Ratings based on 767 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Ok stay

Posted Jan 21, 2018
We had a basic room in the Catalina bldg.it was small and had a moldy smell. There was visible mold in different locations throughout the room. The beach was beautiful but a bit crowded at times. The grounds were spotless and all common areas were nicely maintained. The staff was very attentive, very warm and friendly. The food was very good and plentiful with lots of variety. I would say Octopus was the best specially restaurant. We did not care for the Italian restaurant. Overall we had a nice stay. It's a very small resort and more than a week there would have been too long
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice hotel on the beach!

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Very nice hotel on the beach. Service is good, food is good and they really try to entertain.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Hotel was ok

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Hotel was ok and staff were very friendly but I wouldn’t go there again. Not enough activities, they charge for using the safe, rooms need to be upgraded (need More lighting, more towels for the room- we constantly had to keep asking for towels). The food was good and we made reservations for the specialty restaurants the first three nights then on the fourth we discovered that the buffet actually had the food from all the restaurants combined and it tasted even better at the buffet. If we had known, we would’ve just gone to the buffet every night. The drinks were good but a limited selection of about 20 or so drinks which is still plenty!! Again, the staff were very friendly, the hotel is clean. One big problem is the smoking. There’s almost little to no non smoking areas (the theater and the rooms). Everyone was smoking everywhere and it was really too much at some points. Instead, there really should be designated smoking areas especially since there is kids everywhere. There were nightly shows, kids clubs, pool and ping pong tables, and music for dancing. The club is not in the hotel. It’s a 2 minutes walk down the street which seemed safe enough. The beach was beautiful and clean and the water was quite nice. But it was so annoying how much you were being solicited to buy something. Understandable that this is their job but it was literally every minute you’re being approached by someone which became too much. Overall though a good time in a good place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Nice beach, easy going

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Pros: Close beach access, nice pools, cleanliness.
Cons: Little things should be included, like the safe in room, internet access, entertainment at night is awful. Bar liquor could be upgraded.
Location: Location is Playa Dorado. The Puerto plata side is nice and breezy, sunny in a.m., then slowlyngets cloudy every day, so breezy, it’s lovely
Hotel was moderate and okay. First, each was great, this hotel had lots of thatch huts on beach, noticed others in same area did not. So nice to lounge under if u like to read. If u want relaxing with no kids, this is not the place, LOTS of kids. On the beach, was very annoying because of all the hawkers constantly bothering you. Not the hotel fault, but just a point to take into consideration. They constantly barrage u trying to sell u stuff. The hotel is clean, staff is great, nice. The liquor is well liquor, no brand name NOTHING. Been to DR a few times so food is hit or miss, and the food her was pretty good. Thought the buffet offerings better than the restaurants (3) that u have to make reservations for, they say free WiFi, but only near the stage area. Paid for WiFi access and it’s terrible. Also. U think they would include safe in your room, but u got to pay for that too. This is an older hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, NY

Nice hotel, great staff

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Staff was amazing, pool and beach amazing, WiFi barely worked was kind of annoyed would do a travel plan with your phone company instead, food & drinks were okay. Overall had a nice time, great atmosphere, would come back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Pros: Nice common grounds, nice beach
Main buffet is decent, with good selection. Buffet dining area is updated and clean. Drinks are all premixed in plastic jugs, but taste decent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cloyne Ontario

Resort is below a 4 star.

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Upon arriving at resort the staff was very courteous. The bed was as comfortable as the back of my truck. The food was average. The beach was slightly above average. I would not recommend this resort. The peddlers on the beach were friendly. 25 peddlers in 2 hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Florida

Short vacation

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Pros: On the beach
Cons: Regulation of room temperatures.
Location: Did not investigate
WiFi so very irregular - on and off - very frustrating Heavy set clerk at Cashier has terrible attitude and treats guests as an inconvenience. Note: all other personnel were outstanding. Cannot regulate temperature in room. As a result cannot keep moisture from accumulating on everything including towels. Note: wet towels are a natural source for scabbies.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philly

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Cons: Get people on the beach to walk around and ask if i want anything. This resort didnt have anyone going around asking if i wanted any food or drinks.
Location: Snorkeling, Water Falls.
This resort is pretty good and the food is better than other resorts I've been too. However there are way too many people on the beach trying to sell you all kinds of stuff all the time. Imagine laying on the beach relaxing and every 10-15 minutes people keep coming around to sell you crap. Its very annoying and if your the type to want to get away and really be at peace I would consider looking at some other locations. There's too many people bugging you at this resort, when you think your going to relax on the beach you constantly have people trying to sell you junk. Other than that the food was good, the experience was good, and if you do go, go on the Jeep Safari trip they take you to see beautiful waterfalls and jump off of them too. This was the highlight of our trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Very nice experience overall. Staff works hard to keep hotel clean and guests accommodated. There is clearly a lot of effort involved to manage the property.