Ratings based on 1,242 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good but unplug the phone

Posted Feb 19, 2017
The food is tasty and they have a very good variety among all restaurants. The menu at the Italian restaurant was delicious. Mahi Mahi with garlick and basil in the Marina restaurant is out of this world. Beach is nice, although full of algae, but you see them cleaning it every day. Extra services for platinum guests are a nice plus. Infinity pool was perfect temperature. Staff is corteous and helpful. It was our second time at the hotel, first time we left wanting to go back, it was a good decision to come back. Everything was almost perfect, if they would stop calling at 9 am in the morning or before to invite us to the guest services desks, for learning about gifts and promotions. (Who wants to be woken up early while in Riviera?). I complained about it and still they called, so I unplug the phone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Ricardo Bustamante / General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your opinion about our Hotel, We are glad that you did enjoy the variety of our Restaurants and that you tried a different tasty cuisine each night of your stay. It is really good to know that you had a good time and that you could relax during your vacation. Thank you also, for your observation about the experience you had with the phone calls to your room. We apologize for this, be sure that we will do everything to fix this situation. We hope we can continue being your choice the next time you decide to come back to Puerto Morelos. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel with great food

Posted Feb 16, 2017
This hotel turned out to be better than expected. It is such a beautiful resort in a great location. The staff is so friendly and welcoming that it makes you feel at home right away. Also the food here is great, definitely be sure to take advantage of the actual restaurants throughout the property.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Ricardo Bustamante., Hotel Management
Dear Amber, It is very nice to hear that our Hotel turned out to be better than you expected, what a pleasant comment, Let me thank you first, for choosing us as your Hotel and for taking the time to write such a lovely review, it is very important for us to learn about our guests experiences. We appreciate your comments about our staff, our Hotel and our Restaurant’s service, I am very glad that you really enjoyed it all. We look forward to seeing you next time your travel brings you to Puerto Morelos. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 14, 2017
We stayed at El Cid 2/10-2/13 for a short get away weekend. The staff was very attentive and always friendly and helpful, especially the servers on the beach and at the pool. After the mixed reviews we weren't sure if we'd enjoy the hotel but were pleasantly surprised at how nice and clean the hotel, room and grounds were. We were upgraded to a suite overlooking the big pool and beach. Although the music in the afternoon could be loud in the room - it didn't bother us as we spent the entire day outside. We moved between the beach and pool and truly enjoyed the beautiful views. The food was good at the buffet, the Italian restaurant was average but the Mediterranean restaurant was outstanding! I think the hotel has done a great job of thinking about all the "little things" that made our trip more enjoyable. We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and will be back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Ricardo Bustamante/ General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Liz, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us through Expedia which is very important for us in order to continue improving our services. I am very happy to read we met all your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us at el Cid Riviera Maya. We will be awaiting your return the next time your travel brings you to La Riviera Maya. Kind Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

4 star stay at 3 star resort and snorkeling

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: It was in a nice, quiet location.
Cons: Airport shuttles that are less expensive, free or cheap wi-fi and shuttle to town.
My husband and I stayed for 5 nights. This was our first time at an all-inclusive resort. We had a nice time. This hotel is advertised as a 4 star resort but it seemed more like a 3 star place to me. Beware the “personal concierge” that bombards you when you are checking at the front desk and asks if you want drinks. Becky gave us a lot of information about the resort that the front desk agent didn’t (which was nice) but she ultimately wanted us to see her presentation (1.5 hours) in exchange for free snorkeling and a Mayan calendar tile. The rooms definitely show their age. We stayed in building 19. We were in our first room for 2 nights but changed because of loud neighbors. The second room we stayed in was just as loud and we figured it’s because each of the rooms has a door to make the room adjoining but that takes away from the soundproofing. We could hear everything our neighbors said (in both rooms). Our second room had a big chunk missing from the bathroom countertop and the floors were cracked and had missing grout. The rooms were clean though. Overall, we were pleasantly surprised with the food. The a la carte restaurants were not very vegetarian friendly, the buffet had great veggies to pick from. The food at the buffet actually seemed fresher than at the restaurants that you ordered off a menu, very strange. The staff was great, polite and tried to speak English and understand our broken Spanish. The grounds were nicely manicured and we spent a lot
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Ricardo Bustamante/ General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us because it is through guest reviews such as yours that we can assess the standards of our service, and therefore make changes, so as to meet and exceed your expectations. It is good to know that you enjoyed our food and differents kind of restaurants with our staff who was always friendly and helpful. As soon as I read your comments I got back to each department in order to make the improvements to offer a beter service. We are thankful for the opportunity to continue to improve every day. I would hope that you would reconsider coming back to stay with us when your plans might bring you to Mazatlan again in the future. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel right on the beach

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Orbitz
The resort was fantastic! It is right on the ocean and the pools are great! The staff was very attentive and friendly. Will definitely be returning here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Ricardo Bustamante / General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We really appreciate that you chose us to be your Hotel on your last time visiting Puerto Morelos, and for taking the time to write a review about the experience you had during your stay, It’s a pleasure to read that all your expectations were satisfied by our team, thanks for all your positive comments and for saying that you would like to be back, we are really happy to read that. We hope your next visit would be as good as the last one and that you would make more great experiences here in our Resort. See you soon. Best Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Clean and well maintained hotel

