Ratings based on 502 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Great hotel! Had lots of fun with the family. Nost of the staff is very friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Nice resort that was close to the beach.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: The room was spacious enough for four people. The staff was excellent and very helpful.
Cons: Internet connection. My son brought his Xbox and could not connect to the internet.
Location: The location was just outside of Puerto Plata. We went snorkeling at Paradise Island, Zip Lining, Horseback Riding, and hiking at a Waterfall.
The resort was very nice, clean and had multiple activities for kids and adults. The resort also had shows at night that were very good and entertaining. My kids loved the resort, the food, and the pool.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yonkers, New York

good location. needs a lot improvement

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: so far nothing
Cons: if improved, maybe
Location: the location is good. its surrounded by mountains and there is a new pier nearby. you can see the boats when the arrive. beautiful scenery.
did not like this hotel. the location is great. the service , the food need a lot of improvement. the room was ok the beds are very uncomfortable. if you are at the beach and need some water you have to walk a long way to get it. they give you a cup instead of a small bottle like other hotels do. the internet is horrible. i guess they want you to buy it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from RD

Estuvo bien, pero no del todo excelente

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Me hospedé junto a mi familia de viernes a lunes, me gusto pero no me encanto, pensé que por el hecho de ser 5 estrella iba a ver y encontrar un lugar más amplía, por lo menos un personal un poco más agradable y amistoso en los bares, a excepción de las chicas bartender (ella si eran muy amables y generosas), consideró q el restaurante buffet debe extender su horario de desayuno por lo menos hasta las 11:00am, pues en mi lugar como en el de otras personas vamos a los resorts a descansar a acostarnos tarde y levantarnos tarde también; si es cierto que otros restaurantes están abiertos y que podemos desayunar en ellos, pero no es lo mismo no incluyen tanta variedad. Una observación q me llamó mucho la atención fue a la hora del check out, en otros hoteles podemos entregar las habitaciones y seguir disfrutando del hotel hasta la tarde si gustamos, aquí no!!! Inmediatamente entregas las habitaciones a las 12:00 te quitan el brazalete, se supone q el huésped debe orzar por lo menos antes de irse del hotel!! Pues no!, si no tenemos brazalete no podemos ser partícipe del buffet y de los bares.... Algo muy cautivador y desagradable fue el billar a parte de que está disponible solo hasta las 8:00pm, pues también estaba desnivelado y en malas condiciones.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Not the place u want to go

Posted Jul 27, 2016
There king size bed is 2 beds pushed together and the food in not good no AC
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Very Nice hotel, close to the beach

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Excellent hotel. The attention of the employee are the best. The food is very good and offer many options. Room very clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jersey City, NJ

HORRIBLE!

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: expedia
Cons: EVERYTHING. food, service, cleanliness, alcohol
Location: The location is ok. Its near Sea World.
PLEASE DO NOT GO HERE!!!! The resort was awful! I will never be returning to a RIU RESORT EVER!!!! The staff at the resort were harassing of me and other patrons. I even met a young British woman crying in the lobby after being harassed so much. The men are persistent to get money and sex. The rooms were never ever ever cleaned properly. We had trash cans full for up to FIVE DAYS before I got fed up and asked the maid for garbage bags and put all the trash outside the door. Our trash cans never had bags! Our toilets were not cleaned the entire week we were there. Needless to say IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN. The alcohol is TERRIBLE. Everything is sugary and full of watered down alcohol. We stopped drinking by day 4. Also if you want to reserve dinner at one of the fancy restaurants be prepared to wake up at 6:30am for a reservation. There is a line and it is usually booked by 7am. Needless to say we stood there 10 days and NEVER ate at the reservation restaurants because of this. The food was awful and repeated everyday. There are also a alley of shops at this resort AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!! These people are extremely harassing and annoying. My boyfriend entered a store to receive change for a US $100. Every store owner from the entire block ran in the store and grabbed his arm to "come to their store". It was HORRIBLE!!!! Also on our last day there, the maid took my boyfriend's earrings. Once we requested to have them back she noted "Oh I thought I could have them
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Horrible Experience

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Save ur Money, don't waste ur time. Ac don't work, beds hurt, food was horrible. No help in fixing theae issues and the hotel kicked us out over stating we recorded the conversation with the GM and the security was threatening us over the recording.
4 out of 5
by Anne-Mindy from Philadelphia

Good Amenities, Poor Service

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
I have been coming with my family to the Dominican Republic for many years. We have stayed at various resorts. The service here was very lacking. From getting to the gate and arguing with security to let us in, the reception at check in being very stern reminding by us that check in is at 3 not 2. At check out we realized we forgot something in our room and they would not let us get it. I had to ask to speak to a manager. Not sure what was going on with service but very a typical for a resort in the DR. The stay at the resort overall was very pleasing. The beach main beach is fairly large with palms, Coconut trees, almond and sea grapes, with plenty of beach chairs in the shade of a tree or in the sun. Great aquatic department! We paddle boasted at sunset, sea kayakers at sunrise, and snorkel for an entire day. You can also reserve small sailing boats, wind surf, or stand paddle surf. We found a small foot path to another beach owned by the resort that was by the Amber Bay. Very tranquil waters, perfect for your kids. At low tide we spent hours in the tidal pools. At high tide we snorkeled in the same area and showed our kids the vast difference. With out an expense excursion we spent a day snorkeling and seeing vast species of fish. The water was so clear and calm that you didn't really need snorkeling equipment. The food at the buffet was not stellar but typical for a 3 star resort.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The casino

Posted May 22, 2016
The casino staff and management where trained specific for taking advantage of the hotel guests they should be warning or some government personal to make sure they don't take advantage of hotel guests.