Ratings based on 437 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I love it

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Everything was excellent, the service and food great
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Terrible Resort !! Should be closed down !!

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Roaches everywhere when you eat! The staff lies to you about reservations at the 2 restaurants saying its full but THEY picked who they wanted based on skin color. They have no options/ variety for food and it has no taste. The rooms were very small & smelled like smoke everywhere and when we complained the staff said that's how all the rooms are. There was 2 twin beds put together for a king bed which is horrible. My family and I went for 1 week and regretted it. This was the absolute worst resort ever and my family travels a lot. Do not waste your money and go there ! You will regret it! I am 100% sure on that!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2016
The hotel was really nice not too fancy. Everyone that worked there was very nice and helpful. The food could have been little bit better but overall I enjoyed my stay there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elizabeth NJ

wonderful staff/ Locals ruined our stay

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: great staff the beach and grounds were great lots of shade.
Cons: The food especially lunch needs work. wait service by the pool needs a lot of work no wait staff at beach, Keep the locals out.
Location: Take a cab to Los Primos restaurant fantastic local food. Bravisimo show and ocean world worth every penny. Snorkel tour from scuba adventure great
this is a cheaper all inclusive. That said they have the best staff ever they take great care of you. My family and I are Hispanic and the served very little Spanish food. We told this to a bartender the next day he came in a half hour early and brought us empanadas from town. Breakfast is good, lunch is boring bland and offers very little that you want to eat, dinner was OK not a lot of choices but this is what you give up staying at cheaper all inclusive. What killed this place is f FRI-Sat and MON-Wed the locales book a 1 or 2 night stay. The way these people acted made me embarrassed for my race. No manners what so ever. Every one of them had 5 kids and no supervision. They go to buffet and cut the line push people out of the way. When no one is looking they fill Tupperware with food scream and just act a fool. One man ask a family of 10 to keep it down so he could enjoy his dinner the family response was to have all 10 sing folk songs loud and out of key. At the bar you were waiting for a fight as these animals would push past you at the bar to order a drink. The staff were embarrassed by how these people acted. If i knew for sure no locales were staying I would go back but after dealing with these low lifes I would not risk it. Its a shame cause the best staff ever and nice facilities. 3 and a half days out of my 7 days there were killed by the locales. You get what you pay for. The shopping avenue between both hotels have good prices compared to in town.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Deceitful staff, disgusting food

Posted May 24, 2016
Pros: The bartenders were liberal with alcohol. The swim-up bar was nice. The entertainment team was fun.
Cons: Staff and front desk are absolutely no help. The manager (German guy) is rude and condescending.
Location: Nothing; you're locked into the resort.
There are several issues with the Riu Merengue which made our stay (party of 4) generally unenjoyable. I'll delve into just one: THE ROOM. When we got to our room for the first time it was very hot (surprise). I don't like to sleep in humid and hot environments. There was a thermostat, however it was broken. There was a secondary AC, but it was off and too high to reach. I called the front desk and asked them to fix my thermostat. They said they'd send a technician. He never came. I walked to the front desk and asked for help. A technician never came. I repeated this 4-5 times until a technician came. He told me that the main AC barely works, and front desk purposefully does not use the 2nd AC to save electricity. He did me a "favor", stacked tables, and reached up to turn on the AC. To 80F. I went to the front desk again to ask for the remote controller to turn the 2nd AC lower to 70F or so. They denied that the 2nd AC worked. I refused to leave until they lowered my AC to something reasonable. They sent a tech with a remote controller, and they finally set my AC to 70F. Finally my room wasn't miserable to stay in. THIS PROCESS TOOK TWO ENTIRE DAYS. Two out of my four days were spent arguing with the front desk to lower my air conditioner so I could sleep. Completely insane. Short note on food. You need to wake up at 6:30AM to reserve a restaurant spot, and the food is all terrible. Two out of my party vomited consistently after eating. AVOID. THIS. PLACE.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Its was ok

Posted May 14, 2016
Not to bad for first time the staff was nice rooms was nice
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Love it!

Posted May 8, 2016
3rd year visiting here... Love it and can't wait to go back next year! From Junior welcoming us home in the lobby to the massage from Taina, everything was wonderful!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Whatever

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Just a quick getaway. Beach is nice. Average food. Bar was awesome
2 out of 5
by Rhonda from West Palm Beach, FL

Potiential but Needs Renovation

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
There were so many mosquitoes inside the room and I got bit up all over my body. The bathroom was not fully cleaned and the toilet didn't work. The refrigerator was old and discussing and there was a big roach inside my room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never book hete

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Food, bed, layout of resort are were terrible.. Don't stay here