Ratings based on 1,207 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Southwestern Ontario

Best Holiday Yet!

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing IMO.
Location: In the heart of Riviera Maya with limitless excursions and things to do!
Secrets Silversands is the most outstanding resort we have ever stayed at. We stayed in a Preferred Club Junior Suite King Bed Ocean Front Swim Out and it was worth every penny! The staff are what make this hotel a 5 plus plus plus! Everyone is so friendly and willing to help with anything you need and the general service level is top notch. The food is delicious at every restaurant and I loved that you didn't need to make any reservations to attend dinner. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. We definitely plan to return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to the beach

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Great customer service! Food was easily accessible, really enjoyed the variety at breakfast. Had a wonderful relaxing vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Good stay . Nice pools, food and service was great . Need a beach area where you can walk into the water without beach shoes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Nice location, small beach area.

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Nice facility, great food, room needed some maintenance. Water sport vendors not accommodating, extra fees, closed early, no onsite snorkeling. Disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WI

Understaffed

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: The wait staff at the beach and pool were amazing and very attentive.
Cons: They need more staff, better chefs, and need to deal with the infectious virus. Heard they had issues with an GI virus for months.
While there we both got sick on day 3 at the same time. We were sick for 24 hours with either water or food contamination. Suspect it was the ice because within 24 hours of us getting sick all the ice machines were removed for the rest of the week. Three days out of 7 our room was not cleaned by 5 pm, so we told them not to bother it was almost turn down time. Everyday there was at least one thing that was not restocked, water, wash cloths, towels, toilet paper etc. The buffet restaurants had no variety all week., Often food was cold. The preferred club was not worth the upgrade, food had no variety and was often cold. We previously stayed at Secrets in Montego Bay and Cancun both of those resorts had wonderful preferred club food and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Stars of SSS

Posted Dec 11, 2017
The staff are amazing at this resort. Ana, Mayra, Stef, and many more. You will have a good time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Overall we were very pleased with the hotel and staff, food was very good at all the spots we ate at. This was a short total relaxation trip for us and we got to do exactly that! One hiccup at our arrival was the hard upsell on room upgrade and shows and sister resorts.... We had been travelling all night and were exhausted, just wanted to get to our rooms, freshen up and get food!! Ultimately due to the approach we cancelled on the trip to visit sister resort. Would have been much nicer to simply have documentation to review and take time to think about it first.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Great service, would go again. Great hotel and very helpful staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2017 by Anahí Acosta/Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun. We were delighted to read that you have enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As our regular practice, we have been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who constantly work on ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service. We look forward to having you back home in the near future. Warm regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Not a 5 star hotel nor a +VIP one

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Unfortunately we were very disappointed in this hotel. We arrived on Sunday afternoon. No one really welcomed us to the resort or offered any beverages. The gave us a room on a second floor of a building that the elevator was not working which is not idea at all. When we complained about it, they did not offer to upgrade our room, even though we were Expedia +VIP clients, it wasn't even offered. That same night we went out for dinner to the French restaurant, where we received a lousy service and it took them almost 3 hours to serve us appetizers, main dish and dessert. We had the same experience the day after at the Italian restaurant. We were supposed to get top shelf liquors but they were a lot of times they weren't being served (most of the time their reasoning was we had one bottle and it's now finished), we had to ask multiple times (basically beg). Also, at the Japanese restaurant- Himitsu they do not serve sake, even the chef found it odd. The breakfast and lunch buffet were mediocre at best. The same exact boring food everyday. The Mexican theme night, or whenever they were serving dinner outside, it was really good food though (as long as it wasn't in their restaurants!) I would not recommend this hotel, and I was really surprised usually The secrets Hotels are great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by Anahí Acosta/Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Reza, It is with great sadness that we learn of an overall disappointing experience, for which we cannot but offer our sincerest apologies. Please be certain that all your feedback have reached our Management Department and we will work in our opportunity areas. We look forward to have the honor of welcoming you back home to offer you a truly remarkable experience. Sincerely,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Very disappointed

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Unfortunately we were very disappointed in this hotel. We arrived on Sunday afternoon. No one really welcomed us to the resort or offered any beverages. The gave us a room on a second floor of a building that the elevator was not working which is not idea at all. When we complained about it they did not offer to upgrade our room That same night we went out for dinner to the French restaurant, where we received a lousy service and it took them almost 3 hours to serve us appetizers, main dish and dessert. We had the same experience the day after at the Italian restaurant. We were supposed to get top shelf liquors but they were a lot of times not giving us top shelf liquors and we had to ask multiple times (basically beg). They were most of the time out of Don Julio Tequila - a top shelf tequila. Also, at the Japanese restaurant- Himitsu they do not serve sake. The breakfast and lunch buffet were mediocre at best. The same exact boring food everyday. I would not recommend this hotel, and I was really surprised usually The secrets Hotels are great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by Anahí Acosta/Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Mash, We appreciate the time that you have spent writing a review of your stay with us. We have taken your comments very seriously and you can be certain that the necessary retraining measures are being instituted to prevent recurrences in the future. With this said, we look forward to having the opportunity to host you back in the next future, to redeem your confidence in our resort and service. Sincerely,