Ratings based on 599 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Overall we had a great experience.

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Biggest negative was the horrible mild smell from our room, very uncomfortable mattress and no music in the pool. Another biggest negative was the lack of Spaniard food, given that my family and I are spaniards we were very sorprise not seen a variety of different Spaniard food options like we seen in other hotels. Staff members were great and very welcoming.... no complains. The best of the best was the mojitos made by Joselito, nobody could made those delicious mojitos that got us all in trouble.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Quality Manager online, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking part of your valuable time to post the review about your recent vacations with us. We are more than happy to know that hotel facilities and staff attention met up your expectations, especially the food and the great service provide by Joselito. Also, we appreciate your feedback about some points that need to be improved; we truly take care of each comment that we receive due that it represents an opportunity to elevate our hospitality services, therefore we have shared your opinions to the departments involved in order to give the proper follow up. Once again, thank you and we hope to welcome you in a near future here. Warm regards, Quality Manager Online IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Seemed good at first but progressively declined

Posted Jun 1, 2017
The resort is pretty nice, well maintained, and at first seems like a great value for the price. But by the time I left it was clear that I would never stay here again. The first morning I was woken up by a housekeeper having my door open and talking, loudly, to other housekeepers that were outside my room. For an extended period. I was literally in bed sleeping and when I realized what was happening and I said "excuse me, we're sleeping in here" and she said "you don't want your room cleaned?" I never heard of such a thing. My room didn't get cleaned for 3 straight days because we didn't leave early enough in the morning. The "mini bar" is a joke. There is barely anything in there and it only gets replenished through housekeeping so basically we had nothing for 3 days. The A/C worked great the first day in the room and then never worked again after that. The wifi didn't work barely at all the whole time I was there which caused me significant data charges on my phone. Having to make reservations for the restaurants when there was plenty of room was irritating. We got tired of the buffet but we never got up early enough or thought of it in the morning to make a reservation. Finally, on the last day there I got food poisoning from an undercooked hamburger. Pretty rough. I would not stay here again. It wasn't all bad but there was definitely too much bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Quality Manager online, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying in our IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada. We have to say that those thing you report are new for us and we are very surprise because of the following: The housekeeping ladies starts in the morning but if for any reason they cannot clean the room they come back in the afternoon but never leave the rooms unclean, also we do not have any problem with the Wi-Fi as it work perfectly in all the areas including the rooms, never got a complaint by the time you were here. Also as for the air conditioning you never report it, to know it; we would have sent someone to solve it immediately. Last but not least, we have a quality department who make sure everything is in perfect conditions to be consumed. We deeply apologize if your stay was not good but we would like to host you again, so you can see we are a good destination. Warmest Regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A, Brooklyn, NY

OK jotel

Posted May 31, 2017
Basically the property was nice. Staff as well. We had trouble with our room. And some of those problems continued when they had to move us. Who loves to pack for a vacation, unpack, pack and again and unpack AGAIN???? Our room safe didn't close properly unless you pushed it hard. The lock to the terrace was broken. There was no thermostat in the room to regulate temperature. The toilet needed to be flushed 5-7 times. Ceiling started to leak and air conditioning duct almost fell down. When this happened they moved out room. We did get the same ocean view but a pain in the neck to have to move all our stuff. The new room had the same problem with the toilet and the security lock on door was removed. Also the rooms get very humid. I will say that the hotel sent us a bottle of champagne and a fruit plate for our troubles. There are only three restaurants and if you are staying as week as we did the options get boring. There is a buffet though. All and all I'd rate the food as poor. I lost three pounds there. It is considered a premium hotel in Puerta Plata but I would not consider it as premium though. On the weekends they allow people in who are not registered guests and the pool becomes VERY CROWDED and messy. Even the food at the pool buffet was depleted in the weeeknd afternoon. We did get a deal there so I am a true believer is you get what you pay for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Quality Manager online, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate the time you took to share with us and Texpedia your opinion on your recent stay at Iberostar Bavaro Suites. We understand that unfulfilled expectations and negative experiences during your stay may prevent you from viewing our property in the future, please be assured that all points you have discussed in your feedback will be considered and used To bring our services At the level where we can meet and even surpass every expectation of our esteemed guests. We really apologize because this is not the type of stay we are used to give to those who visit us. We sincerely hope to give you the opportunity to return you to restore your trust in IBEROSTAR and to demonstrate the excellent customer service that we would like to offer. Warmest greetings, Quality Manager Online
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super Vacation

