Ratings based on 691 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brooklyn ny

Amazing place

Posted Aug 17, 2017
This resort is really good and very clean !!! The staff wear really nice and cared about your needs !!..food was really good !!! Is a nice small resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Great vacation

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Cons: Wifi definitely the wifi
Location: We when to the monster buggys and we spent the hole day doing the zip lining, horse back riding and the best was the water fall tour.
Everything was nice the people the food all employees willing to help and the Expedia specialist was very helpful when asked for different ways we can explore Dominican Republic all and all except for the mini bar being broken and the wifi even though we pay it was toooo slow but aside that a great vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with friendly staff

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: I really love the staff. All of them are very friendly and nice. They just wanted to talk to you and make you feel welcomed.
Cons: The wifi could be improved. It was very unreliable and kept kicking me off. It can be frustrating at times but you can pay for wifi if need be.
Location: The hotel is very close to the beach. There is a club near by but I would recommend you go there during the weekend if you want to have fun.
My friend and I wanted to do an all-inclusive and we chose Gran Ventana since it has really good reviews on Expedia. I'm so glad I picked this resort. I had an amazing time here. The hotel was very spacious and clean. There are two parts to the resort. The main part with the large pool and the quiet part with a smaller pool. In addition, there are three restaurants along with the buffet place. You have to make a reservation for the restaurants but they are worth it! The food at the buffet place is good but it can get repetitive after awhile. The mozzarella sticks at the Italian restaurant were amazing! I could eat those all day. The ceviche at the Octopus restaurant was great, too! It was my first time eating ceviche and I'm glad I had it there. Check in starts at 3 pm, but you can leave your stuff with the hotel staff and eat at the buffet place or walk around while you wait. What I love most about this hotel is the staff. Every one of them was friendly and nice. They always greet me with a smile and always make sure I had a good time. In fact, one of them even got someone to pick coconut for me when he heard me talk about how much I wanted it. I was shocked by how nice he and the other staff were. It wasn't easy climbing the coconut tree but they did it for me. That was so sweet of them and this is why I love this place. The staff is always willing to go out of their way to make you happy. The only downside of this hotel is the unreliable wifi.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing special at all.

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Disappointing on so many different levels. Here are just a few examples. A 4pm check-in time is very late. Especially since most flights land at around noon. Too long to be waiting around. Most staff members only speak Spanish. Very hard to communicate with. And once you arrive, if you don't make immediate reservations for dinner at the 3 restaurants, you'll be eating at the buffet every night. And the sad part about the buffet is that it is the same food every single day with no changes. Very boring and not the best quality food. As for the drinks, very watered down. Now, the pool. I was out every day at 7am to reserve chairs and an umbrella. If not you're screwed. And they never bothered to skim the pool either. Palm debris floating all over the place. Disappointing. And I had upgraded accommodations. I purchased the VIP package which gave me special access to beach chairs and umbrellas. There were two problems with the beach. First, the water was infected with sea lice. People were getting rashes like crazy, me included. Second, it was so windy that you were covered with sand. Again, very disappointing. Lastly, while driving to the resort, the neighborhood was so run down that you never wanted to leave the resort. And since there was just about nothing to do at night after dinner, you found yourself in bed at 9pm. Never again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Resort is nice but def not a 4/5 star property.

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: What I did like about the property is that it's well maintained and employees actually cared to keep it looking nice and clean.
Cons: The food & liquor quality, towels and size of cups for drinks could be improved. Also, the lighting in the rooms needs desperate attention.
Location: The location was cool. There's a nearby shopping mall but there are a bunch of sketchy people around. Everyone seemed to be looking to make a dollar.
Before I flew down to DR, I read lots of reviews about this resort and got mixed reviews about VH Gran Ventana. I understand mistakes can happen in the hotel hospitality business but you cant please everyone and there were more positive guest reviews than negative so I took a risk and kept my existing reservation. When I arrived at the property, I was actually stunned and would def stay there again if I visit Puerto Plata. The food was ok and did a number on my stomach on one of the nights of my stay and most of the staff were nice and friendly but there were a few who came to work disgruntled and angry and didn't care to give good service. I tipped everyone really well and that seemed to motivate them more to be more of service. I hate that it works that way but whatevs. Overall.....I give this resort a 7.5 out of 10.0 stars.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern New Jersey

Close to the beach

Posted Jul 27, 2017
It was average. Not crazy about it. Wouldn't stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice resort near beach needs some upgrades.