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Orbitz
Purchased package through Orbitz - All inclusive so no transfer to the hotel. We were over charged for a cab ride "TO" the hotel which is about half hour away from the airport. Cab fare should be about $36.00 one way !!!! Check in was quick and easy! It was really nice to be offered a ice cold drink when we were checking in. No free wifi! Had to pay $100 for 7 days which I thought was wayyyyy too much but felt we needed it to be able to communicate with my family back home. Food is very good at all restaurants. My favorite was the Mediterranean. Staffs were very attentive and friendly. They had shows most nights to entertain. Pools are lengthy and right by the beach. It's easy to find a spot by the pool but difficult to find one by the beach as most of areas are reserved early and for only platinum customers. Overall this is a 4.3 hotel in my opinion.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Ricardo Bustamante/ General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Shona, First of all I would like to thank you for took the time to share your feedback regarding your experience with us at el Cid Riviera Maya. Reviews such as yours let us know the improvements we need to do and continue offering the best experiences ever to our guests. I am very glad to hear our staff was friendly and helpful to your needs and that you enjoyed our restaurantes and shows. We hope to continue being your choice the next time you come back. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: The staff and cleanliness of the resort.
Cons: The food portions
We went with another couple whose room was right near all the construction so you would be woken up by that every day. However, our room was not by that and we did not experience that problem. So depending on your room location will probably influence your review of Hotel Marina. One thing to note that although this is an all-inclusive the food at the sit down restaurants was great, they were EXTREMELY small portions. The wait staff by the adults-only pool were amazing and our hotel room was clean and big and the staff did an awesome job helping me celebrate my birthday. Overall a great trip, just glad we were not on the end of the resort with the construction. Don't forget to visit the bar by the seafood restaurant, as we found this our last night and had a lot of fun.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Ricardo Bustamante / General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Kaitlyn, Thank you very much for writing a review about your experience during your last vacations to Cancún, I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay on our Hotel and that you celebrated you birthday in here! Happy birthday! We appreciate all your comments and your observation about our Restaurant’s service, your comments are very important, because in this way we can continue improving our services to provide our guests the best experiences. Please be assured that we will do all we can to solve the issue you mentioned. We hope to see you again the next time your travel brings you to Puerto Morelos. King regards,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Mostly nice, but timeshare crap ruins it all

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Most staff are very friendly and attentive. The pools and beach are nice and clean. The restaurants have a good variety of food
Their pushy approach with timeshare sales and presentations along with lies about what was actually promised nearly ruined our vacation. Traveling with friends and kids, we really wanted to go to Tulum. The (initially) friendly front desk staff directed us to their guest services which tried to sign us up for a timeshare presentation. They offered a significant discount on the trip, and considering we had 7 people (including kids), we thought it was worth a try. We were so wrong. First promise -presentation will be 1.5 hours including breakfast. Complete lie, it was 2.5-3 hours. Second promise -departure time (total lie). In order to go we had to wake our very upset kids early in the morning and get them out without breakfast (before restaurant opened). Of course the tour arrived 45 minutes later, so we could have had a normal breakfast after all. Third lie, number of seats. We asked about making sure that kids would have separate seats. When we go the voucher, only seats for adults were included. Our friends with a 1 year old and a car seat were quite annoyed. Here is the worst of it. After talking to the staff and management they fully admitted that they were wrong on the time, and the seats but refused to do anything at all. Their suggestion was that we can skip the trip or pay a different company. Ignoring the day of the trip and the day of the presentation, the rest of our stay was relatively nice. Avoid this hotel, the management do not care about guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel and accommodations.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Nice hotel. Great location. Staff very friendly. Would go back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2017 by Ricardo Bustamante., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for writing a review about your experience during your vacations on Puerto Morelos, We appreciate your comments and I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed our Hotel and that you would come back to the Resort, We will be awaiting your return the next time you visit Puerto Morelos and look forward to welcoming you to El Cid once again. Sincerely,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melvillle, Sk Canada

POOR EXPERIENCE

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: The hotel is generally ok. The food is good. Most of the staff is good.
Cons: THE BEACH IS TERRIBLE - COURSE SAND - LOTS OF ROCKS - LOTS OF PLANT GROTH
Location: Explore - Zip Line
At check in was lied to about a 1 1/2 hour following morning presentation. The presentation was to discuss activities, coupon discounts and other items which was to have happened during breakfast. Lie # 1 meeting was not during breakfast. Lie # 2 the meeting was over 3 hours and all that was discussed was a time share presentation. When presented with a 110000.00 US$ time share that would need 40k down and the balance financed at 18.99%. We wanted to leave only to be told that WE HAD TO BE SIGNED OUT BY A MANAGER. That is lie # 3 and 4. The next 2 managers are more HIGH PRESSURE CLOSERS. NO ONE OWNS ME OR MY WITH THAT WE NEED TO BE SIGNED OUT. THEY TOOK UP OUR HOLIDAY TIME. THE MARINA EL CID NEEDS TO APPOLOGIZE TO BOTH ME AND MY WIFE. ACTUALLY THEY SOULD REFUND US FOR OVER 3 HOURS OF OUR TIME. THIS IS THE FIRST BAD REVIEW WE HAVE EVER GAVE. WE WILL NEVER RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE ON THE PLANET EARTH. MYRON & CHERYL TRAFANANKO - MELVILLE, SASKATCHEWAN - CANADA - This whole episode left us with a poor experience and can paint all of Mexico with the same brush which we know is not true and unfair.