Ratings based on 418 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The people working at blue bay make the experience

Posted Dec 8, 2016
The rooms are comfortable but need updating, the food is ok do not expect five star. The staff is wonderful from the front desk, housekeeping and servers they will go out of their way to help
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

it was beautiful the food was delicious

Posted Dec 8, 2016
went with my husband and mom for her bday had a great time but the restaurant el pescador nasty sea food ugh don't choose that one for your dinner but the chef was great person came out and celebrated my mom bday it was great overall great place nice and relax
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Not interested in going back. Very outdated and pretty boring.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Ok but would not return

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Staff Food
Cons: Rooms WiFi should be included and not be an extra fee Room safe should be included and not be an extra fee
Location: Good location with a lot of fun things to do nearby
Our first room had an air conditioner that leaked from the ceiling vent and flooded the room the first night and was very loud until about 10:30 or 11 pm. The staff was very helpful with this and provided two rooms to choose from the following morning. The new room, like all the rooms i saw, was very dated and plain but served its purpose, however this one too flooded when water came under the door during a rain storm and had a musty smell to it. The staff was great!! I cannot say enough good things about them. They very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. They conducted fun games every night and organized activities all day long. The beach was nice but the water was not what you picture when you thing of the Caribbean. It was cloudy and brown in front of the resort and we walked down the beach for about 10 minutes to find clearer blue water to swim in. All in all it was ok and we enjoyed our stay but would not return to this resot
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bronx, United States of America

Took all my money

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: customer service
I never arrived, because i couldn't get into Puerto Plata due to the rain and flooding in the city. Roads were blocked, bridges were unaccessible, it was not safe and nearly impossible to get to the resort. The airport was flooded and even closed. Not sure why the hotel refuses to return my money, but I will make sure everyone I know and others avoid this hotel. Worst service ever. No consideration for the well being of their guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

BORING

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The look of the hotel is very pretty and the front staff is very nice
Cons: This place is so boring, if you are looking for a fun time this is not the hotel to go to. we had nothing to do the whole stay we were there. This hotel is more for the older crowd. They advertise premium liquor but you actually have to pay for that. When it rained we had a leak in our bathroom, there no activities other than the pool. They did not have variety at the buffet and no music at all. The group I went with were between ages 25-35. We had a horrible time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Expected more due to reviews but made the best of

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Met some really cool people. Outside restrooms, front desk, and dinning areas were clean. Friendly staff. Chic decor! Clean pool.
Cons: Fix leaky rooms and clean the rooms thoroughly daily w/o being asked. Better drinks n food. More bilingual cooks. Difficult to communicate your Vegan
Location: Little shopping plaza, bar with good food n drinks and a night club "disco" next door if you looking for other things to get into.
Ok so the reviews were definitely fudged. No king size beds (two beds slid together) Food not the greatest. All the different room selection are almost identical they just throw in a couple of sodas and a beer more as you upgrade. My bathroom ceiling leaked from the light fixture noone ever fixed it just gave extra floor towels. Bugs in the room (not bed bugs thank God...ant like bugs). Never changed the sheets or pillow cases even tho requested. Never swept or mopped the floors in the room. Drinks were extremely watered down! Stalker excursion sales people were annoying! Pool bar smelled horribly like vomit. People selling stuff on the beach made it very difficult to relax....they were so persistent it was very annoying. Tv only had 2 english stations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good place just needs some finishing touches

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Quiet and relaxing place lovely to walk around at night
Cons: Too many of the staff were rude, on arrival there was a problem with their card machine and it said the payment didn't go through, I had to call MasterCard using my mobile (costing me £27 at £3 a minute) and they had taken the payment twice! Took around an hour and a half to sort and during this time we were treated like it was our fault. Had to ring at 4.30 to get housekeeping to do our room. Outside seating could have done with being cleaned or at least hosed down and the pool needs cleaning, steak house was very bad! I went for the Angus steak that was an extra cost ($25) and it was the worst steak I've ever had, even worse than the steak they gave inclusive this after the waiter reasuring me it was great and well worth the $25
Location: We stayed in the resort,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Best staff

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: The staff the room was real clean the pool was great
Cons: To many scouters in the beach and they wasted an hour of my day trying to sell me a vacation package
Location: I personally did the four wheeling and had a lot of fun
One of the most friendliest staff I've ever seen the only thing I didn't like about the hotel is when you go yo the beach there's a group of people trying to sell you stuff and they just continue to bother also stay away from those time share people
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Y

Blue Bay Villas!

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: There's a mini mall 5 mins walk from the resort, which sells everything at a cheaper price. If you have the opportunity to go on a city tour, I would!
The hotel is part of a series of resorts on the same beach. Very well separated and the facilities were awesome! When we first arrived, we asked to be grouped with our friends in a different villa (all buildings are 3 floors high and there's 2-4 rooms per floor). They were very accommodating, I would ask in advance though, because our rooms weren't ready until 6pm and did not look like they were cleaned.... [Sheets weren't changed, water wasn't refilled, toilet wasn't cleaned] It was much more thoroughly cleaned the following day) The food is great, they have changing themes every day and the bar food at the beach has AMAZING fried chicken. We tried 2 of the 3 restaurants that required reservation in advance, the Chinese and seafood. The Chinese is a bit salty, but great atmosphere... The seafood is right on the beach but walled off by glass walls - very romantic. I can't eat seafood, but they had a great selection of vegetarian or steak options. The beach is gorgeous, a lot of ppl relaxed or played volleyball. We also enjoyed the 3 pools around the resort, 1 was a bar pool, 1 with volleyball and the spa pool was a quiet shallow pool for relaxing. The spa was also very awesome, my boyfriend has a lot of knots in his back from playing sports, but the masseuse worked them out really well. Very worthwhile!! Other than our first night in someone else's used hotel room, everything else was perfect!!