Ratings based on 2,636 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, Mo

First all enclusive

Posted Sep 21, 2017
If you are looking for a place with plenty of places to eat and drink then look no further. The adults only was pretty great especially when relaxing next to the pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Just Married, thank you for your preference in Excellence Riviera Cancun and for recommending us to all Expedia viewers. We are pleased to know that our relaxing ambiance and great culinary selections made your holiday even more enjoyable. Thank you for your review and please know that we look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing time at the resort! Receive our warmest regards from Cancun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

100% satisfaction guaranteed

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Excellent food, and service. Pleasant atmosphere, happy, attentive staff. Clean and well maintained, the grounds in particular well cared for.
Cons: Perhaps the drapes in the Club lounge need refreshing, a little drab.
Location: Easy to access the sites, Tulum, Chichen Itza, Cancun. Lovely beach with warm water to bathe.
This was our second stay, 01/09/17'and if anything, even better than the first. Well worth the up-grade to the Club rooms if you want extra special treats... The club pool concierge Fernando, and his two colleagues looked after us extremely well. The bar, pool and beach service were excellent. The food in all the resturants is very good, the staff always attentive, polite and happy to give great service. Basmati a new addition since our last visit, really good. We celebrated our anniversary and my birthday, on each occasion dining at Chez Isabelle, Rosendo the resturant manger looked after us exceptionally well. To watch his staff work as a team, was delightful, every attention to detail taken care of. Rosendo had also We encountered so many very pleasant and helpful members of staff, too many to mention as individuals, but a couple shine through.. the evening bar tender in the Excellence Club lounge, quietly going about his job, always attentive, thank you... unfortunately I never saw your name badge clearly...the Club conceierge staff, all so helpful ..Pedro Josue, pool weider, so lovely to meet a young person so dedicated to his job and have such ambition, good luck to you...and again Rosendo for our Mexican wine tasting in Chez Isabelle, excellent introduction to great grape varieties. All the staff work endlessly to make the resort a pleasure to stay in and always with a smile... To Manuel Gonzalez, general manager, you have an exceptional work force.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Carolyn, first and foremost, thank you for selecting Excellence Riviera Cancun, once more, as the host of your Caribbean holiday celebration! It brings us much satisfaction to know that our delightful ambiance, attentive staff, excellent amenities, culinary options and five star services exceeded all of your expectations and made your celebration even more special. Furthermore, we are pleased to hear that our personnel have exceeded your expectations with the quality service that distinguishes Excellence Resorts. Rest assured that your review has been forwarded to the related departments to extend your congratulations to our valued staff members Rosendo and the Chez Isabelle team, Pedro Josue and Manuel Gonzalez. They will be more than happy to receive your compliments! Dear...., We appreciate your review and loyalty and know that it would be a pleasure to welcome you back for another wonderful time at the resort! Please receive our best wishes and warmest regards from sunny Cancun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ky

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Our favorite resort!!! The food is excellent and the service is awesome. Never had a bad experience here and have been four times. We have sent multiple couples to this resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kimberly, thank you for selecting Excellence Riviera Cancun, once again, as the host of your Caribbean holiday! We are more than happy to know that our five star services and succulent culinary options still exceeds your expectations.Thank you for your review and recommendation! We highly appreciate your loyalty and can't wait to welcome you back to your favorite resort! Receive our warmest regards from Cancun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Excellent resort

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: It is a beautiful resort. The spa was outstanding.
Cons: nothing
Location: Not much to do nearby. Puerto Moreles is a small touristy town. I found no reason to leave the resort.
This resort exceeded my expectations. The facilities and service were exception.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sara, thank you for your preference! It gives us an enormous fulfillment to know that our goal of delivering excellent service in a luxurious fashion is achieved. Please know that it would be a pleasure to welcome you back for another excellent experience in Cancun!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Staff was excellent, food great, servicegreat. everyone was friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your preference in Excellence Riviera Cancun! We are glad to know that our culinary options and five star services exceeded your expectations. Please know that it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back to the resort!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iowa

