you for your feedback which we will use constructively in order to improve our facilities and services. Again, thank you for choosing the Resort Sensatori Mexico. for this vacation and we hope to share many more in the future. Kind Regards, Alfonso López H. General Manager "
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wedding Ceremony

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Nice hotel. Huge suites! Remote. Nothing outside of hotel unless you do a tour or take a shuttle to Cancun or other local beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Guest, Hotel Management
Greetings from riviera maya! Thank you for your time to provide us your review. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
by Brett

Enjoyable getaway

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Great resort. A little pricey in my opinion, but the resort offers everything you could ask for from the spa, swim up bars, food varieties and beach access...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just Ok...

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: The pools were nice. The fitness team was outstanding.
Cons: The bathrooms in the hotel
We visited this hotel for a friends wedding. The hotel was just ok for the price we paid. We didn't go through our friends travel agent since the price was even higher, we book through Expedia. The hotel is considered Gourmet Inclusive, which I didn't find to be true. Most nights,the food was not great. I ate bread and mashed potatoes at the wedding because the meat was so over cooked I had trouble chewing. And the last night we were there we went to the Caribbean themed restaurant, where I did not eat either. The whole food experience was not bad, the Italian place and the Tapas place were simply amazing. The rooms were fine, except do not share a room with someone other then a person you want to hear/see you use the restroom. The door has a 2 inch gap and is made of frosted glass. So if you like to hear/see a person on the toilet then this is great, however if you are rooming with a friend I suggest asking them to stand on the porch while you go. And flush multiple times, because nothing seems to go down. However on the plus, the staff was extremely friendly especially the fitness staff. If you want a great fitness class on vacation Jorge and Louis are your guys. No frills, hardcore boot camp and beach functional training. Great classes and really motivating instructors. Overall the drinks were good and the decor was nice, just feel like we paid a whole lot of money for a very little amount of value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average hotel, look for better if you want luxury

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
Good, not great. Many others probably much better than this all-inclusive. Food is ok but probably doesn't say much when room service was the best food there. I would investigate others in the area and put this at around average to above average, by no means a 4-star hotel. Everyone in our group had room issues upon checkin and trust all the reviews when they say that the ocean view is better. It's not. You barely see the ocean and no one was thrilled about there rooms as if there weren't any real huge differences.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice all inclusive hotel for reasonable price

Posted Apr 11, 2016
For the money spent, I think it the best deal around. Check prices on expedia. I really enjoyed the stay The food is above average but not the Ritz. Entertainment is a bit weak but I would recommend it to families with small kids and adults
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stress Free Vacation

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Pros: I looked up on-line, which all inclusive hotel chain had the best food in Riviera Maya.
Location: We stayed on the property this time and did not venture out.
Everything about the resort was amazing. If possible, book a room in the premier (adult only with the age of an adult being 18) building. This level gives you a more customized experience with choice of pillow, natural soaps and aromatherapy for your room. The food on a whole was definitly gourmet. The Spoon has a wonderful buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Caribbean restaurant and the Italian restaurant were both delicious. The Mexican, not so much. No worries about the freshness of the food. If you are a big drinker, the drinks are free flowing. At the pool, there is drink service only. No food is allowed at the pool so lunch time is a good time to take a break from the sun. Smoking was almost non-existent while we were there and I could not of been more thrilled. Cannot wait to go back again next year. It was also family friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Met some really great people, the food was good, the service was great