Ratings based on 345 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

NICE hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2018
I’ve vistited this hotel previous time. This second time around during check In they changed my reservation and told me they reserved a different room for me than I had originally requested. I do not know what why they do this everyone I or a friend goes. They tell you the room they are giving you is an upgrade which of course they will say because they obviously won’t tell you it’s a down grade. I originally booked an aparment suit with 2 bedrooms since we were going to a bachelorette party, they needed up giving us two separate rooms. The shower is located inside the bedroom next to the bed and the water leaked everywhere!!! The welcome team harasses you to go on a tour of the Property To only try and sell you a time share! They get very upset if you do not go on this tour which is over an hour long BTW! They tell you it’s 10 minutes Which is a lie! Food was descent. PRO: The animation team and the staff working at then VIP beach are absolutely phenomenal people!!!! I could not say enough how hard they worked to mke sure everyone was happy and satisfied!!!! They made the experience there amazing!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

TRAVEL EXPERT

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Pros: Nothing. Ignore the photos.
Cons: Not just new management, a completely new management philosophy and policy.
Location: There is nothing nearby. Simply avoid this resort.
A modified ponzi scheme where the official policy is to press memberships and treat very poorly those who do not become members. We came to know other guests who had become members and conveyed their sincere regret at having done so. All restaurants are outdoors and one is constantly invaded by flies, feral cats, and eaten alive by mosquitos. Nothing redeeming about this resort, unless your only goal is to get drunk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york city

In lifestyle is always a great experience

Posted Nov 21, 2017
I love this place and I love Puerto plata area.i am going back on my next vacasion because there is a lot to do and see in cofresi Sosa and caberete.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newyork

Nice close to the beach

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Super hotel good service,staff,nice show and great food drinks etc will recommend to friends
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Not what we expected!

Posted Oct 6, 2017
For the last 2 years, my wife and I have spent our vacation in an all inclusive resorts in DR and intent to keep doing that. About this resort: The staff is great. The beach we had access too was good. However, at our arrival to our room, the shower handle was broken, so we needed to wait for somebody to fix it, so my wife could take a bath. A noise, like water running from upstairs didn't allow us to sleep the first night. Once again called the desk and they sent someone to fix it. Quick response, I can say. Food was good, but several restaurants were closed and variety at the buffet of those available was limited. Few items to choose from. I love sea food, but found none and only one kind of fish during our stay: Mero. I overheard conversations from employees that this was due to the low season in hotel accommodations. For whatever the reason, I was not happy. Drinks at the bars were available all the time. That I liked. The place is big, like a resort complex with many other resorts in the same area. But there is a shuttle service that takes you from one place to another. Swimming pools are great. We specially enjoyed the one with cascades and falls. Night shows were kind of good in terms of preparation and entertainment. Bottom line:This was the most expensive resort I have ever paid for, but it was not the best experience compare to others.
4 out of 5
by Ana

The Couple from New York

Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
My only complaint is about the membership sales people. They are very uneducated and very nasty when visitors do not purchase their membership for $25,000 us dollars.
5 out of 5
by Jennifer

Be careful extra charges

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
First of all when I get to resort it was beautiful and very big but I didn't like the fact that I had to pay $40 a day for my husband because he isn't American Canadian or European !!! In fine print it said he is a liability !!! Didn't like that at all !!! Food is great ! VIP beach has wifi and is very nicely decorated. Many restaurants and ala carte to choose from ! The disco called ice had no ac so it was horrible didn't last very long there !
4 out of 5
by Marino

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
Check out time too early, and caused certain stress during the last day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Service

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Security, confort
Cons: The shuttle service
The beach wasn't as good, but the resort was excellent, the support around the beach was also excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice hotel, on beach

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Nice hotel, our rooms were right near the beach. The beach was beautiful. Massage on the beach was an experience. Only thing I would improve on is the comfort of the beds...they're hard and pillows are uncomfortable. Otherwise it was a great time.