Ratings based on 541 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DR

Not a really great experience....

Posted Aug 28, 2017
We had a big spectation about this hotel but it was not quite a great experience, starting from food and drinks are not up for humans. The food is something you are reliable for your support of life. The best drink I had there was the water and the bottles were even betters. Services were okay, not quite great but what can you spect when these employees are not well pay. They need better wages so they can do a better job. Rooms had a teerible smell, so we had to call room services to come and spray the room for us. Beds are like sleeping on the floor, So I would recommend lay down on floor it is better and bigger... well thats it for now, see you next time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2017
The staff and people were amazing, but the rooms were not comfortable or clean. (floors were always filthy) We had to pay for wifi because wifi wasn't included and even like that it didn't work. Only one restaurant per day was available.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Old unconfortable room and less than desirable foo

Posted Aug 21, 2017
This was a really bad experience for me and my wife. We will never stay this hotel again, nor will we recommend it to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice and simple.

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Hotel needs some renovation. The only place to eat is the main buffet. Nice bars. Internet $35 per week. Poor quality of TV reception for all the channels. Rooms are pretty big: firm mattress, smal sitting area, nice bathroom, good shower, mini bar has soft and alcohol drinks, safe with the key that you need to carry with you (no code), no card key for the room. Hotel has huge beach area and two pools. Evening entertainment is VERY simple, no big show. If you like fancy vacation this place is not for you, go to any RIU Palace. But it's not bad for the money it costs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Great Family Stay

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: All inclusive and clean.
Cons: More wifi , especially around the pool area.
Location: Definitely go take the cable car ride.
From beginning to end the all staff were friendly. I was discouraged initially by the reviews that I read. First of all, I dont smoke. However, I couldnt tell that it was a smoking resort. I only encountered a hand full of people smoking. Most of were from the UK/London. Smokers were the minority of 15 percent. Secondly, nothing was stolen. I used my safe and locked up my passport and electronics. The food was of a good variety at the buffett. The restaurants were lack luster. Dont waste your time with the lines there. My family was a party of 6 (two adults, two teens, and two pre-teens). The nightly shows were great and the highlight to cap off the day. Wifi only in the lobby area, however, you are there to enjoy yourself not surf the internet. The guy to know is Rufo at the hotel cab stand. He was a great tour guide and took us to safe places in a clean and comfortable minivan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Fun at Bachata

Posted Aug 5, 2017
It's all about the staff; they are marvelous. The attention, respect given to guests is so incredible. The hotel grounds are immaculate and extremely clean. The food and drinks are great. Food variety is satisfying; I do not understand how some people actually have the nerve to complain about it. Rooms are extremely clean with enough space and great bathrooms. Only one thing I was not too happy about: the beds. Beds seem to be very old and therefore uncomfortable, they need an urgent update/replacement. This is something that was brought up to hotel management. Big tip: Giving a few dollars every other day to staff (rooms, bars, restaurants) can go a long way. Staff work so hard and I know for a fact they don't make decent wages. They would truly appreciate your gratitude and ultimately you will be treated as royalty. Overall, Riu Bachata is amazing. Please fix the bedding issue!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Aug 5, 2017
The resort itself is dated, but very well maintained. My biggest complaint are the beds, the beds need to be updated ASAP!!!! on the upside, the staff is incredibly nice and attentive!!! I would stay here again just because of their level of hospitality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Another Great Time.

Posted Jul 29, 2017
We last visited 2 years ago and we were received with hugs and greetings from Emilio, Francisco and Rafael, just to name a few. Food was authentic and good. The pool area quiet and sometimes fun witn entertainment from the animation team. We brought friends with us and they cannot stop raving about the fun time they had. My girls loved the pool and my wife loved a massage ay a very good price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Excellent for the price

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Great. Good food, presidente beer, good shows, the personal are excellent. The beach and pool is great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

staff nice, hotel can improve

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Was unaware that a family hotel also allowed smoking in all areas...literally nowhere to catch a break from it. Also, needed an iron and was told there was a charge for it. My sunglasses were stolen at the buffet, so be careful with your belongings. Staff was very cordial and friendly