Ratings based on 1,303 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Very nice hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2018
Very comfortable room, great views. They make you sign a paper saying you will not bring any outside food or drink into the hotel, but they only sell cookies and chips and a couple of kinds of beer (not the kind I like) in their store. I had a master suite with a kitchen, but I’m not allowed to bring anything up there except the limited offering of the snack shop. I have wine glasses in my room, but I didn’t see any wine for sale, maybe from room service? Speaking of room service, nearly two hours to get a soup and salad ordered at 7 PM. Overall, a nice building and very good value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Restaurant is very expensive and food is just ok. Rooms are ok, but not that clean. Location is not that great, at the other end of sandy beach. Would not recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

gorgeous beach, close to town

Posted Jan 27, 2018
Spent a three-day weekend here in January. Not swimming weather, but plenty of sunshine, sand, and water. Don't miss the downtown Penasco area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2018 by Jose Barajas Reservation Manager, Hotel Management
Thank You!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MEXICO CITY

OK HOTEL NICE BEACH

Posted Jan 26, 2018
Pros: Looks nice
Cons: SERVICE
Location: The beach and the pool area are nice. I wouldn't recommend the town. busy dusty
The hotel is rated as 4 star. I would give it 2 at best. Check in took 45min. I had asked for an accessible rm when booking & had to pay an Additional US$30 for an acceptable rm because it was an "upgrade". A deposit is required in case I were to damage the rm. additional deposit required if I wanted to consume at the bar or the restaurant. The restaurant was adequate but just barely, hardly 4 star maybe 1.Check out was another hassle 1hr. had to reconcile, upgrade, deposits, consumption,and instead of providing me with the credit due I had to sign another credit card voucher for consumption, and settle for "we'll credit the difference back to your card in due course". I am a retired international banker, as such I have stayed at many hotels in Mexico and South America. Also as a disabled Veteran this in one place to avoid..I lived in Mexico for 30 years.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tucson

The best

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Love the place. Will continue to stay going forward.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Great stay and great staff.

Posted Jan 22, 2018
First time to the area of Mexico. This was a great place to stay and was also a great location. It was slow and not to many people staying at the hotel. It was their slow season. Because of that, the pool bar and eating place were not open most of our stay. Great place overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: Right on the beach. Easy to access the beach and also a small private beach just for guests.
Excellent hotel on the beach and pet friendly. Safe and secure. Excellent staff. Food was great. Flushing the toilet was my only issue, very noisy and sure they fixed it. The hotel is a great value and I love the location. They don’t allow you to bring in any food or ice chest and most rooms don’t have a smack fridge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Fantastic place to stay!

Posted Jan 9, 2018
When we first arrived we were a little skeptical of the bed and our neighbors were loud. Staff was friendly and moved us to another quiet room. Our room had an amazing view! We had a fantastic time. We will definitely be staying here again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Not much to do

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Nice hotel. Not much to do. First thing we were told upon arrival is that we couldn't take our cooler into the hotel. No food, no drink. Then the pool bar was closed in the middle of the day. Almost nothing in the way of restaurants and bars outside of the motel. Need to drive to Old Town for any restaurant and/or bar scene. Wouldn't go back. If all you want to do is lay out at the pool then Penasco Del Sol is great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Looks ok, but rules N rooms are a different story!

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pictures and pricing are very luring, but when you get there there's a strict rule that prohibits any outside food, drinks or ice chest into your guest rooms. Although, the presence of security guards is nice, they are mainly there to enforce the no food no drinks rules, not to actually protect the guest. Pools and spa are cloudy, they do check the ph levels, but do nothing about it. Pool n spa hours are spotty and not enforced equally everyday, one night we ordered drinks poolside and security closed the pool @10pm sharp!! told everyone they had to wait outside the pool for their drinks! He turned the pool lights and spa jets off too! Room walls are paper thin,not good! Good views, permised clean, bad parking, food and prices so so! Beach n restuartants nearby, also good massage/spa srvcs, horrible day tour operators got cancelled after paying for 2 tours pirate ship and bird island (not enough people) BS!! Worst is that they don't seem to care your day was ruined and that you already sch to work around those trips and they offer no apologies or discounts for another tour.