Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sosua By The Sea - Recommend

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: 1. Staff was very attentive 2. The buffet food was delicious 3. Setting up tours was easy 4. Very relaxing and pleasant atmosphere
Cons: 1. My room had cracked tiles in bathroom, doors were weathered. This hotel could be much better if money was spent in updates and maintenance.
Location: 1. On site scuba lessons and fishing trips can be arranged easily. 2. Exchange store is 2 blocks away, hotel hits you for 2-3 pesos than the store.
My first time visiting the DR and choose this hotel based on reviews on here and from others experiences. The location was beautiful, at the end of a street that is not heavily traveled. Outside the hotel are nice local bars and souvenir shop. You are also a 20 minute walk to the bars, beach and casino. The initial ambiance of the hotel when I first saw it from the outside was truly beautiful...kind of a old school type villa. There is a direct path to the beach, you have a outdoor bar and the the restaurant is overlooking the ocean. There is a souvenir shop on the premise (has odd hours of operation) in case your in need of something. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. They give you 5 bottles of water when you check in and you can fill up your bottles when you finish (they don't provide you with additional ones). I had a problem with my room and told the front check out staff...within 20 minutes (during breakfast) it was fixed. Upon coming in late one night, we missed breakfast, yet the restaurant staff provided us with an early lunch which I appreciated. The staff was more than helpful when I needed to setup tours and needed additional information. Getting taxis was also a piece of cake with them calling one for you on the spot or calling ahead for one if you give them a time. FYI - No Visitor Policy, my cousins could not come to my room to have a few drinks and catch up due to the hotels no visitor policy. They had to go back to Puerto Plata.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice beach

Posted Aug 2, 2015 on Hotels
Nice beach, like a family place
1 out of 5
by Jean Pi from NY

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels
Awful.. I decided to loose my money since I had all ready paid for the night instead of saying there with my son. The hotel was empty and I did not feel secure plus despite paying 160$ when I get there , I was told that only breakfast was included NOT recommended
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo NY

Requested clean ~ smoke free room w/ ocean view ~

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Over all family friendly.
Cons: I would put a hair dryer in each room or let guest check out one from front desk.
Location: Walking distance to anything you'd want to see / buy. Great ocean front.
We were very happy with the clean, smoke free room w/ocean view. Great beach ! Staff was very friendly & accommodating. Food was very good too !
1 out of 5
by roy from Tampa, Florida, USA

No Guest Allowed

Posted Feb 11, 2014 on Hotels
Sosua has in international reputation as a party town…where singles can usually expect to find company. Don't bother staying at this hotel if you are expecting to bring any company to your room. They have a strict policy that, of course, they neglected to tell me anything about until after I checked in and tried to bring my date back to the hotel. I packed at that point and had to carry my bag in the dead of night the two long an dangerous blocks that separate this hotel from the rest of Sosua…The room was dingy and they would not refund my 4 days i had booked in advance using this website. I will not use this booking service or recommend this hotel to anyone.
2 out of 5
by Goby

Pretty bad hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2013
I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, and I was dissapointed. Since the very first moment I get in, I knew something it was not right. The room was clean, little old but clean, the air conditioned was not good, there were not fan, we went out for that night and report it. They promised they would fix by the time I come back but it did not happen, Next day, I was moved into another room with better AA. As far as drinks, there is only one bar for the whole complex, with very limited selection. As far as the food, the worst!! they food is really terrible and hope is a coincidence; but some pork they served for dinner, it was served at lunch next day. I would not returned for any reason ever.
1 out of 5
by shirt chaser

The worse

Posted May 12, 2012 on Orbitz
This was my third time in The Dominican Republic and by far this was the worse vacation in that country that I have yet to experience. If you are traveling with your family, please go to another city like Puerto Plata or Punta Cana. Sousa is a place for single men looking to have a good time. The Hotel itself was terrible, the food, or lack there of, was appalling. The waiters acted as if you were bothering them when requesting an “all inclusive” service. They did not even supply the rooms with bottled water on a daily basis.
1 out of 5
by Lisa from Southbridge, Ma

Disappointing hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2012
Pros: unfortunately none
Cons: room with no view of a beautiful ocean
We found the hotel very disappointing. We had no balcony or view of the ocean. We had a view of a brick wall with barbed wire. We also found no ammenities in the room. We had to move three times due to a leaky toilet, no air conditioning or a bad shower.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2012 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by jorge from nj

not what i was expecting it was grate

Posted Apr 9, 2012
Pros: the staff
Cons: not to much variety on the buffet
Location: very nice please
if you want to relax, rest, and a peaceful please to stay this is it.