Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Nice place overlooking sea, mostly quiet and small

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Relaxing, got to know staff and guests, November a wet month, but we had some sun
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Good location for real Susua

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Location: About a 15 minute walk to Sosua beach, which is where all the beach bars and restaurants are located. The walk thru Sousa is a little seedy, but safe
Hotel only had about 20 guests during 1st week of November 2016. We had the pool and beach to ourselves. Only had the breakfast, which was fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sosua By The Sea - Recommend

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: 1. Staff was very attentive 2. The buffet food was delicious 3. Setting up tours was easy 4. Very relaxing and pleasant atmosphere
Cons: 1. My room had cracked tiles in bathroom, doors were weathered. This hotel could be much better if money was spent in updates and maintenance.
Location: 1. On site scuba lessons and fishing trips can be arranged easily. 2. Exchange store is 2 blocks away, hotel hits you for 2-3 pesos than the store.
My first time visiting the DR and choose this hotel based on reviews on here and from others experiences. The location was beautiful, at the end of a street that is not heavily traveled. Outside the hotel are nice local bars and souvenir shop. You are also a 20 minute walk to the bars, beach and casino. The initial ambiance of the hotel when I first saw it from the outside was truly beautiful...kind of a old school type villa. There is a direct path to the beach, you have a outdoor bar and the the restaurant is overlooking the ocean. There is a souvenir shop on the premise (has odd hours of operation) in case your in need of something. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. They give you 5 bottles of water when you check in and you can fill up your bottles when you finish (they don't provide you with additional ones). I had a problem with my room and told the front check out staff...within 20 minutes (during breakfast) it was fixed. Upon coming in late one night, we missed breakfast, yet the restaurant staff provided us with an early lunch which I appreciated. The staff was more than helpful when I needed to setup tours and needed additional information. Getting taxis was also a piece of cake with them calling one for you on the spot or calling ahead for one if you give them a time. FYI - No Visitor Policy, my cousins could not come to my room to have a few drinks and catch up due to the hotels no visitor policy. They had to go back to Puerto Plata.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Buffalo NY

Requested clean ~ smoke free room w/ ocean view ~

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Over all family friendly.
Cons: I would put a hair dryer in each room or let guest check out one from front desk.
Location: Walking distance to anything you'd want to see / buy. Great ocean front.
We were very happy with the clean, smoke free room w/ocean view. Great beach ! Staff was very friendly & accommodating. Food was very good too !
2 out of 5
by Goby from Dominican republic

Pretty bad hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2013
I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, and I was dissapointed. Since the very first moment I get in, I knew something it was not right. The room was clean, little old but clean, the air conditioned was not good, there were not fan, we went out for that night and report it. They promised they would fix by the time I come back but it did not happen, Next day, I was moved into another room with better AA. As far as drinks, there is only one bar for the whole complex, with very limited selection. As far as the food, the worst!! they food is really terrible and hope is a coincidence; but some pork they served for dinner, it was served at lunch next day. I would not returned for any reason ever.
1 out of 5
by Lisa from Southbridge, Ma

Disappointing hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2012
Pros: unfortunately none
Cons: room with no view of a beautiful ocean
We found the hotel very disappointing. We had no balcony or view of the ocean. We had a view of a brick wall with barbed wire. We also found no ammenities in the room. We had to move three times due to a leaky toilet, no air conditioning or a bad shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by jorge from nj

not what i was expecting it was grate

Posted Apr 9, 2012
Pros: the staff
Cons: not to much variety on the buffet
Location: very nice please
if you want to relax, rest, and a peaceful please to stay this is it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eric from New York, NY

nice place

Posted Mar 30, 2011
I really like the location, close to town but also close to quiet, on 2 beaches, dive shop on site, our room was comfortable, the place is well maintained, we had a great time
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

The worst hotel I have been to.

Posted Jan 29, 2011
This hotel misinformed me that they had access to its own private beach, and modern tv etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, Ontario

Charming Small Resort

Posted Apr 6, 2010
The hotel is right on its own small beach. Sousua itself is not as upscale as Cabarette and did not really like the downtown area. The food was quite adequate and the rooms were old world charm, as was the hotel. The beds were too hard.