almost perfect

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: service
Cons: barcelona restaurant
everything is almost perfect.Room is clean,good size ,only thing they need replace coffee makers they old and make bad coffee.Pools good and clean and room for everybody, towels on every corner.Beach is perfect lot chairs,they cleanin all day,service on beach perfect i hope hotel people read this because they need award waiter Fidel for his work always smile,need drink ,food,fruit right away he is there for anybody.Barcelona restaurant is my only small problem food is always same and sometimes cooked way before service,diner restaurants are very good everybody can find something for himself my favorite lobster house and grill
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dura, thank you for selecting Excellence Riviera Cancun as the host of your Caribbean holiday and for sharing your experience with all our Expedia viewers. We are delighted to know that our luxurious accommodations, immaculate beach and attentive staff made your holiday even more memorable. We are also pleased to hear that our personnel have exceeded your expectations with the quality service that distinguishes Excellence Resorts. Rest assured that your review has been forwarded to the related departments to extend your congratulations to our valued staff member Fidel. Furthermore, we also appreciate your feedback which serves us to review our culinary and facility standards and implement necessary improvements. Thank you for your feedback and know that we will be more than happy to welcoming you back to the resort! Please receive our warmest regards from Cancun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Excellent hotel.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
This is so far the best resort we have stayed at. Food and service were amazing, the whole staff welcomes you and want you to feel comfortable and happy. The rooms were extra clean at all times. They even put your sleepers by the side of the bed and leave relaxing music playing at night. The beach is stunning. Lots of activities. Close to the Cancun Airport, Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Coba, etc... The one and only recommendation is the music around open areas and at night parties. The music should be more diverse and not only cathetered to English speaking guests. We were expecting more modern Latin, Anglo hits and not just 80s - 90s Anglo ones.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Daniel, thank you for choosing Excellence Riviera Cancun as the host of your Caribbean holiday! We are overjoyed to know that you enjoyed your time at the resort and that our exquisite culinary options, comfortable accommodations, immaculate beach and fun activities made your stay even more enjoyable! We also appreciate your feedback about the music in public areas which serves us to review our entertainment standards and implement necessary improvements. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back for another excellent experience in Cancun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ind

Fantastic hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2017
We loved this hotel. The service was over and above any other. The spa was the best. Food was exceptional. This was our best stay in Mexico.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear sherry, Thank you for choosing Excellence Riviera Cancun as the host of your well deserved vacation in Cancun. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at the resort and that our excellent staff and relaxing spa made your holiday even more enjoyable. Please know that it would be a pleasure to welcome you back for another wonderful experience in Cancun!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oklahoma

Great hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
We enjoyed our stay. The staff I just can't say enough about. The staff here is incredible. From the staff that greet you in passing to the restaraunts, room service, check in, everyone was so so kind and welcoming. The food was just ok. Everything kind of tastes The same and has The same flavor and compared to food we are used to is difficult to eat at times. Room service wasn't good at all. The best meal we had was at chez Isabelle for dinner. It was exceptional and jose was a terrific waiter. The culture of the food was fun to experience it just wasn't for us. The Martini bar inside was great during the day our favorite bartender was Jesus. He was always funny and very accommodating. The spa was great, very clean. The massage therapists were very professional. The rooms were very clean and up to date. Very impressed. I cannot say enough things about how well this place is staffed. Literally staff everywhere at all times cleaning and helping make the resort great. The beach was very clean, powdery soft sand. Plenty of chairs to sit at. The gift shops, cigar lounge, and wine lists were absolutely way too expensive. The shows at night were a lot of fun. The housekeeping ladies are incredible and cleaned our room twice a day. Enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear paige, Allow us to thank you for selecting Excellence Riviera Cancun as the host of your Caribbean holiday in Mexico. We also want to thank you for taking your time to share your discontent regarding your stay at the resort with us. Given the feedback about the food we apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At Excellence Riviera Cancun, our expert Chefs and Kitchen Staff are committed to provide our guests with an excellent dining experience. By standard, the best quality ingredients and beverage selection are carefully selected to provide a variety of culinary options that are outstanding in taste and presentation; which in turn are also designed to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests. Also thank you for your feedback in regards to the prices of the several facilities we have on property, your review will be forwarded to the related departments for potential improvements. Ms. Paige, we are glad to know that despite the unsatisfactory occurrences, our attentive staff made your holiday even more enjoyable. Receive our warmest greetings from Cancun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cancun

Great Vacation

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Everything was great except the ocean view upgrade was not the best view. Blocked my palm trees
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear tina, Thank you for your preference! We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon to provide only the best memories!