Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Great hotel for a short stay! Not much to do on site, but good beach and pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best place in Puerto Plata

Posted Jan 22, 2017
This is by far the best place to stay in Puerto Plata. This is my 5th time at this hotel. Will akways go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent couples retreat

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Very beautiful and quiet.
Cons: Oceanview, somehow blocked by natural vegetation.
Location: Very exclusive and private area (gated community), many activities around the area; tramway into a tall mountain, beautiful beach areas, sightseing
Extremely impressed and satisfied with this stay, in a lovely and beautiful place, worthy of 5 stars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with a private pool and jacuzzi.

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Great hospitality, the staff was so nice and welcoming.
Location: Close by the beach and near downtown.
Beautiful hotel. It was very relaxing to have a private pool and jacuzzi upstairs. So happy they serve tostones - my favorite snack to eat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxurious and reclusive

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
This is an excellent hotel eventhough it truly looks like a colonial house. The staff is friendly and accommodating. I wouldnt stay anywhere else.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Relaxing Time Away

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The hotel is beautiful with the ultimate in service.
Cons: Somewhat hard to find for us. We rented a car, and here were not good signage to tell us where to go.
Location: We ate at Big Eds on the beach in Puerto Plata, which was lovely. We had fish and chips. The atmosphere was awesome.
This hotel is beautiful, with ultimate in service and food. We were greeted very warmly and all the staff were very polite and caring.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from MA

For the right visitor, this is a GREAT hotel!

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: The staff is the absolutely outstanding, most memorable piece of the Casa Colonial experience. They're uniformly warm, friendly and skilled.
Cons: Beach activities (sail, windsurf, kayak, swim etc) are regulated by some mysterious 3rd party which makes too much use of the red flag.
Location: SeaPro water sports is nearby, and can do rental and/or tuition at reasonable prices. Tarappas restaurant at local mall is great!
Junior suite, Ocean view, 3rd floor...large, airy, comfortable with a pleasant spacious balcony. Ocean views are somewhat restricted by the canopy, but that doesn't diminish the experience in any way. The rooftop pool is the jewel of the hotel...this is the amenity that makes paying a bit extra worthwhile. Stunning views from the chairs between the pool and the hot tubs. Excellent bar and bar menu up here, too. Terrace restaurant is excellent for breakfast and lunch. Lucia restaurant is very classy, but the menu will feel limited after a few nights. I think they need some 'special' on a nightly basis to introduce some more variety. Location is very private, very secure, and well situated on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midland, Texas

Married Couples Paradise

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Luxury Rooms and Customer Service.
Cons: Returning Customer Loyalty Rewards. Even though we might not need it. It speaks louder than anything else.
Location: Great Location. The beach was feets away from the hotel. 15 minutes for the Airport (POP).
Amazing Hotel and staff.Casa Colonial is not cheap and is not All Inclusive Hotel. But it's the best hotel in Puerto Plata. My wife and I always stay in Casa Colonial because of their great customer service and top notch rooms. They set the standards for all the other hotels in the area. This hotel in not for young people unless you are a young entrepreneur. It's quiet and peaceful. I enjoy staying here because the way they treat my wife.They know if my wife is happy with her stay i'm happy as well. The reason why i pay top dollar is not to show off but simply because i want the best for my wife, Best Customer Service, Best Food, Best Staff. I want my wife to be pampered with great customer service from the welcoming drink to thank again for staying with us. If you guys notice there is not a lot of pictures of Casa Colonial online because people like us are too busy being pampered and enjoying our stay. Time flies when you are having fun. I could go on and on but let me just finish with this " if you value amazing customer service, safety, luxuries rooms and tours Casa Colonial is it"
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beach front sanctuary

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Very beautiful grounds, friendly and accommodating staff.
Cons: More food choices.
Location: Right on the beach if you just want to relax. There are also activities and outside excursions to choose from.
Amazing boutique hotel if you are looking for a little R&R. While there are plenty of water activities on the beach, the Casa Colonial may not be ideal for family because the food choices are very limited. There is only 1 restaurant serving breakfast/lunch and another serving dinner. The food choices in nearby hotels are sub-par if you wanted something else outside of Casa Colonial. None of the choices offer authentic Domenican food. We were recommended to take a taxi outside of Playa Dorado to dine in a local restaurant if we wanted something more authentic. It's not for the 'faint of heart' if you don't speak any Spanish. It would have been perfect if there were better food choices. Overall though we had a great time.