Ratings based on 2,657 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland OR

Beach hotel with crowded pulls and terrible ocean

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Small resort with overcrowded and noisy main pull.Beach is ok but ocean terrible.Food is average.Rooms are clean but bed is to high .Service is ok.Some people are super friendly and some wouldn’t even look at you.I don’t know where the rating for this hotel came from but definitely not better than 4 stars
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

First class service!

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness throughout the resort was first-rate and the rooms were comfortable and well stocked. The beach is well maintained of seaweed.
Cons: Verrrry slow wi-fi and often intermittent. Would be nice to have at least one casual buffet available for dinner.
Location: Short 2 mile beach walk to Puerto Morales. Easy to take a collectivo to either Cancun or Playa Del Carmen.
One of the nicest Riviera Maya all-inclusive resorts we have stayed at. Great variety of restaurants, wide selection of menu items and it was nice not to have to make reservations. Staff were engaging and a delight to spend time with.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing from the food to the room and the drinks

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Great food, great staff, and great drinks. Loved the location. We have stayed at their other location in playa and felt they were both amazing. We will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NE Pennsylvania

A wonderful place to relax and recharge

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: The attention of the management to detail. The attention and friendliness of the staff. The overall professionalism of all involved.
Cons: More opportunities to dance. More American sports on TV
Location: Location to the airport was very convenient. Diving and snorkeling opportunities abound.
This was our second vacation to an Excellence facility. This trip was even better than the first. My wife and I were celebrating my birthday, our first trip was for a special anniversary. We choose well both times. Excellence is a place for all adult age categories, from honeymooners to senior citizens. This was important to us because we wanted the energy and experiences of all groups. The resort is only 15-20 minutes from the airport which was most convenient. It is an upscale beautiful facility, clean and well manicured. Our room was very comfortable and extremely well appointed. The food and drink were "Excellent", the personal, professional services and attention from the staff, from the moment we arrived until our bags where put back in the shuttle was even better. We congratulate the resort management for their skill and attention to detail. We have been to Mexico 18-19 times because we have always enjoyed the area and the people. We have stayed in many of the fine hotels and resorts from Cancun, Playa del Carmen and south on the Riviera Maya. We have convinced many of our friends and family to join us or go on their own. " Viva Mexico", "Viva Excellence" see you again in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Omaha NE

Great trip

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Staff
Location: We went to Tulum to see the ruins. Lots of walking and very hot.
We are a 60's couple that have stayed in numerous resorts in Mexico. We were upgraded to a Club swim-up room. Don't know why but enjoyed it very much. The resort is just the right size. We have stayed in larger and smaller places and feel this was just the right size. The staff will do all they can to make your stay enjoyable. Abel, at the main bar took very good care of us. You can hang out at the main pool where the games are or you can find a quiet pool to relax. Lots of pools to find your spot. Food was good. You won't go hungry. Lots of choices to fit all appetites. Lobster House was our favorite. Order as many as you want. Entertainment was good with different shows and music every night. The beach is powder white sand. Sandy swimming area with a little seaweed in it. Probably the best beach we have been on in Mexico. Club checkin and checkout was a little slow. Not enough people there. This is a 5 star resort with a little age on it. Nothing to complain about though. I would recommend this resort to friends and family. Got a very good rate on Expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Stayed from Sept 30th thru Oct 7th - second time staying - the staff is excellent. The food was very good, and the rooms were very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Beautiful Resort! Amazing!!

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Went on a 5 day stay at this resort. The food there is amazing, and I'm a picky eater. The hotel staff is very friendly and the resort is very well maintained. They have nightly shows which were not bad and daily activities and a delicious stone oven that they make pizzas in every day near the pool. The drinks were good, but never strong enough to get a buzz going. The Room we had was clean and beautiful. Would definitely stay there again! There were only a few minor cons: the bathroom had a swinging door instead of one with a lock, so that was slightly uncomfortable. Room service did not get our order down when we made it one day before an early excursion, but came through and brought it within 15 minutes the next morning. The last thing is not the resort's fault, but a fair warning- the ocean had bottles on the bottom and lots of seaweed this time of year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Excellence Riviera Cancun vs Beloved Playa Mujeres

Posted Oct 8, 2017
I booked a hotel of the same company this year again because I liked Beloved which went last year. Last year, I did not write a review and write it together. Advantages of Beloved Small boutique hotel, quiet, spacious room, good quality food, staff friendly face and friendly greetings, pretty sea color (September 2016), free rental of various activity equipment Disadvantages of Beloved Food is generally salty, restaurant is not varied, pool is small,Various events less at night Excellence Riviera Advantages Location is in the middle of Hotel Zone and Playa del Carmen. Convenient to travel, variety of restaurants, food is generally delicious (Italian, Lobster House, Asian Hibachi.......), Aroma coffee shop (coffee, juice, desserts are varied and very delicious), Night events vary Excellence Riviera Disadvantages Late at night, noisy, late until music and events (The drunken person makes noises at 1:30 am and the resort does not take any action) The sea is dark and deep, the waves are strong, there is no feeling of the Caribbean sea (September 2017) If a calm atmosphere and the sea is important beloved is recommended. If interesting events and food are important, I recommend excellence riviera. Both resorts are satisfied and next year I am going to go to another country excellence :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear J, thank you for your preference in Excellence Resorts. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time at the mentioned resorts and that our all- inclusive services, attentive staff, exquisite culinary options and facilities exceeded your expectations. We also appreciate your feedback which serves us to evaluate our standards and implement necessary improvements. Thank you for your detailed review and please know that we look forward to welcoming you back to one of our resorts! Please receive our warmest regards from Cancun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los Angeles

Excellence is no understatement

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Beautiful place with super friendly English speaking staff. The food choices not to mention quality was outstanding. The drinks were top notch and always on point with watiers coming to your very need. Perfect honeymoon we loved it and will definetly be back for more!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ryan, thank you for your preference in Excellence Riviera Cancun! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at the resort and that our exquisite culinary options, attentive staff and premium liquor and wine selection made your honeymoon celebration even more special. Thank you for your review and please know that we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort. Please receive our warmest regards from Cancun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, Michigan

Romantic Getaway

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Our second time back at this resort and we couldn't have had a better stay! We upgraded this trip to club level and I thought it was well worth it! It was a more personalized experience with top amenities, a club only pool and beach area with exclusive bars and staff. We had the ocean view rooftop terrace. The plunge pool and view did not disappoint. The food was great. The entertainment was great. They had activities throughout the whole day to enjoy. My husband played pool volleyball everyday and went air rifle shooting. We met great people and thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Natalie, thank you for choosing Excellence Riviera Cancun as the destination of your romantic getaway. It gives us much satisfaction to learn that your stay with us was one of your absolute liking. Thank you for your review and please know that it would be a pleasure to welcome you back for another excellent experience at the resort. Please receive our warmest greetings from sunny Cancun!