Posted May 30, 2017
This place was such a jewel until I really don't know where to start. The staff was super friendly. The resort was extremely clean and well kept -- even the public bathrooms. The food was great. The pool was clean. We had one small problem with the room, but it was immediately addressed. The only thing we paid for were the massages that we decided to treat ourselves to. If you go, please ask for Angela. She was truly an "angel" and she did a phenomenal job. My cousin got a massage, and I got a facial and a pedicure. We were so pleased with the results. The food was endless. There were so many options, and they all were good. The buffet was gigantic, and our server "Robert" was the best. We looked forward to sitting in his area every day, because he was so attentive to us. We also made reservations for each of the specialty restaurants (Japanese, Mexican, and Brazilian), and the food was delicious at each of them. The resort has a group of concierges that checked in on us daily and helped us to navigate through our many options. Hats off to "Eddy" who served us so well. He always had the answers to our questions and he was always so kind and pleasant to work with. I feel like I have a new family in Dominican Republic. My hardest decision is trying to decide where I will visit next year. I love going to new places and trying new things, but I can't imagine not going back to this lovely resort. Please consider it. It's worth every dime of your money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Quality Manager online, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, In the name of the hotel management from IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada we want to thank you a lot for having chosen our hotel as destination for your holidays. We are very sure that thanks to your wonderful and complete review many will choose us for theirs holiday: A thousand thanks for highlighting all those aspects and people who made your holiday unforgettable as was to be expected. Do not hesitate to choose us again because we will make sure that once again you pass it excellent in this destination. An affectionate greeting from the whole team,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2017
This is a beautiful resort, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The only negative is that the rooms are somewhat dated and need to be upgraded.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Quality Manager online, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience in our IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada. We apreciate all kind of review because we can see the things that we are doing perfect and those that we need to improve. Be sure that we will share your review with the management and they will work on the rooms. We look forwar to seeing you again. Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

early May vacations at Iberostar

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: nice pool, variety of foods at buffet, rooms kept very clean, nice entertainment Cons: beach I was a little disappointed by the beach, which had a lot of seaweed and actually a lot of plastic garbage floating around. Found via walking the beach that there was a small rubbish dump near the water about 800 feet to the left of the resort.... someone should clean that up and keep it cleaned. There were usually very few people actually in the water. The strong wind on the beach was an issue too to make it uncomfortable, although later in the week I realized it was only like that in the afternoon... in the morning it was pretty calm. The pool was great, with the 2 major areas between 4.5 and 5 feet deep, swim up bar, and embedded Jacuzzi (not heated though) and plenty of lounge chairs available throughout the day. Although I didn't participate in the games at the pool during the day, they were lots of fun to watch.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for staying at IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada. We appreciate your positive rating despite your disappointment with the beach. We apologize for this mishap, as you said, it is in the afternoon when the wind gets stronger, but that isn't a determining factor for not have a pleasant time on it. Once again, thank you and we hope to have the opoortunity to welcome you back in case you decide to return to Puerto Plata. Best regards, Quality Manager Online IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overrated Hotel

Posted May 15, 2017
Attended the hotel for a wedding and was very disappointed. The reviews on here are certainly inflated or sponsored. The staff was poorly trained (though many of them were very friendly). The rooms are very dated and the beds and sheets are WAY overused. The staff tried to be fun and entertaining but they were just youngsters told to come up with something it seemed like. The food was middle of the road at best. Very few vegetarian options. Would not visit this property again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Quality Manager online, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We truly apologize if we may have fell short of expectations in certain aspects of the hotel. Please know that your comments are very important to us and we will be sharing them with the proper management to ensure that these issues have been rectified. Please come back soon for another stay in which we will make sure that you confirm that all those positive reviews are right.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland USA

Posted May 15, 2017
Cons: Update the room would make a better appearance. It was clean but the drapes. bedding and lights need to be replace with something a little nicer.
Our trip was very nice. We enjoy the beauty of the resort. The peacocks are amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Quality Manager online, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay in our IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada. We apreciate a lot that you take the time to share with us those points that we need to improve,which we are sharing with the management to work on it. Once again,thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2017
I just love to go to Iberostar. I like what they offer their guests. I personally liked the ambiance and the surroundings.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Quality Manager online, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada for your holidays and also for writing this review about your experience. We are looking forward to see you soon again, Regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

close to the beach. Very old hotel

Posted May 6, 2017
Food is not good. Staff is friendly when you tip them. Very old hotel. I would't go back
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Quality Manager online, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel as destination for your holidays. We are very sorry for not been able to give you a perfect stay as we normally do to the most of our guest. Be sure that our management have read your complain and is already working to improve. Hope to see you again,under better circunstances. Regards,