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Spent a week in Gran Ventana. Overall it was a nice stay. We were greeted to the hotel with frozen drinks. Staff was very friendly and helpful during the trip. They were really great. Rooms were nice and clean however they really need to be updated. Visible wear and tear in the rooms. Eg. Rust on ceiling fan and lamps. Old shower heads. AC was working well which was good. Food was ok. There was a nice selection but flavor depended on the day sometimes it was too salty others too plain. Coffee was good though. Do not drink water from the tap. WIfi at the hotel was not working so I ended up having to pay for data. When it did work, it would only work in the entertainment area. Many gathered there at night trying to use their phones etc... not convenient. The beach was beautiful. Water was great, however when you go there are people walking around trying to sell you massages hair braiding souvenirs and excursions. They will just walk up on you while you are laying out. I didn't like that. But certain days were better than others. I think they should create a stand for them on the beach that people can approach as needed. Overall, it was a nice stay. Beautiful country. Not sure if I would come back to Gran Ventana... some of my friends said they would. If they made some upgrades and fixed a few things I would... but we will see!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Great Hotel For The Money

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Our stay was wonderful! Rooms were clean and comfortable and easy walk to the beach. Food was very good with a great variety for all tastes. Staff was very helpful and accessible. Two pools one main pool for kids and a quiet pool across the way perfect for adults. We didn't do tours this time, it was our honeymoon. But, there were shows every evening after dinner and plenty of access to bars if you prefer that. Only draw back? Make reservations for the resort restaurants as soon as you get there, they fill up fast. The beach was a little dirty by the end of the day, lots of cigarette butts and it was windy. There are vendors on the beach, but if you say, 'no' they move on and don't bother you. Also, the water was a little smelly so we stuck to the pools. The resort was beautiful and the staff was wonderful, we definitely be visiting again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Terrific time!

Posted Jul 15, 2017
We had a wonderful stay at the Gran ventana. The staff were all incredibly sweet and accommodating. The resort was clean, beautiful and we LOVED the Balinese beds on the beach. The vendors on the beach come by often, but that is their livelihood so it's understandable. They respect a simple no thank you. The pool was perfect and the food was quite good. We are DEFINITELY going back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santiago

Weekend Beach Get-Away

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: See notes above
Cons: Beachfront vendors are just trying to make a living, but sleeping on a cot in the shade should be a clear indicator to leave the guest alone.
Location: If you're looking for a beach vacation consider Grand Ventana. It's a well-cared-for clean beach with a gradual slope out to the breakers.
We have stayed at GV before and were skeptical about returning. We were offered a chilled drink when we arrivced and are bags were safely stored until check-in. The front desk offers concierge servcies and assisted in arranging for a surprise anniversary floral bouquet to be snuck into the room. That was a hit. Thanks. This is a todo-incluyido resort which means meals are included. This review makes note of some really positive changes. First, some remodeling of the dining area presents a more spacious and open-air perspective. Serving areas seem be located closer to one another offering a quicker visit to well-marked serving stations. Selection was outstanding and the placement of chefs near the areas affords personalized meal options. Thank You. We were not aware that specialty-style restaurants could be reserved so we dined at the Octopus. This was a third anniversary celebration and with little or no-notice the servers put together a special desert with sparklers. Muchas gracias. A big hit with the wife. Our room was in a different building distant from the pools so offered some real quiet space. The bed was comfortable, room clean and well apportioned. Of course the beach is a hit; however, the constant flow of vendors was a detraction. There were less escorts prowling which means management is aware famillies use the resort. Parking was readily available. The staff's attentiveness to guest needs was remarkably improved in all areas. Enjoy your stay.