Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bloomfield, Connecticut

Highly recommended!

Posted Feb 28, 2017
The hotel was totally renovated recently and they did a top notch job. The rooms are on par with the rooms of some of the 4 and 5 stars hotel where I have stayed. Excellent location to everything, including the beach, which is within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Updated rooms , very nice and clean. Restaurant is still open and serves decent food
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn

Sosua is played out

Posted Feb 23, 2017
30 min wait for breakfast Haitian prostitutes every where
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice basic hotel in good location near restaurants

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Staff and restaurant
Cons: Need another trash can in the bedroom free amenities like shampoo and lotion Pool in shade. Needs tree trimmed more
Location: Restaurants and beach all within walking distance
Hotel restaurant very good. Hotel still needs some upgrading which they seem to be doing. Need a second trash can in the room, free amenities like shampoo, lotion, etc. Staff very nice and helpful. Pool still in the shade so tree needs more trimming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Arien, Hotel Management
Thanks for your comments, appreciate your remarks and we have placed in the meantime in most rooms a extra trash can, shampoo is free in every room as every shower has his own dispenser, soap and lotions is a thing we will look into...... and shade...... some like it hot,.... some like it cold.... in summertime it can be really hot so we we think we will not prune the big tree too much..... hope you understand. Looking forward t see you back again in Casa Valeria. All the best from all in Casa Valeria
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel at about 15 min walk to the beach

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Nice hotel. Owner and staff are very friendly and provide good service. Food is okay. Room was comfortable, just a little bit small for a long stay. The night life in town may not be appropriate for family/kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by arien, Hotel Management
Thanks for your comments, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Casa Valeria, in case you will stay again for a longer time.... for the next time I would recommend that you book a Luxury room as these are much bigger as well the bathrooms are bigger.. Thanks and best regards in name of the whole Casa Valeria staff !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Remodeled with Great Staff

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Friendly and responsible staff, good food, clean modern room, nice common areas.
Cons: Update photos to reflect remodeled and updated common areas and rooms. More towels and bottled water provided in room.
Really nice staff who were very helpful, from emails before the trip through transportation to the airport after my stay. Room was clean and comfortable, food and coffee were great. Quick walk to the beach and to bars and restaurants. Due to investment in remodel, my room and common areas were substantially more modern and updated than in expedia and website photos. Will likely look to stay here again on a return trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by arien, Hotel Management
Thanks Uriah for your review, nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back in Casa Valeria by your next visit to Sosua!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best Place I Never Heard Of ❤️

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
I found this place after having an horrible experience at a resort trying to find my great escape. I was skeptical at first but over all glad I gave this hotel a chance. The staff was nice, food was good, and vibe was amazing. They even had house pets. I can't say enough good things about this establishment, they really took care of me and my companion.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your great review, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to meet you again. best regards from all @ Casa Valeria
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Stay

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
Still under construction, but new rooms are stylish and comfortable. Only downside is that the internet signal is not strong enough to cover the entire complex. Had to go outside room and down the stairs to get a decent signal. Otherwise, good stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks and great to hear to you are happy with Casa Valeria and her staff, the construction is ended in the meantime....... Hope to see you back soon....... best regards Arien / Casa Valeria
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Comfortable little hotel recently renovated

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Many things including the room comfort, environment, and staff.
Location: Easy access to different points of interest in the area, and walking distance to supermarket, shops, and beach.
I enjoyed to see new renovations to the hotel which have nice new room facilities and comfort. It's a great experience to stay in a safe, quiet and comfortable hotel in a Dominican environment. The staff takes pride in preparing fresh meals while the restaurant is being renovated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Arien, Hotel Management
Dear Gary, On behalf of the whole Casa Valeria Team, thank you for your stay at Casa Valeria. We are happy to read that your expectations were met . renovation of the restaurant is finished in the meantime...... Wel look forward to welcoming you back at Casa Valeria. Best regards from all at Casa Valeria.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

TORN DOWN & MODERN HOTEL REBUILT DURING OUR STAY

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: MANAGER, ARIEN & HIS STAFF, BENT OVER BACKWARDS TO MAKE UP FOR EXPEDIA'S NOT KNOWING THE HOTEL WAS BEING REBUILT OR WAS IT THAT THEY DIDN'T CARE.
Cons: EXPEDIA SHOULD HAVE KNOWN THE HOTEL WAS TORN DOWN & THEY SHOULD HAVE GIVEN US OPTIONS. I WANT A REFUND FOR THE HOTEL!
Location: RUN DOWN UNDERDEVELOPED POOR NEIGHBORHOOD. DON'T WEAR JEWELRY! VENDORS CONSTANTLY BOTHERING YOU WHEN YOU WALK ON THE STREET.
WE TRUSTED EXPEDIA AND WHAT DID IT GET US? 6 ROOMS IN AN UNFINISHED HOTEL ,UNDER CONSTRUCTION, WITH NO RESTAURANT, NO LOBBY, BREAKFAST EVERY MORNING UNDER A TARP WITH A CAMP STOVE! THAT'S HOW LITTLE EXPEDIA CARES ABOUT CUSTOMERS ONCE THEY GET YOUR CREDIT CARD PAYMENT. MY OPINION WAS IT WAS AN UNDERDEVELOPED BAD NEIGHBORHOOD. THE SOSUA BEACH WAS A TINY SAND STRIP, TOURIST TRAP, CONSTANTLY BOTHERED BY VENDORS! DON'T RENT A CAR, IT'S VERY DANGEROUS TO DRIVE.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Arien, Hotel Management
Thanks Thomas for your comments, unfortunately we could not make you happy with your stay as we did with others ( see the other reviews... ) Customers has been informed on the Expedia website that we were under construction and we offered free cancellation if requested.... Somwhere it went wrong in the communication it seems, and we are sorry about that but we can't find us back in the comments you have against Expedia and Sosua. Hope you will have a better vacation at a other location next time. best regards Arien / Casa Valeria